06/3 Dose help please: +8.5=77, AMPS182

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bucasmom

Member Since 2012
Good morning everyone....

Please see the following condo from yesterday and I've updated our profile and SS.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72365

Buca's amps was 182, his +8.5 early this morning was 77. He's three hours past when I would usually give him his am dose of 1u (bid) and he's still sitting at BG 187. If someone could give me some advice this morning on whether to give full dose, or start decrease that'd be great. I've heard a few people say that if it's below 200 not to shoot. :-D Thanks!
 
I don't think I have said hello to you before!

If you shot now, the next shot would be due 12 hours from now. You can work gradually back to your usual shot time, but it would probably take a few days. Do you need to be back on schedule tomorrow for work?
 
Libby and Lucy said:
I don't think I have said hello to you before!

If you shot now, the next shot would be due 12 hours from now. You can work gradually back to your usual shot time, but it would probably take a few days. Do you need to be back on schedule tomorrow for work?
Hello! :)

yes DH and I need to leave for work at 8am tomorrow... I had posted earlier, but didn't realize that editing my post subject didn't bump it and it ended up on the bottom of the list lol. Should I just skip the am dose and keep testing him today... then start again with pm? Or will that throw the shed off completely? :? Or maybe go down to .5u this morning and 1u come pm time? Eek. I know consistency is key here so I'm not sure.
 
3 hours is pretty hard to make up. It's probably easiest to skip a shot - you can either shoot now and skip tonight, or skip now and shoot on time tonight. His numbers will probably go up, but he'll get back on track. I think what I would do is go ahead and skip, then test about 5pm or 6pm, and if he is zooming high then go ahead and shoot. Then you can shoot at 6 in the morning if you want, or wait until you usual time at 7 (that would be a little late, but not the end of the world).

For future reference, here is a post on how we usually deal with lower preshots: Shooting and Handling Low Numbers

For newbies we usually use a guideline that if the preshot is under 150 or 180, to post for advice. After you have been here a while, you'll find yourself easily shooting at lower numbers than that, but it's good to have some help getting there. :smile:

It's great to see this breakthrough!
 
Libby and Lucy said:
3 hours is pretty hard to make up. It's probably easiest to skip a shot - you can either shoot now and skip tonight, or skip now and shoot on time tonight. His numbers will probably go up, but he'll get back on track. I think what I would do is go ahead and skip, then test about 5pm or 6pm, and if he is zooming high then go ahead and shoot. Then you can shoot at 6 in the morning if you want, or wait until you usual time at 7 (that would be a little late, but not the end of the world).

For future reference, here is a post on how we usually deal with lower preshots: Shooting and Handling Low Numbers

For newbies we usually use a guideline that if the preshot is under 150 or 180, to post for advice. After you have been here a while, you'll find yourself easily shooting at lower numbers than that, but it's good to have some help getting there. :smile:

It's great to see this breakthrough!

Thanks! ;-) Yes a breakthrough indeed!! We're still new at this, and his numbers have been so high and then drop so low lately in just a few hours, I didn't know what would be best... I think I will test again this afternoon and again at 6 and if I can hold off until 7 tonight I will... his numbers are going up slightly, but he just might be ok until then.
 
Hi, you've gotten expert advice from Libby. Many find that getting a +10 or +11 test gives a little more advance warning and time to ask for help and plan what to do. Then you don't need to have such long stalls and fewer skipped shots.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top