06/23 Bob AMPS-400, PMPS-166 dosing advice wanted.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gummers

Member Since 2013
I thought I would post this here as well in case this subforum has more traffic...

Its night time and I just got a 166 bgl from Bob. I know my options are to skip, stall, or shoot lower, but I'm not sure what is best in my case. We are new at this and he's only been on lantus for 7 days.

I don't know that stalling is an option because Bob is already chowing down on food.

I don't know that I can lower the dose by much as I already only give 0.5... I guess I could do 0.25?

Or should I just skip because I don't have enough info on how Bob is handling the insulin?
 
Hi Danielle,
I replied on your post in Health and I suggested skipping the shot.
 
Unfortunately Sunday around noon we don't have many online. You are right, after eating stalling and retesting won't tell you much. It looks like the last time you skipped he didn't sky rocket too badly. With so little data, skipping may be your best bet at this point. If you are worried about him going too high a good way to give a reduced dose is to draw the .5u and take a drop out of it, but I would probably skip.
 
Why I said "skip".

1 - stalling wasn't going to be effective if he was already eating.
2 - You'd never shot a number below 245 before.
3 - You can't be sure if the number was still dropping, steady or rising (although this might not be as big a concern with Lantus as it would be for another insulin).
4 - Whether you shot the normal dose, or the reduced .25u dose, you would still need to monitor tonight in case the number went low.
5 - There isn't enough "night cycle" data to know what his numbers might do.
6 - Looking at the PM number on 6/22 (299) and the AM number on 6/23 (400), there's a chance that he went low that night and the 400 could be a "bounce" due to that. If that is the case, then it could also be possible that tonight's PMPS is evidence that the bounce didn't last long, and it was "clearing". And when bounces clear, there is a good chance that the upcoming cycle could be an "active cycle", meaning his numbers could drop lower. If that happens, you could be up testing for the next few hours. Suggesting that you shoot a number below 200 for the first time would be followed by "if you can stay up and get some tests over the first few hours of this cycle" as a condition.

So given all that, I thought skipping was the best option.
 
I'm with Carl. I think your best option given that you are not yet data ready to shoot lower numbers is to skip. I'd also like to offer a strong word of encouragement to start getting at least a "before bed" test every night. Many cats like to drop into lower numbers during the PM cycle. It will also provide you with greater insight into what Bob's numbers look like so you will be more comfortable shooting lower numbers especially in the evening.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm with Carl. I think your best option given that you are not yet data ready to shoot lower numbers is to skip. I'd also like to offer a strong word of encouragement to start getting at least a "before bed" test every night. Many cats like to drop into lower numbers during the PM cycle. It will also provide you with greater insight into what Bob's numbers look like so you will be more comfortable shooting lower numbers especially in the evening.

I asked someone else this last time: why do they drop lower at night? Is it food related? If so, would my cat be less likely to drop over night when he gets 2/3s of his food then?
 
Hello and welcome from me. I haven't visited you before. What a cute black and white kitty you have, I'm partial to them. :-D

I'm not sure if I have an answer as to why cats often go lower at night. Maybe it's got something to do with them being normally nocturnal animals. My Neko is an example of a cat that almost always does her low numbers at night. Since March this year she's almost never gone low during the day and she's earned all her dose reductions have been at night.
 
Hi Danielle--

I don't know if I've introduced myself; don't think so.

Welcome to the Lantus Land Family!!!

I was in your shoes (and Gobbles in Bob's paws) about 7 months ago. I started the TRP about 6 months ago. I'm thrilled to say that Gobbles has been OTJ for over a month now.

If you need some encouragement, please feel free to take a look at Gobbles' SS. We were on quite a journey...

I truly hope Bob goes OTJ! You're in the right place and there are many here who I see are helping you, and will continue to help you.

Hang in there!!!

Have a wonderful week :-D :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top