? 06/19 Shmee AMPS 127, dosecrease, vet visit Thursday

Status
Not open for further replies.
I also just realized my vet visit (where he will need to fast for the bloodwork) is the 3rd day of his cycle. This is when he usually starts to show greens, so I am a little nervous about giving the shot in the morning. But I plan on giving him food until +5 so I think he should be fine? For now I can plan on a full shot, and then Thursday I can see what his AMPS is.

This is my schedule for the next few days:
06/19 PMPS @ 7pm
06/20 AMPS @ 6:45am / PMPS @ 6:30pm
06/21 = AMPS @ 6:15am, feed whatever he will eat until 11 am (hopefully two cans), fast until vet visit @ 5:20 pm, PMPS @ 6pm

Look ok?
@Janine & Floyd @Wendy&Neko

I am also still thinking about what I am going to tell my vet.. since she is very adamant about the 12 hour fast. She also said no shot in the morning since she thinks I am going to fast him for 12 hours. Should I just be honest and say I fed him and gave him his shot? Or just to appease her since we are already "on the rocks" maybe I should just say I did the full 12 hour fast with no shot. I will take any advice/suggestions, but Dr. Janine I am very curious of your opinion here.
 
I would tend to be honest with the vet. Especially, f you hope you can repair the relationship. My vet and I butted heads on a few things at the beginning of Neko's diabetes journey, but we sorted it out. I used the phrase "humour me" a lot. :p As a side note, whenever Neko had anesthesia, so could not eat, she typically got at least 1/2 dose.

I do like the increasing amount of blues the Shmee is showing. :cool:
 
I would tend to be honest with the vet. Especially, f you hope you can repair the relationship. My vet and I butted heads on a few things at the beginning of Neko's diabetes journey, but we sorted it out. I used the phrase "humour me" a lot. :p As a side note, whenever Neko had anesthesia, so could not eat, she typically got at least 1/2 dose.

I do like the increasing amount of blues the Shmee is showing. :cool:
Thanks Wendy, I will definitely have to keep that phrase in my mind on Thursday. I do not like confrontation and my vet is pretty set in her ways / kind of pushy and intense.. so I am curious to see how this goes.

As for his shot, I was hoping I didn't have to do a half dose since he is eating up until +5. We shall see what his numbers are around then but I will do what you all think is the safest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top