06/20 Poopers AMPS 11.9 (214)

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Poopers and Catia, Jun 20, 2021.

  1. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Hey everyone! Poopers numbers are pretty good today. Glad to see it.

    Today I started his transition to FANCY FEAST patê, I mixed half a can of it with his hills prescription diet m/d feline dry food. I was going to give him the royal canin diabetic wet food but somehow I ran out of it (never happened before I had a mini panic attack). But I decided to do that and then I’m going to see how he reacts to it.
     
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hi Catia, it's better if you don't feed him the dry. Any chance you can get RC wet food? If not it may be better to switch to FF rather than bring dry food back into the picture.
    Also, it would be great if you can get a before-bed test at night. Looking at his numbers, it's possible that he's going lower at night and bouncing in the day.

    Link to your previous post - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-17-poopers-amps-8-4-151.248718/
     
  3. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    I’m going to call the vet and ask if I can get around 10 can or less just to transition usually they give me 24
     
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Can you not get it from chewy/petsmart or walmart or any pet store?
     
  5. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Not his
    I don’t think so.
     
  6. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Hey guys, I have Poopers his food today but I had to give him royal canin dry food and FANCY FEAST PATE because I’m trying to transition into only fancy feast pate.

    his units are at 2 right now, since he’s going to only fancy feast should I give him less insulin??? His numbers keep going down I gave him a little honey just in case. Please let me know what you think
     
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Nice numbers today, if you are following SLGS and he dropped under 90 today
    doesn't he earn a reduction?
    @Bandit's Mom
    Copied this from the Lantus forum
    • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
    • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately
    @Poopers and Catia
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2021
  8. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    That’s what I was thinking. I made another post I think that it’s late where @Bandit's Mom is so I made a separate post. I’m going to check him again but the last number was pretty low 2.8 (50) I believe I should reduce it
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    The food change from 14% carbs to low carb will again drop his numbers quite a bit. Are you still feeding FF with dry mixed or only FF?
     
  10. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  11. Librarianista

    Librarianista Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2021
    Do you have LC wet food out for Poopers right now? If he’ll eat, that may help bring his numbers up, too. Can you test again to see if his BG is coming up?
     
  12. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
  13. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Tonight I think i’ll give him only FF since you said to not give him dry food
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  14. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    If you are feeding only fancy feast, you can reduce him to 1U. Let us be cautious. We can take the dose up if needed.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  15. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    He is up from 2.8 to 4.7? What did you feed?
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  16. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    I gave him 2 fingers of honey and it went from 2.8 to 4.7. But I do think I should reduce it. You think 1U tonight ?
     
  17. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    You should have some of these at home
    Honey wears off quickly
    Here are a few med and high carb Fancy Feast




    med and high carb food on hand in case he drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers

    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs



    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

    Or any other ones from the food chart
    :http://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  18. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    For today, it's an easy question to answer. With SLGS, you reduce the dose if your cat's numbers drop below 90. Poopers earned a 0.25u dose reduction. His PM dose would be 1.75u.

    In the future, when you see numbers are dropping, especially if you see a large drop by +2 or +3, try feeding your kitty some low carb food and re-test in 30 min. Ideally, the LC will slow the drop. You may want to monitor closely because cats do not like to be predictable! Once numbers are in the 50s, a small amount of high carb may be warranted.

    Also, it's very helpful to put your test results in your subject line. The convention for posting is:
    date, Cat's name, AMPS-#, +hour-#​
    So, for today, your subject line should read:
    6/20, Poopers, AMPS-214, +2 - 121, +4 - 95, +5 - 59, +6 - +50, +7 - 85
    Putting the test results in. your subject line lets those of us who scan the board to make sure no one is in trouble see what's happening quickly. It's OK to put a comment like you did today but the numbers are also a big help.
     
  19. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. Please monitor him closely after the food change. The 2U depot will affect the next 4 cycles even after the reduction.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  20. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm merging the two threads.
     
  21. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Yeah I had to go out so I brought him with me and I brought a FF can but it didn’t go up so I gave him a little bit of honey but we’re going home soon so I’m going to see how he is
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  22. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Ok I will give him 1U and do at least 2-3 tests before bed (after his insulin)
     
  23. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I agree with Bhooma to reduce to 1 unit since you are going right to Fancy Feast
    Please monitor him closely tonight
     
    Poopers and Catia likes this.
  24. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    If you can go and get some of those high and med fancy feast foods I listed above
    in case you need them tonight
    Any high and med carbs will do , look at the food chart
    You need more than just honey in the house
    You should always have them in the house at all times :cat:
    @Poopers and Catia
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2021
    Poopers and Catia likes this.
  25. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Yes I’m going to Walmart! Thank you!
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  26. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    I
    I will for sure! Thank you
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  27. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Good, you can mark the carb amounts on the can when you get home in marker
    Makes it easier to remember the carb amount :cat:
     
  28. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Yeah that’s true! Will do
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  29. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes, the FF Classics are called Pates in Canada and the one you've listed is low carb. She is going up because she is bouncing from the 2.8 she saw in the morning. Don't worry, it's not the food :)
     
  30. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Okk good! I thought I bought the wrong one! Thank you so much for all your help today :joyful:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  31. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    If you don't see any green today/tonight, I would increase to 1.25U tomorrow morning.
     

Share This Page