06/29 Dust's AMPS 79, 76 +2

Status
Not open for further replies.

dustyboy4

Member Since 2010
What in the world is going on?
This is twice in one week that I'm not giving Dusty his shot because of lower numbers.
This time though, he has been eating, drinking, peeing & pooping like he should.
Knock on wood, he will keep eating.
Last evening he ate like a horse. I was so happy to see him eat well.
Not that he hasn't been eating, he's actually been eating the way he should for a cat that has perfect weight.
He's just so under his weight that I feel he will have to eat double what a normal weighted cat
will intake so he can gain a few pounds. Does this thinking sound right?
I'm basing this thinking on if his BG is at a good level.

Being that this is the second time I have felt the need to skip his shot
I need help in figuring out the amount I should shoot when
His BG goes back up. Obviously 5u is too much for him. Should I start over with
Dosing?

Sienne you are right when you say that when some cats go low that they become more
Sensitive to the insulin afterward. I'm thinking he is experiencing that now.
Granted I would like to keep Dusty in green #'s but the 5u goes overboard now.

Suggestions?
 
My question from this morning
dustyboy4 said:
Being that this is the second time I have felt the need to skip his shot
I need help in figuring out the amount I should shoot when
His BG goes back up. Obviously 5u is too much for him. Should I start over on dosing?
Suggestions?
 
I don't have an answer as to what is happening to Dusty, but some ideas. It could be that he was overdose, bouncing a lot, and now on a better dose. It could be that there was some sort of resistance that has broken through. At this point what is more important is what to do about dosing. With the changes in dose and skips, I'm not sure how big the depot thinks it is. If 2 is too little and 5 is too much for you, then what do you think would be a good dose to try? It would be good to stick to one dose for a several cycles to try to stabilize the depot. Unless he goes below 50 of course.

One other thing, that 79 this morning was a fine number to shoot, especially if Dusty is eating and you are home to monitor. It's a bit scary at first, but there are people on here who can walk you through. Next time you get a low number and are home, post, and ask for help. For some cats, their nadir is typically at the end of the cycle, so they have to get used to shooting low. Take a look at Pepper's SS. He's a larger dose kitty and likes to nadir late so Nancy has to shoot low. As long as you have plenty of strips, high carb food, and Dusty is eating, you can control the numbers.
 
I agree with Wendy. The only thing I will add is if you get a low number and need to stall and post for help, don't feed him.

I think you definitely need to start shooting numbers above 50 to keep him looking great but please ask for help anytime he gives you a number that you have not shot before or are not comfortable shooting.

Good luck with a reduction!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top