? 06/14 Lexi - AMPS 112 Shoot? How much?

Yvonne A

Member Since 2020
Good morning, after low numbers all day yesterday and skipping last night's shot Lexi was up a little bit this morning to 112 (6.2). Now am I not sure if I should skip her morning shot and monitor her through the day or give a small dose. I have not given her any food this morning yet. Perhaps 1u?
 
Okay - I don't want to get too off schedule so I am going to give her 1 unit this morning and see how she does.
 
Keep in mind that you don't adjust the Lantus dose based on the pre-shot number. Dosing is based on the nadir. Given that it sounds like there may be some dry food in Lexi's diet, you have to follow SLGS. With this method, you reduce the dose when numbers fall below 90. You've been missing reducing Lexi's dose on several occasions!

With Lantus, you typically don't want to give back-to-back reductions. It doesn't give the depot enough time to adjust to the new dose. If it were me, I would not have dropped the dose from 1.75u to 1.0u. However, now that you're there, you can stick with the dose and see how Lexi does. If the numbers are trending higher, please check in and see if it's ending us that the 1.0u is a failed reduction.
 
Keep in mind that you don't adjust the Lantus dose based on the pre-shot number. Dosing is based on the nadir. Given that it sounds like there may be some dry food in Lexi's diet, you have to follow SLGS. With this method, you reduce the dose when numbers fall below 90. You've been missing reducing Lexi's dose on several occasions!

With Lantus, you typically don't want to give back-to-back reductions. It doesn't give the depot enough time to adjust to the new dose. If it were me, I would not have dropped the dose from 1.75u to 1.0u. However, now that you're there, you can stick with the dose and see how Lexi does. If the numbers are trending higher, please check in and see if it's ending us that the 1.0u is a failed reduction.
Thanks for the help. I was following TR for the past couple of weeks not realizing that I can't do that if she has any dry food so I switched to SLGS on Bron's advise a few days ago. Now that she has had 2 days with 2x 1 unit and a skipped injection I will treat this as a new start on SLGS. I really appreciate everyone here - it can be quite stressful when you are a rookie.
 
It's very stressful! The amount of information can be overwhelming. The good news is that it becomes routine fairly quickly. We've all been in your shoes so we really do understand.

Please let us know if you have questions. The people here are very generous with their time and knowledge.
 
Back
Top