06/28/2020 - GIDEON BLUE - Back in the RED - AMPS = 455

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
Last night's +3 was 425, and this morning AMPS = 455. I was so hoping we could keep our boy out of the RED. So, it has been 6 cycles since we increased to Lantus 2 units BID. Do we wait a couple more and see if he settles in a bit more?
 
He's bouncing from that nice low blue yesterday. Today is the 14th cycle - let's see how he does today - especially mid-cycle. That's when he'll go as low as he's going to go from this dose. If you don't see any nice mid-range blues today, I'd increase tonight by .25.
 
He's bouncing from that nice low blue yesterday. Today is the 14th cycle - let's see how he does today - especially mid-cycle. That's when he'll go as low as he's going to go from this dose. If you don't see any nice mid-range blues today, I'd increase tonight by .25.

She increased by .50 and this is the 7th cycle. I’d wait to increase as he’s bouncing I think. See what others say.

I’ll answer your question from yesterday in today’s condo. Your subject today should be formatted a little differently. It should read:

6/28/20 Gideon Blue AMPS 455 Back in The Red +6###

The reason for this is that those most experienced scan the subjects quickly and when formatted the same it’s easier to spot those they feel they need to read. If you have a question you can add it or use the ? prefix.

I hope he clears the bounce quickly.
 
Thanks Elise. I will post the heading tomorrow as you noted. Just want to check that I post once daily to keep all my comments and Gideon's numbers together, correct.

So, my first post and main title of the day will have his AMPS #. Then when I write in regards to later testing in the day, I just post under the same thread. Hope I have that right.

The numbers I am getting today are not good. It almost seems like his body is fighting the Lantus. He goes low after the increase, and then just goes right back to where we started. I hope this is not a losing battle.

At +5 = 381, and +9 = 469. Tomorrow, I can test more, but want to know when you want to see a test. Does it depend on what the current test result is? I know we want to see which way he is heading.

When you think I should increase again (maybe in the AM), please let me know. I don't want to do increases in the PM. I am afraid that I will continue to increase and then he will really crash from a buildup of Lantus. His body just doesn't seem to be cooperating.

Is this abnormal for a kitty to take so long to regulate? Are there kitties that never get regulated, but have no other medical conditions that would warrant very high doses of Lantus? What is considered a high dose of Lantus for a kitty?

Thank you all for your kindness, and sharing your knowledge.
 
Sometimes cats go a little high before breaking the bounce and going low again. Tonight is the 6th cycle after the green, so paws crossed he comes down again.

We hold doses with green 10 cycles.
 
Yes, one condo per day. I used to post every test in the subject. If it got to use too much by pm I would keep the AMPS and the last test for that cycle and then add PMPS. Max took a year to regulate and he didn't hold reductions. Patience is needed with fd. Let's up we see the bounce clear and he settles into some blue bg.
 
Last edited:
You guys are terrific. I feel very supported. Thanks for your patience. Yes, let's hope my Gideon's level will come down.
 
Back
Top