06/19 amps +7 63.yoghurt given.help!!do i drop more than .5?

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120397

bloomin eck! I don't know what made me test half an hour early but hed gone to his food again even though hed eaten about an hour or so ago which I thought was odd. thank god I did!!

hes gone to 63.(alphatrak) ive just given him half a yoghurt that he loves.he just laps it up not having a clue of the panick mamabean is feeling!!

yet another dose drop of insulin.i just cannot believe whats happening! I feel like its happening too quick but I cant risk it! he bounces then comes STRAIGHT back down.its crazy!!

my hearts going ten to the dozen!
 
Re: 06/19 amps 347,+7 63.syrup given! eek!!

Yikes Bailey, time to come up a little please! :o :mrgreen: Good catch Anna, good thing you tested then. Congrats on the reduction, yet again. Something has sure turned in Bailey's world.

I'd test again a half hour after he lapped up that yoghurt. You want him above 68 and make sure he stays there.
 
Re: 06/19 amps 347,+7 63.syrup given! eek!!

yep I poopied myself.hahaha! ive just tested and he was 71 half an hour after and at 95 an hour after his yoghurt ! but then hes dropped again to 70 so given yog again as I don't want him going any lower.he must do it just to have yoghurt. he loves it!! ;-)

jeepers what a ride this is! you'll laugh.he emptied my knicker drawer cos he knows I shout.but he did it 3 times. it was like he was trying to get my attention. then went to his food............again! I knew something wasn't right.he drops so fast its scares me!!!
 
Re: 06/19 amps +7 63.yoghurt given.help!!do i drop more than

Woo Hoo! Whatever's going on with Bailey, it's working!!

I'd reduce the .5 tonight for his PM dose...You can always go up .25 if it ends up not being enough
 
Re: 06/19 amps +7 63.yoghurt given.help!!do i drop more than

il go down to 7 units in an hour (shot time) if his numbers are stable enough!

just got to get through a 7am-4pm with my usual lunch break tomorrow then im home and off for 8 days.thank goodness!! I think he'll bounce now so itll stop me worrying tomorrow. :roll:
 
Re: 06/19 amps +7 63.yoghurt given.help!!do i drop more than

If you are ever worried about him, it's OK to do a one time BCS (big chicken sh**) dose for one shot and then go back to the regular dose the cycle after that. With higher dose cats that are coming down the dosing scale fast, one technique is to do a 1/2 dose for one cycle to help drain the depot, then back your new 7U dose after that. Safety first! Bailey's still looking really good today. :-D
 
Re: 06/19 amps +7 63.yoghurt given.help!!do i drop more than

that made me laugh wendy.ha! im scared to do that too as I don't want to undo the work weve done.depot wise! I
m just a bit fat scardy cat! its what to do for the best isn't it.its been such a hard slog to this point!!! I may reduce the dose to 6 units which is still a BCS dose but not half.i went to 4.5 when he was at the vets but went into the black so don't really want to get to that but then I want him safe.
the difference in him is amazing!!!
 
Re: 06/19 amps +7 63.yoghurt given.help!!do i drop more than

ive given 6.75 as hes creeping up.i don't think im going to sleep well tonight and im up in 5 or so hours for work.i can catch up on my zzzz' when I get home. ive got a boy to keep safe!!
 
Re: 06/19 amps +7 63.yoghurt given.help!!do i drop more than

the trouble with only going down a little in dose if you're not going to be home, is that the depot with Lantus will continue to release insulin into his system. If you want to make sure the next cycle is safe, for example when you're leaving for work, you might need to do more than just a unit decrease for a big chicken shot. I know you don't want to lose momentum - i wouldn't either - but i just wouldn't count on going to 6u for a one time shot being enough.

i know sometimes you come home and check him during your work day, but if i remember right it's a long drive for you. You can always leave food out too. Sounds like Bailey knows when his blood sugar is getting low and he seeks out food. That's good.

It's so great to see Bailey in good numbers finally. It has been a long slog for you - you've done great Anna! Way to be persistent and check out all the things that might be going on.
 
Re: 06/19 amps +7 63.yoghurt given.help!!do i drop more than

oh - i realized i didn't answer your basic question. I would only decrease the regular dose by 0.5u as long as you can monitor.

It's if you can't monitor and he's low at preshot that i would consider a one time shot that's 1/2 the regular dose or so. That's up to you.
 
Re: 06/19 amps +7 63.yoghurt given.help!!do i drop more than

I knew he was in a bounce when I left for work and it its only a 10 min drive to work plus im home for 8 days after today.im also home today 3 hours after shot time so ive given a 6.75u and lets see how we go with that!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top