? 06/19 - Small Kitty amps 410 +3 356 +4 319 +6 400 +9 490 pmps 529 New increased dose + new food

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Very Active Member
Good morning everybody,

So there is the final countdown before raising dose to try to get those numbers go
down for Small Kitty.

I did a slight change on the time where the feeder turns. Since last night Small Kitty
and Big Brother will have a quarter can of FF classic at +3 and another ont at +5 instead
of the last 7 days +3 and +6.

This change did something that I still don't understand. The GL went down to purple
at +3 (normal, insulin is working), back in the red at +4 (food being processed I guess)
then... went back to purple again at +6. I dont really understand how GL can go up
and down before mid cycle.

That Small Kitty has full of hidden trick in reserv... good and bad ones.

Have a good day all.

Sébastien

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-466-9-504-pmps-499-3-373-4-437-6-311.159721/
 
Hi Sebastien ~ I was catching up on your condo from 6.17 as I missed it somehow. You were saying that SK is his ideal weight now. Using the formula of ideal weight X 13.5 +70 you could calculate to see if he needs a bit of a food reduction now.

I like the idea of moving his +6 snack to +5 since he seems to nadir before the +6. That might help him too. Good luck with the curve today

Food adjustment is done Bobbie, will see what happens. In regards of food there will be a need for adjustment, yes.
Since switching to wet food and confinement to the inside of the appartment Big Brother is getting alarmingly big.
He's eating the same thing as Small Kitty and even less. As he's not fast enough he miss food portions his faster,
more hungry brother is taking.

Another thing to address at one time or another.
 
Sorry you haven't found the magical dose yet for SK but it will happen. He is certainly in need of an increase and hope it brings him down a bit. Good luck with the food experiment!
 
I saw that you have some tests using a human meter. Have you switched over from the AT? If so, I'd suggest putting in a very noticeable line on your SS that indicates you're now using a human meter. Most folks won't scroll over to see the note in the "Comments" section.

Hello Sienne, I've always been using the ATII with human strips so results are basically AT2 results. 2 Days ago I did a comparison with ATII strips and result is really AT2 like.
At high GL results it's the same. At lower there is a slight difference, 3% below.

My signature + SS title indicate AT2 meter testing. Some don't like this (AT2 with human strips), but this is the option I selected.
 
Start to think Small Kitty is not and will not go down. 7 days, this is no bounce anymore it's the way it is at 2.25. Yesterday beautiful +6 nadir is gone. He's now rising and will keep on rising from now. Time to go out take some sun, this is a lost cause. Will see how bad pmps will be. Guess the right dose will be 6U next fall or winter.
 
I know it's discouraging to see those kinds of numbers, Sebastien, but hang in there!! He's still on a relatively small dose and since you can't test during the day and have to sleep a certain amount at night due to health issues, you're doing the best you can and SK knows it! (and so do we!!)

It's Fathers Day here in the US, so sending some good old American "Happy Fathers Day" greetings!!

Remember, SK is more than just her numbers!! Spend some time playing with her and BB and just enjoying them being cats. Have you ever tried something called "Da Bird" as a play-toy? Most cats really like it...especially ones that have been outdoor hunters since it mimics chasing/flying prey.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I know it's discouraging to see those kinds of numbers, Sebastien, but hang in there!! He's still on a relatively small dose and since you can't test during the day and have to sleep a certain amount at night due to health issues, you're doing the best you can and SK knows it! (and so do we!!)

It's Fathers Day here in the US, so sending some good old American "Happy Fathers Day" greetings!!

Remember, SK is more than just her numbers!! Spend some time playing with her and BB and just enjoying them being cats. Have you ever tried something called "Da Bird" as a play-toy? Most cats really like it...especially ones that have been outdoor hunters since it mimics chasing/flying prey.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thanks for the words Christine. Each time I test the fun I used to have having cats is a cold shower. This pmps is
one of the worst for a while.

Anyways, they seems to be having fun doing nothing. Big Brother is a hunter and like toys, I have a small
bag at the end of what's like a bamboo fishing line, he likes it. Small Kitty has no reaction. Seems what he's
reacting on is food, at least there is something. He's also affectionate, for brief moments, when he has enough,
after 5 min. there he goes.

I'm very sorry to be so pessimistic. These last 3 months of poor results are just taking their tool on me. The curve week-ends
are the worst of all. Just a confirmation it seems to be worthless.

Let's hope the new 2.5 units and very low carb high proteine food will make a difference in a few days.
 
New increased dose + low carb food in action starting tonight. Not sure what ''old timers'' think
about that but Small Kitty has put me against the wall, I could not hold the dose any longer with these numbers So the 7 days 2.25u dose is now history, 2.50u taking it's place.

I also found new low carb high proteine, thanks to a Canadian Food list a member has put together. This
food has 2.0 carb and above 10% proteine. Hope this new team will make a difference. Will keep
monitoring.

Should I hope these change can make a difference ? Previous food was Fancy Feast Classic with somewhere around 4% carb.

Talking of monitoring, @Bobbie And Bubba , Ketone is negative, 1.3. Thanks for you gift,
let's say is a Father's Day gift, thanks. These Freestyle Nano Strips are way more practical then urine
collection :)

Good evening all, don’t let you discouraged by my mood.
 
Last edited:
I think it was fine to raise the dose. One observation regarding a food change -- some cats take a little while to settle in to a change in food. Don't panic if you don't see an immediate change in numbers. Cats are creatures of habit and don't always do well with change. The other side of this is that some cats actually do better on a food that's at the higher end of the low carb range. At this point, I'd encourage you to look at the food change as an experiment and keep an eye on what's going on.

 
I think it was fine to raise the dose. One observation regarding a food change -- some cats take a little while to settle in to a change in food. Don't panic if you don't see an immediate change in numbers. Cats are creatures of habit and don't always do well with change. The other side of this is that some cats actually do better on a food that's at the higher end of the low carb range. At this point, I'd encourage you to look at the food change as an experiment and keep an eye on what's going on.

I will Sienne (be careful about expectations). The preferable or not higher end of the low carb range (like Fancy Feast) is yet
to be know. At least they like it a lot. I once tried zero carb food for a week, Big Brother didn't eat it and Small Kitty did because
he's always hungry. The only thing I don't like about this new food is the fact that animal liver is the second ingredient after turkey.
Dr. Lisa said this is indication of bad food because liver doesn't cost anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top