06/5 AMPS 8.1 +6 3.2

Catrina

Member Since 2023
Hi all

I am nervous to do a reduction because my kitty still gets high numbers in the yellow. Based on slgs I would reduce but I’m not sure if I should since most of his numbers are in the yellow. Although he has had two 4.7 and one 3.2 now so maybe I should reduce? I just really want him to get better and into remission so I feel like reducing would be a step back.

Also what number do I have to see to give high carb food?
 
That 58 calls for a reduction with SLGS. Nice to see you are getting more tests. If you can commit to getting an AMPS and PMPS plus one additional test every cycle you could switch to TR.
 
That 58 calls for a reduction with SLGS. Nice to see you are getting more tests. If you can commit to getting an AMPS and PMPS plus one additional test every cycle you could switch to TR.

I was reading TR and it says
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100 (5.6), hold the dose for at least 10 cycles (5 days) before increasing.

so if I switch to TR would I increase the dose in 5 days if his nadir is below 5.6? What would be too low that I wouldn’t reduce? It’s strange it’s not a range.. what if his nadir is 2?

I find the “rules” with TR a bit confusing compared to sSLGS. What number do I need to see to reduce the dose with TR and what numbers do I need to see to maintain or increase?

I want to switch to TR if it’ll put him into remission but I also understand the SLGS protocol pretty well it is very clear and easy to follow. I have a newborn baby too so it’s a bit difficult sometimes to test and such..
 
From the sticky on how you can help us help you:


  • Posting BG numbers - Crazy as it sounds, the United States is the only industrialized country in the world that does not use the metric system as its predominant system of measurement. As the FDMB is based in the US, you'll undoubtedly receive more help if you convert BG numbers from the metric system to the Imperial System used by those in the US. Simply multiply the metric number by 18 to find the US equivalent OR use our handy-dandy Blood Glucose Converter Calculator.
 
From the sticky on how you can help us help you:


  • Posting BG numbers - Crazy as it sounds, the United States is the only industrialized country in the world that does not use the metric system as its predominant system of measurement. As the FDMB is based in the US, you'll undoubtedly receive more help if you convert BG numbers from the metric system to the Imperial System used by those in the US. Simply multiply the metric number by 18 to find the US equivalent OR use our handy-dandy Blood Glucose Converter Calculator.


I have two tabs on my spreadsheet can you not see both? The US and the world
 
I can see both tabs. We ask that you put the US ones in your subject though and the part I quoted explains why. Thank you.
Oh ok I have done that now!
I’ve read TR but I am not fully understanding when to increase, maintain and reduce the dose. If I switch to TR right now what number do I need to see to reduce his dose or increase?
The SLGS has ranges and is very clear. TR in my opinion is a bit confusing. I know you need to test more often and it says to hold the dose for 5 days before increasing but I am very lost with TR and the rules with this protocol

I’m just not sure if I should maintain this dose or increase it in 5 days? Or if I reduce it…..What if he gets super low, do I decrease or still increase?

SLGS just seems so much more simple to follow. I really want to do TR but to me it doesn’t make much sense. When do I reduce when to I maintain when do I increase.. so I still do curve. Hm my head is spinning
 
Last edited:
No problem. Let’s see if I can help. With TR you decrease if the bg falls under 50 when new to fd, less than a year. When you first start to see green or blue you keep that dose for at least 10 cycles.

With TR you only need to hold the dose for 5-7 days when you first start lantus. You can actually increase every 3 days if needed.

So if you want to give TR a chance, don’t reduce tonight. I suggest posting daily at first especially if you have questions. Add the question mark prefix. Someone will be more than happy to help.
 
No problem. Let’s see if I can help. With TR you decrease if the bg falls under 50 when new to fd, less than a year. When you first start to see green or blue you keep that dose for at least 10 cycles.

With TR you only need to hold the dose for 5-7 days when you first start lantus. You can actually increase every 3 days if needed.

So if you want to give TR a chance, don’t reduce tonight. I suggest posting daily at first especially if you have questions. Add the question mark prefix. Someone will be more than happy to help.

ok so we are still new to FD so we will keep this dose for 5 days, or I guess he’s already been on this dose for 5 days. I would decrease if he’s below 50, but now since he’s not below 50 would I actually increase or maintain this dose a bit longer?
 
You will maintain this dose. This is new for him so a bounce is very possible and you will see high numbers tonight. Once the bounce clears (4-6 cycles is typical) if that happens a decision would be made as to whether an increase is needed. I’d grab another test an hour after the last test to see if on the rise. Let’s see his plan for tonight.
If you want to try TR please change your signature and top of your spreadsheet to reflect the change. If not for you, you can go back to SLGS at any time.

What do you think?
 
You will maintain this dose. This is new for him so a bounce is very possible and you will see high numbers tonight. Once the bounce clears (4-6 cycles is typical) if that happens a decision would be made as to whether an increase is needed. I’d grab another test an hour after the last test to see if on the rise. Let’s see his plan for tonight.
If you want to try TR please change your signature and top of your spreadsheet to reflect the change. If not for you, you can go back to SLGS at any time.

What do you think?
Okay thanks! What numbers do I need to see in 4-6 cycles or 3 days for an increase and what numbers do I need to see to maintain the dose? I now know that if I get below 50 (2.8) I reduce by 0.25 immediately.
 
Let’s see how the rest of this cycle goes and the pmos to see if he even bounces. If he bounces the bg will be high. We see when the high numbers end and the bg comes down and how low. This is where for me at least it’s hard to give you numbers until I see the data. That’s why I suggest posting for dosing advice.
 
Back
Top