06/13 Kiki's Charlie PMPS~126 w/ food

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiki's Charlie

Member Since 2014
Charlie had 99 AMPS, I fed and tested again after 40 mins. She's only gone up to 117 now. Should I continue stalling (at what point does the whole schedule get too screwed up?) or should I just skip the shot this morning? What is the best option??

Advice appreciated!!

Kiki
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Hi Kiki. I can't give advice but I was trying to look at your ss. I don't understand the numbers as they aren't U.S. numbers. Are you going to be home and do you have supplies in case Charlie goes low? Ann should be up (of Ann and Tess) and might be able to advise you. While you are stalling you know not to feed, right?

Elise
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Hi Elise, the US numbers are in the second tab! I'm not feeding while stalling. Her numbers are slowly going up (after the morning feed). I just tested again and she was 131. Do you know at what point is it safe to shoot? I also don't want to wait too long now since it will screw up the whole schedule (I think?)
Kiki
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Okay, I just saw them.You are so new at this and have little data. I can't give dosing advice. I'm going to see if I PM Ann if she will take a look. Hang on.
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

It looks like the last dose is wearing off. I think I would shoot now.
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Hi Ann, so you recommend to skip the shot this morning??
Kiki
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Normally if we are going to stall we don't feed or we aren't sure if the rise is from food or insulin wearing off. It's now been 2 hours since food, right, and Kiki is still up, so I think its is safe to shoot. A late shot acts like a reduction, because it starts to drain the shed. You do have HC, strips and some honey or syrup?

BTW where are you?
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Hi Ann, thanks for the advice (I'm in the Netherlands!). By the way, I'm Kiki, my cat is called Charlie (and it's a she ; )
So since I stalled the shot 2 hrs now, what to do tonight? Shoot at usual time? (20.00)
Kiki
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

No, you will shoot 12 hours from the time you shot. You can gradually work the shot time back to your usual time by 15 per cycle. Or you can do it by 30 minutes once a day. If Charlie ( :oops: sorry about the name mixup) bounces from going low tomorrow it may even be possible to make up an hour. It depends on what the test shows.
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

I just looked at your SS, the 131 would be your preshot number. You can put the other 2 tests in the +11 box. Take a look at Tess's SS for 4-29-14 for an example of how to write it up. You will have to manually color the box.
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

It's been about 3 hours since you shot. Have you gotten another test?
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Thanks for checking! Yes, tested at +3, she had 67. Fed her usual 'lunch' and tested at +4 (just now) and he had 86. She's seems to be doing ok!
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Hi Ann, I don't know if you're still online? I tested again at +8 and she had 97. It's been quite an extreme day for her - she's never had such low numbers and for such a long time before. I'm getting a little nervous about the evening shot (not for another 2,5 hrs)... If she's still in such low numbers, should I repeat what I did this morning (which I think will take me all night...), or can I just skip a shot??
Kiki
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Hi, I'm back up! @-) It was a long night and I'm on the West Coast so we have a really big time difference, 15 hours. Get a test in at +11 and post again then. It will give us a better idea of where Charlie is headed and enough time to get a response and make a decision. So your shot time is 9:30? That would be 12:30 pm California time. I'll keep an eye out, but there should be sever others around that time of day too.

i think you just need to see where Charlie is at shot time. Look at the day before, she was 67 at nadir and bounced up to 407 at PMPS. You may see a bounce again, or maybe not. She is a cat! This cycle has actually been picture perfect for Lantus. Charlie dropped, but not too low and is gradually coming back up. Just because there was and extreme drop from a high number doesn't mean that there will be as much of a drop when you shoot a lower number w/ the same dose. As you shoot lower and lower numbers things level out more.
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

OK, thanks sounds good. Since I only gave her a shot at 10 am this morning (2 hrs later than normal), I was planning to give her a shot at 21.30 tonight (slowly turning the clock back to 8 which is the normal shoot time).
I'll test again in 1/2 hr, and keep you posted!
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Hi again, she had 104 at +11. What's best to do now? (She's eating at the moment)
Kiki
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Hi Kiki!

We prefer that they don't eat anything for the 2 hours prior to shot times so we know for sure that the pre-shot test isn't influenced by food, so after +10, you should try to not feed until it's time for the pre-shot test/feed/shoot time

That being said, it looks like Charlie is coming up, so as long as you have the supplies you need if she goes low again, I'd plan on shooting the scheduled dose on time, and then get a +1 and +2

Looks like this is a good dose for her! (and she may even earn a reduction if she keeps it up!)
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Thanks Chris
I was forced to feed since both her and her sister were tearing the house down... OK so I will shoot her regular 1,5 U and test again at +1. Fingers crossed (It just feels like these numbers are a bit too good to be true!)
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Good for you!

"Shoot low to stay low" is our motto around here!

You might try a little boiled chicken or freeze dried meat for those times when they HAVE to eat NOW...might tide them over until shot time without influencing the numbers much.

I have to run out to check on my mom, but I'll be back and check on you when I return, but I'm sure they'll be others around too if you need help.
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Sorry I got busy taking care of my crew. Good for you shooting blue. This is what learning to shoot low gives you , nice even curves. Be sure to get a +1 or +2 to see where she is headed. This gives advanced notice if they are starting to drop. Another test close to nadir is important too. I know it plays havoc w/ sleeping, but you can set an alarm if you need to go to bed.

Chris is right, since she had food at +11 we don't know if the preshot is food or insulin wearing off. You could also test and give a snack before +10, then you would have time for the food influence to abide before the preshot test.
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

Hi Ann, I actually tested her at +11. Since she only had 104 I decided to feed her (just slightly earlier than planned). The PMPS was 1/2 hr AFTER I fed her and then she had 126, which felt like a 'safer' number to shoot at. Was that good thinking?
Kiki
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

We really like to see a "clean" test un-influenced by food for the preshot. You want to see her numbers coming up w/ no food help when you shoot.

I only feed a little LC if Tess is below 50 at preshot. Then we wait for a couple of tests to see how she comes up. But we have been at this for a loooooooong time! :roll:
 
Re: 06/13 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall

By the way, we usually keep test results updated in the subject of the first post of the day. That way others scanning the list can see if someone needs help.

Go to you first post and in the subject box change "AMPS 99 Should I skip shot or stall?" to "PMPS~126 w/ food" and then keep adding test results as you get them. You'll get more and quicker replies.
 
Looking good Kiki!!

Got the food spike at +1 and the +2 is the same as the pre-shot, so you can expect a "normal" Lantus cycle tonight

I think you'll be fine to take a break (or a nap) for now and get at least one more test later in the cycle to see if you need to set an alarm for overnight tests
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top