06/16/2020 - GIDEON BLUE - AMPS = 331

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
Well, we are in the pink this morning. I will be watching Gideon for any mid-day dips. His +3 BG = 390, so no dips thus far. Plan is to test +6 and +9 today. Have a great one!
 
Thanks Elise. So, if for 3 days he has no dips, are you suggesting we increase Lantus to 1.25 unit BID? Dips would be defined as below 100? I thought Lantus had to "pool" in the depot, and that could take 5-7 days. If I am increasing in 3 days, will the depot be not yet full?
 
You have a depot from the old dose so now the new dose will take up to six cycles to see what It can do. You want to see dips under 100. That is correct. If that happens you will hold for 8-10 cycles.
 
OK. So do you suggest an increase to 1.25 units BID tomorrow AM, or Thursday AM, provided there are no dips?
 
I’m thinking Thursday morning if you see some blues. You have had to go back down after him falling under 68 twice but then he goes right back up and stays there. It would be good for him not to get too low. See what others say. @Marje and Gracie @Wendy&Neko What do you think?
 
I would try to get some more night time data before increasing. I don't see any night time data the nights of the 13th and the 14th. Gideon has show himself very capable of starting and cycle in pink/red, diving down to green, then ending up back red or pink by preshot again. You need to hold the dose for six cycles, and we want to see a couple tests each of those cycles to make sure there you are catching the nadirs.
 
Thank you Wendy. We forgot a night test on the 14th, but I did just enter the 13th, which my husband did while I was working. Tonight he was the same as last night - 351.
So are you saying wake in the middle of the night to test? I work overnight tomorrow, and certainly can't have my husband do this.
Just want to confirm that a cycle is 12 hours, therefore two cycles per day. Each cycle would have a nadir.
I appreciate the guidance of all.
 
As for night time testing, no need to wake up in the middle of the night, unless for sure you think he's diving fast and low. If there is a big drop between PMPS and your +3 (before bed?) test, then a later test may be a good idea.

A cycle is the time between shots - typically 12 hours. Each cycle would have a nadir - it isn't always at the same time each cycle. Nadirs are much easier to figure out when then are in lower numbers overall. Currently Gideon just seems to be "high and flat". How is he acting/behaving these days?
 
Gideon is acting fine. His weight is stable, and he is active. He is a tripod so, I have to watch closely for neuropathy since his gait is not like a 4 legged cat. I did wake at 2AM and he was still high at 433, and this morning 451.
Yes, the +3 is at bedtime. So, if he continues the path he is going, should I increase to 1.25 units BID, starting tomorrow in the AM (Thursday)?
Should I make a new thread for today?
Thank you all that are helping my handsome fur man.
 
Back
Top