Re: 06/23/11 Zener AMPS 571; +3 475 - & Appetite question
Good afternoon, guys! No advice on the appetite meds, but remember, it may also just be due to the fact that Zener is a cat!! :lol: :lol: :lol: I know Willie will go through periods where he is less enthusiastic about food, then will generally dig in with gusto right about the time I start to actually worry! I use purebites freeze dried chicken treats for Willie, and I actually pour the bag of treats into a strainer over a bowl to strain out the pieces that are like dust. The treats go back into their bag, and the dust goes into a ziploc bag... great for sprinkling on food to generate interest! Fortiflora works great for that as well... has the animal digest flavoring that coats dry food.
The 575 isn't all that surprising after a skipped shot. Once you get down settled in to an appropriate dose and get Zener's shed filled, he'll be back down to acceptable numbers in no time.
We generally post a link to our previous day's condo when we start a new one. That way, people can read backwards and get caught up quickly on what has happened the previous days, which is especially important if you need advice. Here's how you type it:
Yesterday's Condo
Once you've done it once, you can just hit edit, copy the whole thing, paste it into the new day's condo, then just change out the url. eventually, you'll memorize it... but you've got more important stuff to learn at the moment! :lol: :lol: :lol:
I also mentioned this in Boo's condo, but I highly recommend printing out all the stickies and putting them in a binder. The first thing in order should be how to handle hypos. In front of that or on the cover should be the phone number to both your vet and the closest 24 hr. emergency vet, and if you aren't familiar with the location of the 24 hr vet, the address and directions. If you are in a true emergency, the last thing you need to be doing is trying to figure out where you are going. There is just so much info in the stickies that it is hard to keep track of all of it when you are just starting out. Having it printed so you can just read through it at your leisure was a big help to me... and I never had to track down a specific sticky when I was unsure of something and didn't have folks around to ask.
You're doing great!