06/19 Baby G PMPS 382

babyg

Member Since 2019
Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-18-baby-g-6-143-7-127.264773/

She was on 3 units for 7 cycles before I dropped her down to 2.5 out of fear of the lower blues. Not sure if the high numbers today are due to a bounce or because the 2.5 just sucks or/and she's still dealing with pancreatitis (been finicky with eating yesterday and today; been giving her Gabapentin today). Spreadsheet is updated. Not sure what dose giving her tonight :confused:
Edited to add: I just talked with my brother who once had a diabetic dog (I know it's different from cats, but at least it's someone I can talk to in "real life" about diabetes, lol), and he thinks I overreacted to the 3 and that I should give the 3 again. Seems like previous responses on here from before also indicate I may have overreacted, too, and that the 3 was doing a decent job.
Edited again to add lol: okay, I did the 3. :nailbiting: Trying to face my fears if it's for her good. I may need some Advil, Coca Cola, and you guys tonight if she drops and I start freaking out again. :arghh: Praying she doesn't get too low. Thanks to everyone for their patience with me. I'm a worry-wart by nature and she is my baby! :cat:
 
Last edited:
RJ, you are not alone at being freaked out about diabetes management, it comes from a good place :bighug:
You will get used to and addicted to smaller values, just take your time to learn what works for Baby G in terms of carbs and you will know how to keep him safe, that is the most important.
Good luck:bighug:
 
Did you get any tests last night after you went backup to 3 units? Just checking in to see. Does she go to the vet today?
 
Did you get any tests last night after you went backup to 3 units? Just checking in to see. Does she go to the vet today?
Yes, she was all in the 300s last night according to the Libre sensor. Right now I checked and the sensor has her preshot as 360 and the ear poke has 282. She doesnt got to the vet today but I will be talking with the vet on the phone. She ate last night only with a lot of coaching from me and a lot of fortiflora. Not confident if she'll eat on her own when I go to work.
 
You think this lack of appetite is from pancreatitis? Have you ever tried Buprenorphine for pain. Treatment for panc includes sub-q fluids (at home), Cerenia, pain meds if there seems to be pain. If there's a real nausea issue then Zofran (ondansetron) a human anti nausea that is most effective in cats. I've had a lot of cats that won't eat without it.
 
What hour (after shot) do you have to leave for work? Speaking of leaving... I have to go take a cat to the vet in a few minutes for a biopsy :-(
 
Not sure. She'll eat treats and she'll eat food topped with fortiflora until the fortiflora is gone. She once had Cerenia in the past when she first had pancreatitis so I can ask the vet about that today.
 
Have to leave a little after the shot since I start work at 8.
Awww I hope the kitty will be ok!
 
Get home around 5, so + 10. Can take lunch whenever to check on her, but only have about 10 minutes I can actually be home on lunch due to the commute. I'm kind of feeling like maybe do the 2.5 or 2.75 at most until I can talk with vet and see how we can get her eating better?
 
She once had Cerenia in the past when she first had pancreatitis
Cerenia is, of course, used for vomiting, but also is regularly used in cats with pancreatitis. It seems to have an anti-inflammatory effect that is beneficial for pancreatitis. I do know people with cats that have chronic panc and they give it daily. It's be worth a try to keep some around and see if it helps BabyG. Unfortunately, they just sell it in those stupid little boxes with four tablets and it can be expensive. I buy mine from Chewy since it's less expensive. Allivet seems to frequently be the least expensive of all for a box of Cerenia. Just something to think about if you end up needing it more regularly. I'm really leaving now :-)
 
How is BabyG. I was trying to check her spreadsheet but it's not up to date. Maybe I missed the new thread. I'll go look.
Thank you for checking on us! I really appreciate that. I was so exhausted last night, but I just updated the spreadsheet now. She ate during the night and early morning so I was able to go to work today. Checked on her on lunch and saw she ate some more. Was trying to find a pet sitter to check on her for me, but barely anyone services my area. It's also been difficult getting her to take the Ondansetron. I've tried pill pockets, rubbing fortiflora or crushed Temptations on the pill pockets, putting a little margarine (don't have butter) on the pill...She is just too smart. I bought a pill gun and that helped a little but not as much as I'd have liked. Wish I could get this in a liquid form or crush up the pill but sounds like you can't. If anyone has any tips on how to get a cat to take meds, please feel free to share! I'll be searching around here on the forum too.
Her glucose is high again but that seems to be the pattern with the 3 units when I first go back on them: she's high for a few days and then boom, it drops her, so I'm nervously awaiting that.
 
If she only drops into the blue numbers on thos dose, that will be fine. Keep testing to make sure she’s okay - especially get a test tonight before you go to bed.
 
I’m sorry you are having trouble getting the Zofran into her. Cream cheese is a real mess, but it works for some cats. Liverwurst works for some cats. I usually just shoot it in with a piller and follow it up with treats. Some people slice a temptation treat open with a razor blade and stick a pill in there (a challenge.).
 
I'm checking in (again) and don't see numbers on your spreadsheet for today. :-( It's making me nervous.
I'm so sorry! I really don't mean to make anyone worry. That's so sweet of you to check on us. I just got home a little while ago and got the spreadsheet updated. Not that many scans from the sensor since I was zonked out last night and worked all day today, but from the graph I can tell she was pretty much in the 300s, maybe high 200s all night and today. I'm thinking that can change any day, though; last time, it was on cycle 7 that the shot kicked in, and tonight will make cycle 6 this time around.
She was more active last night, and when I came home on my lunch she actually was out and about in the house versus sleeping under the couch, so that's good. She ate okay today but I wonder how well she will eat without a heavy helping of Fortiflora on everything. She's also back to eating more of the dry than the wet, sadly; I offer her both and hope that she will eat the canned, but nope. I may try the Mirtazapine tomorrow morning; I held off on it until I could see how the Zofran worked first. I'll see how she does tonight with a little less Fortiflora. I don't think she's in any pain now so I haven't given the Gabapentin again, but then I know cats are really good at hiding symptoms so I'm trying to be watchful of that. Just don't want to drug her up unnecessarily.
 
I’m glad you are holding the 3 units right now. Clearly she needs this (and probably more but you have wait and see). Do you think the Ondansetron is helping? It’s good to hear that she’s acting like she’s feeling better!
 
Yes, I do think the ondansetron is helping. She just needs an energy booster lol. She's a lazy cat in general but she still seems more lethargic than usual.
I just scanned her and shes in the high 200s now, so maybe the 3 is finally kicking in. That's definitely a good thing, but omg if I see 100s tonight I don't know what I'm going to do tomorrow in regards to work. I've not let the 3 run past a cycle of 100s so it'd be scary to leave her and not know what another round after that would look like. I could check on her during my lunch, which should be her approximate nadir time, but that still makes me super nervous. Was hoping it'd kick in Friday night when it's the weekend and I could monitor the whole time, but today/tomorrow may be the day instead. Not sure how risky or not it would be for me to not be here.
 
High 200’s at what point in the cycle? It would be helpful to add tests to your subject bar and spreadsheet. All I see is the preshots. With only that info we can’t really advise you.
 
High 200’s at what point in the cycle? It would be helpful to add tests to your subject bar and spreadsheet. All I see is the preshots. With only that info we can’t really advise you.
On the “sensor” tab on the spreadsheet, there’s a bit more data, although I don’t think it’s all been filled in yet. I see no high 200s on it.
 
Ok I filled in spreadsheet but realized after I got off computer that the preshot numbers now this morning should be 282 ear poke and 241 sensor because decided to retest her this morning, so those would be the most updated amps, and I'll fix the spreadsheet later when I have time. So the 3 is starting to work but no 100s yet. Scared I'll get them today when I'm at work. It's now almost 7 CST. Thinking of taking lunch at +5 hrs to try to catch nadir since its typically 4-6. Just hope that's a safe plan?
Edited to add that she's always my top priority and even if it makes me on thin ice with my job or I lose it, I won't leave her if I'm truly putting her in danger. I have a second job and savings so i know we'd be ok. Just trying to of course avoid losing my primary job if i don't have to. But I'd rather lose that than her. Trying to balance everything out. It sucks being a single fur parent and going through this.
 
Last edited:
Ok I filled in spreadsheet but realized after I got off computer that the preshot numbers now this morning should be 282 ear poke and 241 sensor because decided to retest her this morning, so those would be the most updated amps, and I'll fix the spreadsheet later when I have time. So the 3 is starting to work but no 100s yet. Scared I'll get them today when I'm at work. It's now almost 7 CST. Thinking of taking lunch at +5 hrs to try to catch nadir since its typically 4-6. Just hope that's a safe plan?
Edited to add that she's always my top priority and even if it makes me on thin ice with my job or I lose it, I won't leave her if I'm truly putting her in danger. I have a second job and savings so i know we'd be ok. Just trying to of course avoid losing my primary job if i don't have to. But I'd rather lose that than her. Trying to balance everything out. It sucks being a single fur parent.
I think it’s an excellent idea to check her mid-cycle on your lunch hour. I think today she will be okay. You will be a lot less stressed if you check her as well.
 
Also, do you need to leave right away for work or can you check her BG at +1 or what? Can you leave food out for her to eat while you are at work? This can help stabilize her BG.
 
Is it normal for her ears and belly to feel cold? Unless she was lying on a floor vent, not sure. She ran under the couch when I came in. I can tell from libre graph that she dipped to maybe 180 but now shes 249 ear poke, 239 sensor. Didnt eat while gone but just ate some for me now.
 
What time zone are you in? I was trying to figure it out today. I looked at her libre spreadsheet around 1 o'clock or so my time (Eastern) and there was no data... I was hoping to catch something from your lunchtime check... then I thought you'd probably be too busy to input anything. Ears and belly cold? She really must have been lying on an air conditioning vent. It's good to know that she hit a blue number (good) and that she's safe. How long until shot time?
 
What time zone are you in? I was trying to figure it out today. I looked at her libre spreadsheet around 1 o'clock or so my time (Eastern) and there was no data... I was hoping to catch something from your lunchtime check... then I thought you'd probably be too busy to input anything. Ears and belly cold? She really must have been lying on an air conditioning vent. It's good to know that she hit a blue number (good) and that she's safe. How long until shot time?
We're in Central time, so that was about right. My commute is long enough that I unfortunately have only about ten minutes at home, so had to scramble to check her glucose and get her to eat before running back out the door. Doesn't seem like she ate too good today but maybe she'll make up for it in the hour we have left before shot time at 7. Her shot time used to be 6 and I eventually want to get it back to 6, but we got messed up over the past couple weeks so I've just been leaving it at 7 for now so she doesn't get moved back too quickly and make it count as a dose increase.
Also, she free feeds so food's always out, which helps make me feel a little better that if she felt "off" she may go correct that herself and eat.
 
We're in Central time, so that was about right. My commute is long enough that I unfortunately have only about ten minutes at home, so had to scramble to check her glucose and get her to eat before running back out the door. Doesn't seem like she ate too good today but maybe she'll make up for it in the hour we have left before shot time at 7. Her shot time used to be 6 and I eventually want to get it back to 6, but we got messed up over the past couple weeks so I've just been leaving it at 7 for now so she doesn't get moved back too quickly and make it count as a dose increase.
Also, she free feeds so food's always out, which helps make me feel a little better that if she felt "off" she may go correct that herself and eat.
But you are fasting her for the two hours prior to your reshot reading/test, right?
 
The problem with this is that you can’t know if the pre-shot number has been influenced (made higher) by her eating food. This is why there’s a “no food for two hours before preshot test” rule. It’s to make sure that it’s safe to shoot. If the number is higher because she’s been eating and you decide to shoot based on that number, it could be a problem. It could become a problem at lower numbers. I’m not sure if this problem can be worked out due to your work schedule. A timed feeder that gave her snacks at certain times is usually how most people who are not at home during the day work it out.
 
I can definitely withhold food for a couple hours in the morning for the AM shot. Did that this morning to see what result I'd get. The PM would be trickier. Probably the only way to resolve that would be an automatic feeder.
 
How is sweet BabyG doing?
She seems pretty good now, actually; sitting out in the open and looking more alert; not hiding. Ate decent. But her BGs have been high/mid 300s today. It's like her body won't let her fully settle into the blues where the 3 units want to take her. Still need to update her spreadsheet with everything; just super exhausted and need a few hours sleep now. I also talked again with the vet today and want to ask your guys' thoughts on some of the things she said. So once I'm a little more refreshed I'll get all of that going. :) So happy it's the weekend and I can now stay home and monitor her.
Also, this was funny. I was telling my sister about this site and shared the link with her so she could check it out, and as soon as she saw the cat in the logo she was like, "that looks just like her!" Lol. :D
 
Back
Top