06/25*TASHIE*PMPS 287 Phew!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233

Ah! What a night! Do you think I got any sleep? HOPING she is eating as I write - just got her insulin shot and fed. "Seemed" hungry - we'll see! Hoping today will not be a repeat performance!

PMPS=111
+1=121
+2=97
+3=56
+3.5=72
+4.5=48
+5=74
+6=82
+8=98
+11=256
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233

Whoa. I hope she's eating for you. Also hope you can get some rest today! You deserve it!
Surf safely, Tashie dear!
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233

Hi guys .. wow, what a night! I sure hope you can squeeze in a cat nap or two today .. Tashie, take it nice and easy today ok? have a great day!
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233

Wow, Bern!
I hope Tashie will let you have some rest today!
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233

Oh we had fun last night didn't we, I didn't think Lucky would come up last night and look at you 2 hard to go without sleep.
Hope for better numbers tonight must have sleep, Come Tashie give your bean some rest to :smile:
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233+2.5=126

Just to keep you up to date --- Tashie is spending just a little time at the hospital today - Her ketones were 1.4 yesterday, she had SubQ fluids yesterday in hopes to flush her system out. I decided to take her down and get MORE today, her Ketones were 0.4 today so they dropped considerably but want them GONE! I took MY meter and they are testing HOURLY - unless she drops TOO low and then they will test on the 1/2 hour. I took her LC food (pureed) for them to syringe her (rather them than me, trust me!) so she is getting food "on board" ...... also took the GRAVY LOVERS in case they needed. I was VERY specific and they repeated the instructions back to me. I needed to get a few things done and I thought leaving her there for just a little while to be monitored & get more fluids was prudent.

I'll update SS when I get numbers .........thanks for all your well wishes!

tired mummy
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233+2.5=126

tired mummy

WOW--I read your posts last night in "real time".....so worried for you...and very impressed at how brave you were! you did great!

you certainly earned your "balls of steel"-

thanks to Marje and Gracie and you and Tashie and concerned others: a great learning experience for me---I need to save that post for the future

glad that Tashie went back to the vets for more fluids today.......and hope for a more peaceful night

will read with interest on your updates

well wishes

~Kelly and tomcat
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233+2.5=126

Kelly, hope you live in a different time zone than me if you read in "real time" ....... otherwise, you must be as tired as me! Kelly, there are some GREAT advisors on this board that WILL be there if you NEED them! I am still a newbie and, unfortunately, needed more than my share! Hope that when I do post that "911" that they don't think ......Oy! there goes the Drama Queen AGAIN! Seems I have been on a roller coaster with all that has happened in the last, what, 5 weeks?

Love to chat but have to be off to pick up my sweet sugary Tashie baby! Miss her!

Stay in touch!

xx
Bern
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233 See body of email for more - won't

+11=256
AMPS=233
+2.5=126
+3.25=87
+4.25=58
+5.25+52
+6.25=48
+7=53

Tashie is home now! Just put some food down and HOPE she will have a pig fest! Going to leave her for a bit so she has a good opportunity to munch. They syringe fed her LC while she was down there, now I am hoping she will appreciate a bowl!

**I think because of the SubQ fluids she weighed 5# 9oz! Wish she DID! Working on it!

So..... now that she has been in these lovely (but scary) numbers ...... what next? Worried about shooting LOW again! Can't "do" another night like last night :o I'm pretty tough but woah!
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233 See body of email for more - won't

Do you have any idea what time they gave her subq fluids because that will drop the BG.

We "may" need to think about a dose reduction and i will get back to you on that. I'd like to know when she got the subqs (aka "squids").
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233 See body of email for more - won't

Ok...thanks. Good to know.

I want to get some other thoughts; lots of things complicating this including ketones, not eating, fluids, etc. More heads are better than one ;-)

BBS.
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233 See body of email for more - won't

Bern

I got some input from Jill, who is one of our most experienced members.

You are fully aware of the issues:

1. Tashie has had some ketones; she won't eat. The .75u dose is better for the ketone issue but she has to eat because not eating/possible infection/not enough insulin can bring those ketones back.

2. The subqs definitely help her. Jill's suggestion was to see if it was possible to give them at home between +9/+10 and +12 when the insulin is waning so it doesn't drop the BG so much as today. I know with Tashie being somewhat fractious, you prefer to have it done at the vet's office. I would suggest if you decide to have it done again there, you shoot for later in the cycle as Jill has suggested. If you decide to try and do it at home, let us know. We can help "virtually". There are resources.

3. You are exhausted. When you are exhausted, it's hard to think clearly and do what you need to do.

The dose decision has to be yours. You have to consider circumstances including your health and well being as well as Tashie's.

Jill and I both feel that if you wanted to reduce the dose, you could shoot f.5u. However, Jill thought if you need a break tonight, you could shoot .5u and then raise to f.5u in the morning. She could still go low tonight even if you reduce...we don't know. But she might also come up and give you a break.
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233 See body of email for more - won't

Hi Bernadette--

I'm sorry to see you are running on little sleep and really worried about Tashie. I hope she's eating better and there are no ketones present. Hang in there--you really are doing great!!

Prayers for you, DH & Tashie :-D
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233 See body of email for more - won't

Your head must be spinning :? So much going on with Tashie right now. Sending her appy vines, and hopes she stays neg on the ketones. Hugs to you Bern - Tashie is lucky to have you for a momma bean. Hope your house gets some rest tonight~
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233 See body of email for more - won't

Oh my, Tashie kept you up last night didn't she? It's great getting all that extra tests but boy does it mean you have no chance to sleep. Unless you're really good at twenty minute or so naps. I tend not to be.

Healing wishes for no ketones, a better appetite and some sleep for you.
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233 See body of email for more - won't

Okay, the Drama Queens are back! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile Had to run her back down to the vet as two hours after we got home she hadn't eaten a thing and she was shaking like crazy! Scooped her up and off we went - I had the sense to throw MY meter, a can of food & home made chicken broth in my bag as I knew she would still be low and we are getting closer to the two hour food cut off for her insulin shot ***and, I may have had BOS last night but they are GONE now*** :cool: I'm exhausted, Tashie is exhausted and DH says his eyes feel like sandpaper (eh, you slept most of the night!)

Back to Tash, they think the subQ fluids may have been "too cold" and she was having a reaction to it - made note to warm up if needed again. We wrapped her in a towel and they got a heating apd to try to calm her down. We took her BG and it was only at 75 --- I needed to bring her up for shot time! I gave them the food & chic broth - they put in blender and syringed close to the whole can in her! Yipee! ALSO, earlier today, the vet had given me an appetite stimulant that they had cut into 1/8th's but I was reluctant at that time for them to administer - I took them with me and she got her first pill - which she will get every 3 days until she darn well EATS ,,,,,, she was being such a piggie then this! gurrr!

Then, all the girls came and swooned over her and we cleaned her up and brushed her a bit so she felt better - we won't speak of what my BLACK tee looks like! They offered me a lint roller - why?!!!

So, if any of you have any room in your prayers & wishes- wish for a number for me to COMFORTABLY shoot at! It HAS to be OVER 111! Can't do that again!

Hope that's all to report for the next MONTH!

The DQ's
 
Re: 06/25*TASHIE*AMPS=233 See body of email for more - won't

Sorry - answer to dosing - I am more comfortable shooting at 150+. If I need to stall, I'll make it up over the coming days (hope not weeks) .....and I'll try a F.5 okay?
 
SO, with great FEAR I went to test her - So worried about her being TOO low - Whoo Hoo! 287! ....... not that I WANT her to be 287 but I did want to get insulin into her. Done!

Now for the even BIGGER news - hold onto your seats - ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

.......so, she hasn't "played" in months - lets face it, she's 15 1/4 and a lounge cat. We were PLAYING "ribbon" and she was REALLY interested ........ THEN, she came down stairs, almost into the kitchen (((until she saw bossy brother ShihTzu))) and then went back up but she "sneaked" and it just made me giggle - she ONLY comes downstairs at night when ShihTzu is in bed! THEN - for the REALLY REALLY REALLY big news - her head was in the food before I even finished putting it in the bowl! HUNGRY! Hurray!

Thanks! All your well wishes HELPED!
 
Marje ....... float away! We are HOPING to stay out of your life tonight! THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH FOR ALL YOUR GUIDANCE - YOU ARE A ONE-IN-A-MILLION! And I haven't called you bad names in ages .......really!

xx
Bern & Tashie
 
PPS; she is STILL eating! Think she is eating Boris' food too as he just came down and gave me a "look" so he just got turkey treats! Miss Piggy! Yeah!
 
Marje .... going to turn off my "Big iMAC" as we are having some horrific storms and don't want to chance blowing this lovely machine up. I will update my SS etc tomorrow. Going to test soon (maybe by flashlight) but she WILL get tested - she is a pistol tonight!

night night all - be safe from what ever is brewing out there! Kat - cover that pool!

B
 
I'm so glad she is doing better. This makes me very very happy!!!!

Hope you weather the storms ok and you all get some rest. Especially you and Tashie. How wonderful she is playing!
 
I loved the "PHEW"

loved the "DH eyes feel like sandpaper" when he slept all night........hahahhahaha

I, too, have one of those DH!!!!!!

I am always so envious of the lucky ones that have those worried DH's standing guard along with them

mine always says: "would you leave that poor cat alone......" when I get that meter out....ha

LOL


isn't that awful when you see a number like that and you are relieved?

there have been a few times when I must must must go out with DH (don't want to of course) and I will get a +4 number and it if is high.......PHEW.....such a relief I can leave and not obsess about poor kitty getting too low stumbling around all confused seeking me out!!

hope the night goes smooth and you get some peaceful sleep

~kelly
 
Kelly, are we married to the same man?

"would you leave that poor cat alone......" when I get that meter out....ha

and do you ever get "tell me WHY we are doing this again"

Well, my "phew" turned to :o at +3 when she gave me a 57!

If you take a gander at her SS she has been a BIG BOUNCER ......all of a sudden ..... this .... not sure whats going on here!
 
BorisV said:
...we are having some horrific storms...Kat - cover that pool!
Hey there neighbor--yup, horrific storms--I heard them, well, FELT them, just as I was falling asleep--the thunder was actually shaking our house!!! We didn't get the pool covered, but then again we don't have any trees close to it, and this morning, I'm not seeing any :-D :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top