06/24 Charlie AMPS 315, +5 304, +10 261, should go back on the juice? : (

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmum

Member Since 2014
I originally posted this over at OTJ/Honeymooners, but didn't get any response, so I'm back here! (Hi everyone, it's been a while now!)
Charlie has been OTJ for 7 months now and kept the numbers beautifully low and consistent all on her own. But since a month or so they are back to relatively high numbers : ( I have tried everything; spreading the meals out over the day more, change diet to 100% meat, but nothing is bringing her numbers down. I'm afraid I'll have to go back to insulin? Is there a protocol for starting up again? Would appreciate any insights!! (PS - if checking her spreadsheet, I'm using a pet-meter = higher reading)
Thanks!
 
Last edited:
If you haven't done so already, you may want to have Charlie checked out by your vet just to make sure there isn't anything going on that could cause it.
 
something is definitely amiss... now that you've got pinks...
I would see the vet... get insulin
and start up again....

mine recently lost her remission status and as soon as I saw high yellows... I started again.
Your chances are better the earlier you get right back...

definitely check for uti ... and dentals are really key and often the culprit when remission is lost.
also, has any food changed?
lately food companies have been shifting around their formulas....
we try to keep the charts updated but if you've tried something that wasn't on the chart.... that could also be contributing.
 
Hi people, thanks for your thoughts (I'm now logged in with my 'old' profile, I don't know how I managed to have two profiles here, sorry for the confusion!). I will definitely make an appt at the vet asap. UTI could very well be the culprit since she's had issues before. Regarding the food: She was on Bozita (chunks in juice), which is supposed to be very low carb. I'm sometimes mixing it up (and lately more so) with 100% meat only (frozen in logs that I get from the local petshop). Usually chicken, rabbit, salmon or mackerel. She loves it and it would seem it's the most low carb (zero carb? is that possible?) food you can get... I'll keep you posted. ;)
 
Hi again, if someone is still watching... I went to the vet to check her teeth + UTI. No problems with the teeth or UTI... He did however discover that she was terribly constipated (which I have suspected for a while), so gave her a rectal cream that made her poo straight away (rock hard bits came out). He also gave me some fiber/grain type of stuff that you put on the food, which should help the intestines + recommended that I could give her a little bit of olive oil in the food. I will check her BG again to see if this helps the numbers come down again. Fingers crossed.
 
Good luck. We notice constipation can raise numbers with the diabetic kitties still on insulin. I add a bit of plain cooked pumpkin, as well as some coconut oil. Olive oil also works.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top