? 06/23 Eddie AMPS 275 +7 405 PMPS 392

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Good morning,

at least the increase is lowering the BG somewhat. Here is yesterday:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-22-eddie-amps-340-5-387-8-274.291393/

You'll note that Eddie has been back to Ondansetron. Vet had prescribed 2ml every 6-8 hours and I gave it him @ 5:00am this morning (=yesterday's PM +8) along with the 0.5ml Gabapentin. At shot time, Eddie is over-sedated and I have to syringe feed. I'm cutting back on the Ondansetron dose, for sure.:banghead:.
 
Eddie returning to normal mentation. He got a nail trim and sub-q fluids. I hope he will eat. @Wendy&Neko I'm afraid our options are running out. We seem to have addressed the gagging/tongue twirling but he cannot go on not eating on his own. I don't know what else to do. Now when I involve the emergency clinic they are starting to press me on QOL.

And, now AM +7 405. Tried offering a Churu. Moderately interested. I'm feeling afraid.
 
Last edited:
How many mg is 2 ml of ondansetron? Is he getting even Cerenia? Ditto on how many mg of gabapentin? Gaba is more likely to sedate in my experience.

Did the Vet ever talk about a feeding tube? Or budesonide? His GI issues need to be addressed in order to help the nausea. A feeding tube may be a short term thing until his GI is settled down, which budesonide will help with.
 
How many mg is 2 ml of ondansetron? Is he getting even Cerenia? Ditto on how many mg of gabapentin? Gaba is more likely to sedate in my experience.

Ondansetron is 4mg/ml so he had 8mg. That is a vet dose (not the IM vet) but his regular vet. Side effect: sedation.

Did the Vet ever talk about a feeding tube? Or budesonide? His GI issues need to be addressed in order to help the nausea. A feeding tube may be a short term thing until his GI is settled down, which budesonide will help with.

I've emailed the IM vet about budesonide as he was mentioning it before. He usually responds same day but I haven't heard from him yet. I'll send a gentle reminder in the morning.

Eddie's grogginess has passed. I've got Royal Canin Recovery and am following this protocol for the time being:

https://www.hespeleranimalhospital.com/how-to-force-feed-an-anorexic-cat.pml#:~:text=Part of treating the anorexic,to try syringe feeding first.

Somehow having Recovery and ensuring he is getting enough calories is priority. I've ordered the Visbiome and paid extra for priority delivery so will start that as soon as it arrives. I am giving him the Pet Wellness probiotic for today.

I'm hoping to get him another acupuncture session this week instead of next. The vet also treated him for appetite and we can do that again (it's a tiny needle on the nose! Eddie didn't even flinch). Again, good news: still no gagging and no tongue twirling. Head tilt is gone.

I have the option tomorrow to rebook his MRI with Canada West.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top