? 06/22 magellan amps 130 +2,138 pmps 133 +2, 103 +3,57 +4,30+5,41 +.30,51 +6,87+.30, 57 +7,63 +.30,78

I cant get the dose any smaller advise is needed. I still do not believe magellan is ojt ready!
His numbers are looking better in the last 2-3 says. Did you feed HC at +3 and he still dropped to 30?

Ordinarily, this would be a dose reduction. These are photos from the fine dosing sticky.
49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg



49823504036_be8b19dcbc_o.jpg


Do you think you can reduce the 0.1 to "some" insulin. It may mean twisting the plunger to see how much insulin is in the syringe (i.e., the # of drops) and see if you can reduce the amount.

Despite the numbers, I don't think Magellan is ready for an OTJ trial. You may want to think about feeding Magellan a slightly higher carb food so you can maximize the insulin to flatten out the curve.

Sienne, can she try a drop dose - the amount drawn into the syringe through vaccum (Keeping plunger press, insert and release)?
 
Sorry, Julia, that no one is getting back to you. I'd edit out everything but +8 to the thread title and write dosing?

Since Magellan is a long term diabetic and he dropped into the 30s last night, I'm not sure how to advise. It does seem like he needs more insulin before he goes OTJ because of those blues. Hopefully someone with more experience will see this and help.
 
Sorry, Julia, that no one is getting back to you. I'd edit out everything but +8 to the thread title and write dosing?

Since Magellan is a long term diabetic and he dropped into the 30s last night, I'm not sure how to advise. It does seem like he needs more insulin before he goes OTJ because of those blues. Hopefully someone with more experience will see this and help.
Thank you for responding I will wait to hear any advise but other than that Im at a loss for what to do.
 
Your PMPS box is blank from last night. Did you give him .05? If he's still too low for your comfort this morning at preshot time you can skip the shot to empty out the depot and see where he goes during the day.
 
Since Magellan is a long term diabetic and he dropped into the 30s last night, I'm not sure how to advise. It does seem like he needs more insulin before he goes OTJ because of those blues. Hopefully someone with more experience will see this and help.
Tagging @Wendy&Neko and @Sienne and Gabby (GA) for advice.

A drop into the 30s is a reduction but I'm not sure how much lower to go from here since he does look like he needs insulin!

The way we measure a drop dose is: push the plunger of the empty syringe in fully, keep it pressed and insert in the pen. Let go of the pressure on the plunger and it will draw a drop. Can you try this and see if this is less than what you are giving Magellan now?
 
Can you tell me how you are steering Magellan's numbers? For example, last night, with the PM +3 of 57, I would have given my cat some HC to bump the numbers up and to avoid a dose reduction. Are you doing something along these lines?
 
Can you tell me how you are steering Magellan's numbers? For example, last night, with the PM +3 of 57, I would have given my cat some HC to bump the numbers up and to avoid a dose reduction. Are you doing something along these lines?[/QUOTE

Thank you for the info Sienne I gave Magellan MC with honey apparently that was not quite enough. He has been feeling a bit peckish and off his feed due to the heat. Normally what I do with Magellan and so far it has been working except where it is clear it has not. I test shoot then feed. At +2 I test and if he is higher than his pre shot I go to bed.That has only happened once. I then give about a teaspoon of hc and test again in an hr and if the numbers have gone up I can go to bed. If they have not I wash, wring and repeat.
 
Tagging @Wendy&Neko and @Sienne and Gabby (GA) for advice.

A drop into the 30s is a reduction but I'm not sure how much lower to go from here since he does look like he needs insulin!

The way we measure a drop dose is: push the plunger of the empty syringe in fully, keep it pressed and insert in the pen. Let go of the pressure on the plunger and it will draw a drop. Can you try this and see if this is less than what you are giving Magellan now?

I decided that was pretty much what I had to do. I know with his numbers he was not ojt ready. Looks like I will need to get some HC for his loardship what I had been using by the numbers was mc which either is FF sliced chicken or turkey with gravy. The other is sliced chicken harts &liver with gravy the three are either 12 or 13 carbs. Looks like I make a run to safe way and get some gravy lovers beef and gravy :facepalm::facepalm:
 
Back
Top