06/29 Shmee AMPS 135, +7 147, PMPS 152, +2 173, +4 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Shmee

Very Active Member
Previous condo

Good morning L&L,
What a long tiring night. At +5.5 I was going to sleep for a few hours since he was 77, I ended up still being awake at +6.5 so I figured I would check just in case, and he was back down to 58. I started with the larger amount of HC then since I really needed to sleep. I asked last night if I should really shoot 6U today or if I should come down any lower because I am scared for today and what the depot has in store for him, since he really fought hard to get in the lagoon last night. I didn't get a reply (it was very late) so I just shot 6U and am hoping for the best. I have a doctors appointment today at +7 and have my volunteer job tonight at PM +3 to +5. I will get gravy ready and hope he is ok for DH.

Happy Friday everyone. Vines to all those in need of them :bighug:
 
Question - I have been meaning to ask this. Waiting in the lobby at the vet for his bloodwork about a week ago I noticed my Shmee had a slight head/ear twitch. He gets very scared at the vet. It was weird, and I assumed it was due to stress. I tried to give him the Gabapetin as powder in his food but he only ate about half. I don't know if that was his first time doing it, but it was the first time I caught it. Ever since, I have been noticing that it has not gone away. Its not very often, but every once in a while I will catch him do a little head twitch. I plan on asking my vet, but since there are lots of experienced people here I figured I would ask to see if anyone has experienced this before or what it could be. Too scared to Google at this point. I will if I don't get responses today.
 
Google can be dangerous with these type of questions. I would take a video and show the vet if possible. I think the 6 units makes sense, your right he is working hard on these reductions!
Good luck with the decrease!
 
Google can be dangerous with these type of questions. I would take a video and show the vet if possible. I think the 6 units makes sense, your right he is working hard on these reductions!
Good luck with the decrease!
Thanks Tracey, the video is a good idea, I will have to try and catch him doing it over the weekend.
 
Sorry I didn't respond to the dose question earlier. Board was down when I peeked in before going rowing. One trick that you can consider when a higher dose cat earns a reduction and it's clear the depot needs draining, is to do a one time BCS or reduced shot, say 1/2 to 2/3 of the regular dose. You may have to experiment with what amount works fo Shmee.

As for the head twitching, do you notice it it certain light conditions? Ie. always in bright light? How long does it last? Do his ears look clean? I agree that showing a video to the vet is a great idea. I used to email videos of things I was concerned about.
 
Sorry I didn't respond to the dose question earlier. Board was down when I peeked in before going rowing. One trick that you can consider when a higher dose cat earns a reduction and it's clear the depot needs draining, is to do a one time BCS or reduced shot, say 1/2 to 2/3 of the regular dose. You may have to experiment with what amount works fo Shmee.

As for the head twitching, do you notice it it certain light conditions? Ie. always in bright light? How long does it last? Do his ears look clean? I agree that showing a video to the vet is a great idea. I used to email videos of things I was concerned about.
No problem, and thanks for the dosing suggestion, I will keep that in mind.
I have not noticed if there are certain light conditions, but I will keep a lookout for that now. I have been staring at him all day trying to catch one again and did not catch one today. I just looked at his ears and they look clean to me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top