06/22 BB AMPS 238

Dawnjanell

Member Since 2020
Ok 8 cycles now and I didn't get any more green, thinking of going to 1.5 tonight.

BB has been especially lazy, only active when her numbers are below 150. Still stands up to eat breakfast in bed :rolleyes:, or cuddles and pets, and makes it into the other room to go potty in the box when needed but otherwise sleeps all day/night. She is also drooling more and more, but can't get in for her dental until August 12th thanks to COVID 19.

Her ketones are still .1 on a blood meter.


Last post
 
Here is the link to your last post here, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-21-should-i-increase.231266/

To answer your question, yes, I would increase. Paws crossed the 1.5 units gets you more green.

Bummer on the dental, are you going to a dental specialist? Just wondering why it’s taking so long to get in.

I actually for once remembered the last post, just named it last post rather then putting the whole link :) but ty as I know I have been terrible about that in the past.

The vet in my office that does all the more complex dental procedures and is known for being very good with tracking glucose numbers mid procedure has just returned to work and is back logged. The other vet could do it earlier but the vet tech with a diabetic cat advised me to wait.

Thank you I will up her tonight.
 
Last edited:
Oops, sorry on missing the last link. :oops:

I went to a dental specialist, after Neko's first dental. They had even longer line ups. The nice thing about the specialists, is they had someone monitoring the cat's vitals the whole time, and were more used to "special" or more complicated/older pets.
 
No worries, like I said I know I am terrible about remembering to add them. Having a diabetic cat has seriously impacted my sleep, so I appreciate the patience you have all shown while I am trying to learn and follow the guidelines.
 
Last edited:
How bad is the recovery from feline dental work? Do you do a token doses of insulin pm and am since they have to fast?
 
Depends on the vet and what time the procedure is scheduled for. Usually you don't skip the PM before. Some vets have you skip the AM, some say 1/2 dose. Some vets say you can feed them a partial meal until 6:00AM the morning of, some say no food after midnight. Always remind them your cat is diabetic, there should be different guidelines for them. I found the dental specialist the most up to date and he let me feed 1/3 of breakfast up until 6:00am. Shot typically was 1/2 dose, though I once gave a token dose because she was close to asking for a reduction and I didn't trust her (and I was right). Depending on the type of anaesthesia induction drug used, you might lower the PM dose after. At least one induction drug used lowers the BG. The one my dental vet used did not. And if your cat has a lot of extractions and isn't into eating a lot, you might lower a bit for safely - unless of course ketones are an issue.
 
95 at +3 hours which is a beautiful number but I will now be up all night checking her.

Why oh why can't she just develop a pattern!
 
Back
Top