07/01 Eddie AMPS 333 +7.5 317 PMPS 337 +8.5 265

From yesterday where you said:
I should mention I spoke (via email) with the folks (Tina Owen and their IM vet, Sarah Guess) at WSU [and, btw, they are going to have SRT capacity as of November 2023). They were all aware of Eddie's emergency event and have access to his spreadsheet. Sarah Guess said "clinically, when patients are off and are hospitalized for whatever reason, I expect their insulin requirement to change and their BG to be all over the place for a few weeks following the critical care episode – regardless of the underlying cause. I agree with screening for underlying disease, and I honestly don’t know what to make of BG numbers after an event like this and I don’t think anyone does – we expect them to be bad while the dust settles." When they are speaking of "underlying disease" they mean cancer because Eddie's blood panel shows all else to be in good working order. But Eddie's teeth in addition to the hospitalization event might be the culprits. The testing they are referring to is, of course, an xray or ultrasound. Then...

About his teeth: I have a referral to the Western Canada specialists where I took Blue and they are requiring an x-ray or ultrasound re: heart fitness, so that's two reasons to look into image... While I'm looking into this, I've already put a call into the vet to see about pulse dosing. But, you know, long weekend seems to have started on Wednesday afternoon... I should hear about that Monday or Tuesday.
Neko had a couple of episodes. The first when she got her CHF diagnosis as well as small cell lymphoma. She did spend two full days in the clinic (Canada West) but gone to come home both nights. It was two separate days due to specialist availability. That was 27 weeks after SRT. Her dose stayed the same and she earned a reduction 12 days later. The second one was three days in critical care for her heart in an oxygen cage and 51 days past SRT. She earned a reduction in critical care, and I dropped her dose and she kept on seeing greens. What I'm saying by this example is that ECID, every cat is different. Not all cats have BG "all over the place" after these episodes. I do agree that pancreatitis can linger for a while, and that would impact his numbers. As would infection/inflammation in his mouth. I hope you can get to the vet soon on that. It's been almost 3 weeks since Eddie's visit to critical care. Plus there are the effects of glucose toxicity and IAA resistance that could means he temporarily needs a higher dose.
 
From yesterday where you said:

Neko had a couple of episodes. The first when she got her CHF diagnosis as well as small cell lymphoma. She did spend two full days in the clinic (Canada West) but gone to come home both nights. It was two separate days due to specialist availability. That was 27 weeks after SRT. Her dose stayed the same and she earned a reduction 12 days later. The second one was three days in critical care for her heart in an oxygen cage and 51 days past SRT. She earned a reduction in critical care, and I dropped her dose and she kept on seeing greens. What I'm saying by this example is that ECID, every cat is different. Not all cats have BG "all over the place" after these episodes. I do agree that pancreatitis can linger for a while, and that would impact his numbers. As would infection/inflammation in his mouth. I hope you can get to the vet soon on that. It's been almost 3 weeks since Eddie's visit to critical care. Plus there are the effects of glucose toxicity and IAA resistance that could means he temporarily needs a higher dose.

So, 27 weeks after SRT...that's around the time for Eddie right now. Hmmmm. Yes, I know ECID for sure but the IM vet's comment was made in quick response to an email while she was on clinics in a teaching hospital so I see her just saying something like "in my experience with cats like Eddie, this is something I've noticed". I didn't expect her to be specific on the fly but had noticed a trend post critical care. I don't know.

I'm trying now with the vet who doesn't think Eddie needs antibiotics "as long as he's doing well". Oh, boy. So I had to write back to explain why I wanted him to have the pulse regime (chronic infection/inflammation) if we couldn't get to dental specialist in the immediate present. I've yet to hear back from her.

In the meantime, I'm hoping to get him to settle down.

I've got a lot on my plate right now and it's challenging. Eddie needs a dental specialist. Blue needs one session SRT. Max, the dog, needs dental as does Stevie, the Norwegian Forest Cat, about whom you never hear. I think I need a second mortgage!!

As for the Knox Mountain Fire: I live downtown but Knox Mountain is an 8 minute drive from my house. At least the fire is now under control.
 
8 minutes is close! :eek: I read after I posted that it was getting under control. Whew.

I noticed that when you have more than one pet, they all need things at once. :rolleyes: It's either that or the car for me. I wonder if the vet would be willing to at least try an experiment with the ABs, and see if one trial helps him. Without actually committing to it as a long term solution. So much can hide under the gums that you can't see with visual inspection.
 
8 minutes is close! :eek: I read after I posted that it was getting under control. Whew.

I noticed that when you have more than one pet, they all need things at once. :rolleyes: It's either that or the car for me. I wonder if the vet would be willing to at least try an experiment with the ABs, and see if one trial helps him. Without actually committing to it as a long term solution. So much can hide under the gums that you can't see with visual inspection.
Yes I like to think of the Blue and Eddie Show as a challenge but when you add the rest in, voila! The perfect storm! I’m on it with the vet and will ask that we try to see what happens with BG after a course…

as for the fire: can you believe it there arr many people online complaining because the fireworks (which I hate: all the animals both domestic and free-living freak out ) have been cancelled. It’s tinder dry up here and windy. Go figure.
 
Back
Top