06-21 Small Kitty amps 112 pmps 313 - Reducing too Quickly ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Morning all,

This morning is another surprise from Small Kitty, like many others lately. Cause
he was low last night and I don't like affecting draining my pool of insuling (his actually),
I went on with a ''micro'' dose. Was sure that this morning would be a disaster.. but it's not.
It's a scenario that would have been unimaginable months ago. After handing in high
altitude seems Small Kitty has dropped his sugar cargo in mid-air and is ready to land.
Thing is, I don't like draining the tank (pool of insulin) cause air refueling is tricky, you
never know if the fuel will get in and how long it's going to take to refuel the tank.

So there it is, my pool of is draining and who knows the effect of it. I'm afraid Small
Kitty will realized that the way to go is to get back high and bringing his down can take
weeks if not months. Thing are getting so well. Hope my decision to reduce will be
a good one, future will tell.

Wish you have a good day, carefull on changing dose, those little beast are quick on
getting back to bad habits. Keep an eye on this spread sheet, you'll know if it's the
case.

Have a good day and happy summer to all.

Last post

Sébastien
 
Our kitties don't make it easy to figure out what dose to give sometimes. I hope SK will keep surfing for you and stay the course.
 
I just changed my post to a question cause I'd like opinions.

What do you think about these reductions, do you think Small Kitty will get
back to green if the reduction fails ? He likes lower numbers and it took a while to
get him to stay there. I'm afraid he will get used to high numbers again and be willing
to stay there.

Is there a rule that you don't reduce unless there is a certain number of low SL
on long therm insulin kitties ?

Thanks for your help, their experts.

.
 
Last edited:
Sebastien, can you clarify are you using a pet meter or a human meter??
both the ss and the signature block say pet meter, but the ranges are for human meter:confused::confused::confused:
 
Sebastien, can you clarify are you using a pet meter or a human meter??
both the ss and the signature block say pet meter, but the ranges are for human meter:confused::confused::confused:

Thanks Gill for your reply. I'm using a pet meter, Big brother is running at around 84 with the pet meter witch
is how it should be. Range for pet meter on normal cat is between 4.0 to 8 (max 10) - on world unit measurement.
That gives 72 to 144 in us. So afraid he will change hill side :nailbiting:
.
 
Thanks Gill for your reply. I'm using a pet meter, Big brother is running at around 84 with the pet meter witch
is how it should be. Range for pet meter on normal cat is between 4.0 to 8 (max 10) - on world unit measurement.
That gives 72 to 144 in us. So afraid he will change hill side :nailbiting:
.
Hi Sébastien,

Here's where Gill's confusion is coming from: when I look at your SS "world" version the lime green colour bar at the top says <3.8 which would be <68 on the corresponding US sheet. That's correct for a pet meter. However, when I switch to your SS "US" version, the lime green range at the top shows <50 when it should be <68 if you're using a pet meter. You have some incorrect cell colours for numbers from your pet meter and that will give incorrect information to people looking at your SS. For example, last night your PMPS was 54 and it shows as dark green on both versions of your SS. A 54 should colour code as lime green on your World sheet but it didn't. It's dark green on your US sheet which is expected because it's above 50. The formatting isn't working properly.

Does this make sense?
 
Hi Sébastien,

Here's where Gill's confusion is coming from: when I look at your SS "world" version the lime green colour bar at the top says <3.8 which would be <68 on the corresponding US sheet. That's correct for a pet meter. However, when I switch to your SS "US" version, the lime green range at the top shows <50 when it should be <68 if you're using a pet meter. You have some incorrect cell colours for numbers from your pet meter and that will give incorrect information to people looking at your SS. For example, last night your PMPS was 54 and it shows as dark green on both versions of your SS. A 54 should colour code as lime green on your World sheet but it didn't. It's dark green on your US sheet which is expected because it's above 50. The formatting isn't working properly.

Does this make sense?
.
It does, I've been confused about that as well. I downloaded the SS on our site. Scratching my head on why the colors are not light green on
world and US side. World says 3.8 and lower is light green and it doesn't appear that way. Same for the US side, 3.8 is 68 witch should be light
green as well.

Is 68 really light green ? The case being I will need to scrap all formatting and set is manually...

.
 
Normal numbers on a PET meter are 68 to 140/150. The SS indicates you've shot below 68 numerous times and I can't express enough that this is very dangerous. Yes, take the reduction down to 1.25. With SLGS reductions are taken ANYTIME they go below 90 and there is no further protocol guideline for long term diabetics. Some reduce the reduction number to 50 on a Human meter or 68 on a Pet meter. Please be careful Sebastien. Glad SK is feeling good.
 
Normal numbers on a PET meter are 68 to 140/150. The SS indicates you've shot below 68 numerous times and I can't express enough that this is very dangerous. Yes, take the reduction down to 1.25. With SLGS reductions are taken ANYTIME they go below 90 and there is no further protocol guideline for long term diabetics. Some reduce the reduction number to 50 on a Human meter or 68 on a Pet meter. Please be careful Sebastien. Glad SK is feeling good.
.
Thanks for the clarification Karen, I'll go on with your suggestion. Your not the first expressing concern with shot given below 68. The reason for
this is because when getting low Small Kitty will raise and sometime very high right when Levemir start to take effect. Most of the time test results
before somewhere before +8 will be climbing. With Levemir taking action at this stage of the cycle it stops these high numbers getting out of control.
Small Kitty has changed lately, he can overcome high numbers within a cycle, it used not to be the case. Hope he's gonna stay that way.

Thanks again for your help.
.
 
Hey Sebastien,
are you having trouble fixing the formatting? It's more than just the formatting that's not right, the ranges on the world are wrong too, the lime green should be anything below 68 (not 50). If you are having trouble fixing it, we can ask Marje to help you with it.

I want to second @Doodles & Karen call for safety.

68 is the reduction point (TR) when you are using a pet meter, (90 on a human meter if you are doing SLGS),
You've not been taking reductions when SK has earned them, I think that is why you have seen that 38 the other morning, 38 on a pet meter, is very low.
Shooting a 54 on a human meter the other evening (even with Lev) is very risky, no matter what dosing method you are choosing, I'm just happy it all turned out well.

Not taking reductions when they are earned can result in SK being overdosed, please be careful going forward.
 
Your not the first expressing concern with shot given below 68. The reason for
this is because when getting low Small Kitty will raise and sometime very high right when Levemir start to take effect. Most of the time test results
before somewhere before +8 will be climbing. With Levemir taking action at this stage of the cycle it stops these high numbers getting out of control.
I understand your logic, but as others have said... please be very, very careful. Generally, it's not a good idea and could prove dangerous.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top