06/14 bailey uk pmps 175 +7 65! dose decrease??

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120272

I don't know what is going on with my iccle chap but its crazy.weve gone from being on 9u and being in the pinks to this! jeepers :-D

I lowered his dose a few days ago but at +7 early this morning (as u can see from the spreadsheet I haven't slept much) I tested and I had a 65 staring back at me (on an alphatrak) I also tested on the freestyle lite and it was 50. hes had yoghurt so il closely monitor now

hes doing great.it almost feels like my boys back.hes playful,eating and drinking normally.whatever has been holding him back and him being insulin resistant the last few months has obviously gone.all his test results have come back negative.hes been tested for EVERYTHING! all in all barr the diabetes my vet says hes a healthy cat barr his weight! how rude!! ;-)

il reduce dose to 7.5u at his next shot! its crazy that hes had to have yoghurt to bring his blood sugar up twice in a week.i haven't a clue whats going on.
 
Fabulous news! I'm so happy to hear that you've almost got your old boy back. :mrgreen: Congrats on the reduction. Go Bailey! cat_pet_icon Such a good boy making his momma happy.
 
hes a very good boy and im a happy mummy!

I don't know (nor does my vet) what has changed the last week and a bit but the difference in him is fantastic and its been consistant.
im very glad now hes going lower that I gained so much knowledge from you guys to be confident in dealing with his very lows and when to deal with them...if that makes sense!

the way he was 3 weeks ago I never in a million years thought id be reducing.i thought idve had to keep increasing,but once again my boy surprises me flip_cat
 
great news Anna! it's especially good to hear that he's feeling perky and lively again! it must be that he had some sort of infection and the antibiotics cleared it up.

it's great to see him doing better, and coming down the dosing scale. Also super that you got all the tests run so we could be sure it wasn't a high dose condition. that answered a lot of questions - thanks for being so thorough!
 
thanks Julie,is cost me thousands but I don't care.the ONLY test that hasn't been done is an MrI scan but its £1500 here which from what weve paid out if it needs to be done we'll do it,but from his results at the mo,we don't feel a need for that!!

its crazy! the vet said his bg could go lower so to keep track..............I think he forgets I told him about the dosing!! we'll see how we go.slow but steady!!! I think hes in a bounce at the mo.he cleared it in 12 hours 3 days ago so hopefully we'll be back on track soon.
thanks for all your help!!
 
i wouldn't pay for an MRI, not without some compelling reason, like if he had symptoms of something else. at this point you're treating his high blood sugar with insulin dose adjustments. i think that's a reasonable thing to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top