06/25 Snits AMPS 178 +2 126 +3 78 +5 73 +6.5 119 PMPS 109 +2 87 +4 66 +5 86

Snits

Member Since 2024
Sweet Snits 06/24

So basically what happened is that I was busy doing a system reset on a computer and the time said an hour later than what it really is. I also gave her about half of .25 (I'm not quite sure she's ready for this, but I'll follow my method, can always go back up) since she was below 90 yesterday. I can't really be sure of course, but I eyeballed it as best as I could.

Will she be ok?

I also want to add that I think the 5 carb treats I was using for a go between from a 0-10 treat may have more carbs than that or she's just very carb sensitive. Whenever she gets one she sort of skyrockets.
 
Last edited:
Hi Steph, you really are an early riser lol.
Shooting an hour early could act like a dose increase. You'll want to stay on top of testing and small feedings this cycle. Have some MC and HC on hand just in case.
Since you're following SLGS, any BG under 90 is a reduction. So you're dose is 0.1 units tonight. I'll link a pic in a bit.
Snit is responding quite well to the diet change and is earning reductions per the SLGS method but is not quite ready to be off insulin (too many higher blues still). I'd like to find a dose you can shoot consistently for a couple of days. Have you considered TR?
 
Here is what .1 looks like
upload_2024-6-25_7-49-20.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-6-25_7-49-20.png
    upload_2024-6-25_7-49-20.png
    49 KB · Views: 211
Hi Steph, you really are an early riser lol.
Shooting an hour early could act like a dose increase. You'll want to stay on top of testing and small feedings this cycle. Have some MC and HC on hand just in case.
Since you're following SLGS, any BG under 90 is a reduction. So you're dose is 0.1 units tonight. I'll link a pic in a bit.
Snit is responding quite well to the diet change and is earning reductions per the SLGS method but is not quite ready to be off insulin (too many higher blues still). I'd like to find a dose you can shoot consistently for a couple of days. Have you considered TR?


I'm not usually this early of a riser! I had to adapt to someone else's schedule. Ideally I would like to move her three hours (now) from where she is at. Would I inch her along until we're there? I am a little concerned about her scheduled curve on the 15 of next month because of this. I want to see if I can convince my vet to just call in the numbers, but idk how they would feel with me using a human meter as vets are like that. Yes I've considered TR! I think that's the course I should take as I agree with you, she is not ready but is responding well to insulin. Off of it, she would struggle again. I am surprised how quickly this is all going and can only assume the diet change has greatly benefited her.
 
Since you're feeding all low carb wet food and you're testing at least 4 times a day, TT is an option.
Here is the link to TR. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Give it a read and ask any and all questions . We're here to help :).
"Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week."

So, this means to wait untiil all of snits' tested BGS are under 100 for a week before attempting a OTJ trial, right? If so, I can definitely do that. .25 may be the best dose to start with this, but I'll see how today goes and adjust from there. IF I need to go back up to .25, I hold that for 3-5 days or until we see mostly blues and then reduce her to .1?
 
I’m so glad you have switched to TR. Snits is doing so well it will help get him into remission. I’d give him .25 starting tonight. You will hold .25 for 3-5 days. If all blue you would increase. I don’t think that will happen though. With lots of green nadirs you will hold at least 5 days. If all green for 7 days you would reduce to 0.1.
 
I’m so glad you have switched to TR. Snits is doing so well it will help get him into remission. I’d give him .25 starting tonight. You will hold .25 for 3-5 days. If all blue you would increase. I don’t think that will happen though. With lots of green nadirs you will hold at least 5 days. If all green for 7 days you would reduce to 0.1.

Thank you so much!! and yes I'm very happy with her (lol it's okay everyone calls her a he, even the vet. Snits is a very feminine name ok!! ) results! Thanks for suggesting the .25, I had a hunch that was the best way to go.
 
Most important, a reduction is also earned if the bg falls under 50. That very well could happen. Keep posting and ask questions if not sure what to do like you have been.
 
Apologies to Snits. It’s a name I’ve never heard before and I don’t know why I assumed a boy.

Haha no, you're ok I just think it's funny. Her original name was Naya but she was such a little devil and had a lot of snits (she was sooo dramatic) that she became Snits. It wasn't until this month at the vet that I realized depending on how long the person writing her name makes the tail on the n it can totally look like an h. I was thinking to myself god they must think I hate my cat if I named her that but then was like.. well Snits isn't much better!
 
Yay for the switch to TR!!! I think that Snits will really benefit from following the protocol :cat:. Great job changing your signature and adding the line to your SS showing the switch. You are on the Ball :p.

My Vet wasn't too keen on a human meter either in the beginning. We compromised that I would get curves at home with a pet meter when he wanted and send them. Cleo would not do well at the clinic for 12-18 hours :rolleyes:. Maybe that's something your Vet will agree to?
 
It wasn't until this month at the vet that I realized depending on how long the person writing her name makes the tail on the n it can totally look like an h. I was thinking to myself god they must think I hate my cat if I named her that but then was like.. well Snits isn't much better!
Hahaha! That's funny stuff! S_its never even crossed my mind but now that you "said" it... ;) Glad to see you switched to TR. I'm super excited for you! :joyful:
 
Yay for the switch to TR!!! I think that Snits will really benefit from following the protocol :cat:. Great job changing your signature and adding the line to your SS showing the switch. You are on the Ball :p.

My Vet wasn't too keen on a human meter either in the beginning. We compromised that I would get curves at home with a pet meter when he wanted and send them. Cleo would not do well at the clinic for 12-18 hours :rolleyes:. Maybe that's something your Vet will agree to?

I hope so! He's pretty old school so could go either way. His clinic is always insanely busy and chaotic so I'm totally fine with purchasing a pet meter so long as it keeps Snits stress free and safe.
 
Green again at PM+2 Oh My SNITS is just showing off :D

I know!! I was going to do a +3 but I rolled up a ball of yarn and we played with it. She's 66 at +4. Gave her some LC and some pumpkin. Pumpkin is just for digestion. Do you know if pumpkin messes with BG? Going to test at both +5 and +6.
 
I know!! I was going to do a +3 but I rolled up a ball of yarn and we played with it.
LOVE THIS!!!
Do you know if pumpkin messes with BG?
Its plain pumpkin, right? Lots of members here give plain pumpkin with little to no BG effects. Guess your next test will help determine if it does impact Snits BG :p

Going to test at both +5 and +6.
See where she is at +5 which will help you determine if you should get a +6 or later.
 
See where she is at +5 which will help you determine if you should get a +6 or later.

Thank you!! Yeah I've given her pure pumpkin plenty of times before. I don't think it effects it anymore than the LC stuff does. I'm going to be nervous to shoot her with insulin in the below 100's. ):
 
Back
Top