? 06/14 Lexi - SLGS protocol for reducing

Yvonne A

Member Since 2020
In the document on SLGS it says if the cat has a BG reading below 90 to reduce the dose immediately. I gave Lexi 1 unit this morning and so far 3 or her 4 measurements today have been below 90. Does this mean I should reduce her PM injection to .75u even though we just started doing 1 unit yesterday and skipped her PM shot because she had been low all day?
 
I think you reduce when they go below 90 on SLGS, so I think with your below 90 BG’s, you would reduce your dose by 0.25U at the next shot. and I think you also don’t give insulin if they’re below 150 at the pre-shot test either, unless you can stall without food, test again in 20 minutes and see if the number is rising enough before you decide to give insulin.
 
I think you reduce when they go below 90 on SLGS, so I think with your below 90 BG’s, you would reduce your dose by 0.25U at the next shot. and I think you also don’t give insulin if they’re below 150 at the pre-shot test either, unless you can stall without food, test again in 20 minutes and see if the number is rising enough before you decide to give insulin.
Thank you, I now see the part of the document that indicates not to give the shot if she is under 150. She hasn't been over 150 in the past 4 days so unlikely she will go that high at PMPS. So protocol says to skip shot if the numbers hold. Do you know if I would reduce the am shot to .75?
 
Thank you, I now see the part of the document that indicates not to give the shot if she is under 150. She hasn't been over 150 in the past 4 days so unlikely she will go that high at PMPS. So protocol says to skip shot if the numbers hold. Do you know if I would reduce the am shot to .75?
You’re welcome! Did you give a shot tonight? I would reduce the dose to 0.75 at your next shot time since Lexi has gone below 90. So if you’re skipping tonight, start the reduced dose of 0.75 at amps.
 
Last edited:
I know we all work towards shooting lower pre-shot numbers, and it looks like you’ve been shooting numbers below 150 so I think you’re okay to keep doing that if you’re comfortable to keep shooting those numbers, as long as you can stay up to test, have plenty of test strips and MC, HC food and karo syrup if necessary. If you skip PMPS tonight, I would get a test or two, maybe a +2 and +3 just to see what Lexi does without insulin. And then give the new reduced dose tomorrow at AMPS.
 
Hi. Even though she went under 90 she was getting a much higher dose of insulin than she needed. You have gone from 4 and 5 units to 1 unit although mostly 2.5. There was a large depot built up. Not shooting if under 150 is for when you first start. Once you have data that number is lowered. I’m not sure whether or not you should reduce again to .75 at this point given all the reductions that were taken. The no shot last night should have drained some of the depot. See what happens tonight and post in the morning for dosing advice.

Ordinarily we don’t take back to back reductions because the next few cycles are influenced by the depot. Once a dose is figured out you will decrease if you get a reading under 90 and then hold that dose for a week unless you get another reading under 90. Again you wouldn’t necessarily take back to back deductions so would post for dosing advice. Does this make sense?
 
Hi. Even though she went under 90 she was getting a much higher dose of insulin than she needed. You have gone from 4 and 5 units to 1 unit although mostly 2.5. There was a large depot built up. Not shooting if under 150 is for when you first start. Once you have data that number is lowered. I’m not sure whether or not you should reduce again to .75 at this point given all the reductions that were taken. The no shot last night should have drained some of the depot. See what happens tonight and post in the morning for dosing advice.

Ordinarily we don’t take back to back reductions because the next few cycles are influenced by the depot. Once a dose is figured out you will decrease if you get a reading under 90 and then hold that dose for a week unless you get another reading under 90. Again you wouldn’t necessarily take back to back deductions so would post for dosing advice. Does this make sense?
Oh my, so many things to consider. Lexi still has 45 minutes to go until it is time for her PM shot so I will see where she is then. Unfortunately I can't do much testing post shot tonight because we have an early doctor's appointment so need to head to bed in decent time. I'll update my spreadsheet and follow up tomorrow for further advise.
 
Thank you for jumping in @tiffmaxee!! We started with SLGS last year but weren’t on it too long before we switched over to TR so I’m glad you could offer better advice!!
 
Oh my, so many things to consider. Lexi still has 45 minutes to go until it is time for her PM shot so I will see where she is then. Unfortunately I can't do much testing post shot tonight because we have an early doctor's appointment so need to head to bed in decent time. I'll update my spreadsheet and follow up tomorrow for further advise.

It’s fine to skip tonight. Then you will likely be able to shoot in tge morning and chances are she will be high enough for you to shoot and leave without worry.
 
Thank you for jumping in @tiffmaxee!! We started with SLGS last year but weren’t on it too long before we switched over to TR so I’m glad you could offer better advice!!

You gave good advice. This one is a little complicated since the original dose was so high and Lexi has been on too much insulin most likely the whole time. Thank goodness her mother bean has been testing.
 
It’s fine to skip tonight. Then you will likely be able to shoot in tge morning and chances are she will be high enough for you to shoot and leave without worry.
@tiffmaxee She is at 126 at PMPS. Do you think I should skip her injection or give .5 units? I will be away in the morning for a few hours so perhaps skipping is best...
 
I think you could give .5. Will you be able to get a +3? If not and you feel more comfortable skipping you should. The dose in the morning since you need to leave would be either .5 or .75 depending on amps. Post if in doubt.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top