06/28 Butters AMPS 97/+6 104/PMPS 85

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Last Post

We've had a crazy few days here. Butters had a vet visit on Friday to get her ears rechecked. The infection is gone but she is still scratching her ears, neck and mouth a lot and is losing more fur. Her vet is referring her to UGA for a nutritional consult, which is my choice and he endorses. Thank you soooo much to Amy @Tomlin for helping me search for a boarded nutritionist to consult with:bighug:. I don't know when the consult will be, so I may have to figure something out in the meantime.

Her mouth is healing well and she is pretty much off bupe. Her numbers got a little higher than previous, but overall have stayed about the same. Maybe it's too soon, but I'd think if her insulin needs were going to change as a result of having the dental, it would've happened by now, one week post-dental.

I'm still holding the dose at .625u.

My thoughts are with Suzanne and family today after having to let Mr. Darcy fly. Such a special kitty here on FDMB who will always be remembered and loved:bighug:. Sending many prayers her way.

Have a good night everyone.
 
I found it took about 10 days of slightly higher numbers after a dental before the inflammation was down and the numbers came down again. Great news that she's healing and off the bupe now! Bummer on the scratching. :( I'm interested in seeing how the results go with a boarded nutritionist. I think those are few and far between here.
 
I found it took about 10 days of slightly higher numbers after a dental before the inflammation was down and the numbers came down again. Great news that she's healing and off the bupe now! Bummer on the scratching. :( I'm interested in seeing how the results go with a boarded nutritionist. I think those are few and far between here.
The scratching is definitely a bummer for her and me both:(. Her bald spots are a constant reminder that I am failing her in some way as I can't solve this problem fast enough.
There are only around 75ish boarded nutritionists I think. None in Ontario but the one that Amy helped me find at University of Georgia and who we are going to consult with coincidentally attended Ontario Veterinary College with Butters's vet, one year behind him. It works out well that he knows her. It was easier for him to give his stamp of approval.
Ten days from the dental will be this Saturday, so we'll see if anything happens with her numbers, though they're still pretty good.
 
Did the vet have any suggestions for the scratched spots? My civvie did some scratching and caused some redness. The vet suggested applying diluted hibitane, leaving it on 5 minutes, then wiping off.

Good find on the nutritionist connection!
 
Did the vet have any suggestions for the scratched spots? My civvie did some scratching and caused some redness. The vet suggested applying diluted hibitane, leaving it on 5 minutes, then wiping off.

Good find on the nutritionist connection!
No he actually didn't suggest anything. Her ears are red and hot. I'll ask her vet about diluted hibitane. Thank you for mentioning it. What I'd love is something I could spray onto her ears that would make her want to scratch less. Sigh.
 
Back
Top