06/24 Abbott AMPS 373 +4 @328 PMPS 184

AbbottTheCat

Member Since 2022
Ok, so this is his lowest pre-shot number yet at 184. I have about 30 min if i wanna shoot on time. It is now 8pm.

Spreadsheet is updated.
I was only able to get a +4 after AMPS, and now this PMPS of 184 so not much data although it's his first PS in the blues.
I have been breaking up his food at shot time, then +1 +2 +3. So he just ate a bit but have not shot yet.

Could someone check out my SS and help navigate this PM cycle for me?
I have read the sticky on low PS numbers and <150 is the don't shoot number.
Should I shoot his usual dose within next 30 min and then test +2, +4, etc?
Should i feed more carbs right now and at testing to try and manipulate curve and keep him surfing?

I have the hypo kit on hand. I have honey and karo and would prefer to use honey but he's never got any so don't have a whole lot of data. I also have these freeze dried treats I've been giving him lately but don't know how to calculate carb %.
https://www.amazon.com/Small-Batch-Freeze-Dried-ounces/dp/B01KAOLCQQ?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
...should mention his 5P's have been good

...now 30 min past usual shot time. tested again @180, but he did eat 1/4 of food 30 min ago
 
Last edited:
@Suzanne & Darcy you around?
I am currently stalling without feeding I guess. approaching one hour past shot time.
I went ahead and tested at 1 hour past usual shot time, got 194 (even though this might be a food bump number i guess)
Went ahead and gave token dose of .5, his usual is .75

Still would like some guidance tonight cause i'm guessing I will be testing all night.
 
Last edited:
I went ahead and tested at 1 hour past usual shot time, got 194 (even though this might be a food bump number i guess)
Went ahead and gave token dose of .5, his usual is .75

Still would like some guidance tonight cause i'm guessing I will be testing all night.
Good for you for shooting a new low number! I'm no expert but start with getting a +1 and +2 to see how the BG is trending.
Do you have supplies...mc HC karo/honey IF necessary, testing strips? That puts YOU in control!
Let's see if some more experienced members are around... @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Suzanne & Darcy
I think that most of the experienced ones are helping another kitty at the moment
 
Forgot to mention that the .75 depot will influence the first half of this cycle even with that reduced dose of .5. So please say that you're around to monitor?
 
Hey! thanks, it's a mixture of excitement and terror. Yes I am around all night to monitor.
Just to keep things up to date.
Was feeding at PMPS when I got the 184.
Stopped feeding, (he had eaten about 1/4 already)
Stalling...
Tested at 30 min @ 180,
Tested at 1 hour @194,
shot .5 (usual .75) @1hr past usual shot time
during these tests he ate all remaining food.
(kinda how we are testing PS now, he gets too excited during meal time to test anywhere besides his dinner plate)

We are now coming up on +1 since shot.
Will test in 10 min
 
Last edited:
Hey! thanks, it's a mixture of excitement and terror. Yes I am around all night to monitor.
Just to keep things up to date.
Was feeding at PMPS when I got the 184.
Stopped feeding, (he had eaten about 1/4 already)
Tested at 30 min @ 180,
Tested at 1 hour @194,
shot .5 (usual .75) @1hr past usual shot time
during these tests he ate all remaining food.

We are now coming up on +1 since shot.
Will test in 10 min

...I have supplies although zero data on how he reacts,
would like to start with honey but don't know how many drops.
Numbers 60 and above: feed low carb (0-10%)
Numbers between 50 - 59: feed medium carb (11-15%)
Numbers below 50: feed high carb (>16%)
 
...I have supplies although zero data on how he reacts,
would like to start with honey but don't know how many drops.
Numbers 60 and above: feed low carb (0-10%)
Numbers between 50 - 59: feed medium carb (11-15%)
Numbers below 50: feed high carb (>16%)
Nerves are the worst! Once you get the test, you'll be able to see if Abbott is trending down and by how fast. Some cats get a food bump at +1 or +2. Remember Lantus doesn't onset until +2 or +3, but Every Cat Is Different -ECID
 
So should I get a test at +2 instead of +1? He will likely have a big food bump until onset, although his food is super low carb (0.4%)

and do you know how many drops of honey/syrup equates to LC, MC, HC?
should I be feeding teaspoon food after every test even if numbers are going up?
Don't have a lot of experience with lower numbers, his first day had low numbers but these are first blues since then...
 
Last edited:
So should I get a test at +2 instead of +1? He will likely have a big food bump until onset, although his food is super low carb (0.4%)
Is Abbott difficult to test? Do you need to distract him with his food in a bowl inorder to get a reading? That's exactly how my Cleo was too!
How about getting a +1.5? Are you okay with that?
 
Is Abbott difficult to test? Do you need to distract him with his food in a bowl inorder to get a reading? That's exactly how my Cleo was too!
How about getting a +1.5? Are you okay with that?
He is only difficult to test around meal times, so has to be at dinner plate.
All other times he's pretty good with a treat.
 
If the +1 goes up much probably a +3 would be soon enough to test again. Otherwise I would get a +2.

Ok, looking like its gonna be a 1.5

and do you know how many drops of honey/syrup equates to LC, MC, HC?
should I be feeding teaspoon food after every test even if numbers are going up?
Don't have a lot of experience with lower numbers, his first day had low numbers but these are first blues since then...

also, nice to meet you! sorry lol
 
Last edited:
You will need to learn his carb sensitive to determine how much honey to add. My cat just needed a few drops. If going up don’t feed after each check. That wasn’t much of a bump so feed lc. I would have shot a full dose provided you have supplies and can monitor.
 
You will need to learn his carb sensitive to determine how much honey to add. My cat just needed a few drops. If going up don’t feed after each check. That wasn’t much of a bump so feed lc. I would have shot a full dose provided you have supplies and can monitor.

How much did a few drops bring up your cat?
That wasn’t much of a bump so feed lc"" - what wasn't much of a bump?
I would have shot a full dose provided you have supplies and can monitor - i was thinking the same thing but wasn't sure. but that is helpful to know-thanks

I missed the +1.5 and tested at +2 instead. +2 was 143 -- looks like surfs up :)
waiting for onset still I guess
 
Might be a bounce. You will know by +3.

his number went down since last test, why a bounce?
and did you see my other questions?

Just to keep things up to date.
Was feeding at PMPS when I got the 184.
Stopped feeding, (he had eaten about 1/4 already)
Stalling...
Tested at 30 min @ 180,
Tested at 1 hour @194,
shot .5 (usual .75) @1hr past usual shot time
during these tests he ate all remaining food.
tested at +2 @143
 
@Bandit's Mom looking like finally seeing those blues again, remember those? :cool:

Could you give me some guidance on where to start tomorrow at AMPS?
Can I go right back to .75u depending on AMPS number?
Should I shoot 1 hr late at AMPS since i shot late tonight?

trying to make the most out of these blues...
 
@Bandit's Mom looking like finally seeing those blues again, remember those? :cool:
Are you missing the green? :D

Could you give me some guidance on where to start tomorrow at AMPS?
Can I go right back to .75u depending on AMPS number?
Yes, you would go back to 0.75U tomorrow morning. With SLGS, a reduction is earned if he drops below 90. (Hoping you can switch to TR at some point, if you can test enough)

Should I shoot 1 hr late at AMPS since i shot late tonight?
If you shot an hour late tonight, you can make up 15 mins per cycle so if you shot at say 8pm tonight, this is how you would get back on schedule:

Tonight: 8:00 pm
Tomorrow: 7:45 am and 7:30 pm
Day after: 7:15 am and 7:00 pm

+3 @117 -- no food given at testing other than usual freeze dried turkey treat 0% carb
Nice! Feed a little LC and get a +4?

Btw, what do they rows in grey colour on your SS mean? The Fridays?
 
I am missing the singular green way back when :D

Read you loud and clear on getting back on schedule, I can do that.

The grey rows are every week just to let me know how things are progressing.

Ok, so I'm confused about low carb feeding during test. His food is basically zero carbs (0.4)
Is this food useful to slow the curve and prevent a bounce if it has NO carbs? Wouldn't it NOT raise BG?

I don't have any LC food around but I could add a drop of honey to food tsp during tests but I have no data on how he reacts to that since never given

*** btw I do have gravy lovers in my hypo kit to give if we get under 50 tonight
 
Last edited:
Also, FYI the .75* from today's AMPS was closer to 1.0u. Maybe that's the magic dose cause as you know that was his very first dose when we got into blue/green
 
The grey rows are every week just to let me know how things are progressing.
OK. I thought maybe those were days you cannot test. A mid cycle test in yesterday's AM cycle when he started lower would have been good. Just to see how low he was going.

Ok, so I'm confused about low carb feeding during test. His food is basically zero carbs (0.4)
Is this food useful to slow the curve and prevent a bounce if it has NO carbs? Wouldn't it NOT raise BG?

I don't have any LC food around but I could add a drop of honey to teaspoon during tests but I have no data on how he reacts to that since never given
Sorry! I forgot you feed raw. When we say LC, we mean the usual low carb food that you feed and not any higher carbs. The idea of multiple meals, especially in an active cycle is to flatten the curve. Sharp drops can also trigger bounces.
 
Ok so my usual zero carb food is all I need to give during these active cycles to flatten the curve?

unless we get under 50 then honey time?
 
Ok so my usual zero carb food is all I need to give during these active cycles to flatten the curve?
There are times when they drop fast/hard and you want to slow them down and need to feed higher carbs. At those times you can add a little honey to the raw to increase the carb%. It's a bit of trial & error - getting the amount of honey right (how much honey gives you approx what carb%).

Can he eat canned food occasionally or does he have any allergies? It might be easier to use higher carb canned food than experimenting with honey - but there are folks here who have done that (used honey with raw that is).

Btw, could you please take off the "STALL HELP??" from your title? Thanks!
 
There are times when they drop fast/hard and you want to slow them down

Is tonight hard/fast?

Can he eat canned food occasionally or does he have any allergies?

He should be ok with I have some of this around, not sure what carb% is on it.
https://rawznaturalpetfood.com/product/96-turkey-salmon-pate/

Also have ff gravy lovers, guess I could add some gravy from it into his LC

Btw, could you please take off the "STALL HELP??" from your title? Thanks!
--done, thanks for the reminder.

testing +4 in 5 min.
 
Is tonight hard/fast?
No. I wouldn't say that. His first cycle had a steep drop from PMPS to +3.

He should be ok with I have some of this around, not sure what carb% is on it.
https://rawznaturalpetfood.com/product/96-turkey-salmon-pate/

Also have ff gravy lovers, guess I could add some gravy from it into his LC
This list is a little old but has carb% of many foods in it.
https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php

Mixing foods with different carb% is another way to manipulate carb%. We often mix a little MC with LC to get higher carb LC. Or HC with LC to get MC (where one has run out of MC)
 
They list the carb stuff but i don't know what % would be:
Screen Shot 2022-06-25 at 1.24.48 AM.png


+4 @122

So you're saying if this +4 had been like say 95 then maybe mix some HC to LC to get MC?

Also, silver lining= check out these ears!! made for testing!! :cat:

IMG_7373.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-06-25 at 1.24.48 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-06-25 at 1.24.48 AM.png
    101.1 KB · Views: 177
  • IMG_7373.jpg
    IMG_7373.jpg
    37.1 KB · Views: 113
They list the carb stuff but i don't know what % would be:
screen-shot-2022-06-25-at-1-24-48-am-png.64604
3.56% calories from carbs. If you want to do a deep dive on calculating carbs in cat food:
Calculating Protein/Fat/Carbohydrate Percentage of Cat Foods

You are good for the night. He seems to be heading up.

So you're saying if this +4 had been like say 95 then maybe mix some HC to LC to get MC?
No. His curve tonight is gentle enough not to need higher carbs.
I was just saying that one can get MC by mixing LC and HC - should one not have MC.
 
Ok! Back up to normal dose and schedule tweak in the morning. Could tonight count as my curve?
Any direction you’d like to offer going forward into next week? Thanks again, you da best!
 
Could tonight count as my curve?
Unfortunately, not with that token shot tonight!

Any direction you’d like to offer going forward into next week?
With SLGS you hold doses for a week (unless a reduction is earned). He will probably bounce tomorrow. If his numbers look the way they do right now, you want to think about an increase to 1U on 6/27. Let's take a call on Sunday?
 
Back
Top