06/13 Boomer AMPS 137 +3 117 +6 110 PMPS 108 +3 68, Baby Swan, please send poop vines for Allen

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 137 shooting 1.0u

Boomer ate well last night leaving, as usual, most of his +6. He still gets the extra food at +3.

Allen ate ok yesterday and eventually finished up most of his 3 food buffet. Last night he finished one of the dishes and ate a bit out of the other two. He has vomited this morning and is straining to poop (it's almost 4 days) and is leaving little drops of diarrhea every time he pushes. :oops: Hopefully there's something solid coming soon. Maintenance does of the cisapride will be 2 pills a day from now on.

We're expecting some nasty weather this afternoon; apparently there is a potential for some severe storms :nailbiting: I'm not a fan of storms so I think I'll go hide under the bed now. :rolleyes:

Today's wildlife photo is of one of the two baby Mute Swans, called Cygnets, that we found on the Avon River in Stratford on Monday.
 

Attachments

  • Cygnet 01.jpg
    Cygnet 01.jpg
    137 KB · Views: 138
I love how white the cygnet is against the water. I hope he doesn't become a victim to a snapping turtle! :nailbiting:

How long do you plan to wait before doing more for Allen? 4 days with no results isn't good.
 
I love how white the cygnet is against the water. I hope he doesn't become a victim to a snapping turtle! :nailbiting:

How long do you plan to wait before doing more for Allen? 4 days with no results isn't good.
Well historically when he vomits and then is dropping bits of diarrhea he has had a good poop. But it usually happens immediately and right now he's sitting there looking uncomfortable but not pushing. If he doesn't have a large poop soon we'll have to contact Dr Larry.
 
Well historically when he vomits and then is dropping bits of diarrhea he has had a good poop. But it usually happens immediately and right now he's sitting there looking uncomfortable but not pushing. If he doesn't have a large poop soon we'll have to contact Dr Larry.
Just discovered that we have some lactulose on hand so sent a message to Dr Larry telling him what's going on and asking if we should give the 3 cisapride today and lactulose.
 
Great pic..........I give Harley (other half of Davidson) 1/8 tsp twice a day, for over a year now as he's got an issue with pooping as well. He had an enema over a year ago and everything is fine, but for some reason the water doesn't get processed into his poop and the easiest, non-evasive way to help him was to give the lactalose or similar product that I use in Canada and it works great. There's no carbs in it so it's fine for FD cats. Hope you can clear it up, not fun not being able to poop!
 
Dr Larry indicated to not bother increasing the cisapride to 3 a day but to start lactulose 3ml 3 times per day.
So there's been no vomiting/pooping for about 2.5 hours. Allen did eat a wee bit earlier and just ate some more so we've given him his meds: cisapride, lactulose, diazoxide. Once we see a good poop I will find out from Dr Larry what a good maintenance dose for cisapride/lactulose is for him.
 
Judy, is it a matter of being constipated or can Allen not just move it out?

Olive isn't constipated, doesn't strain but it seems to be it just doesn't move out. She goes twice a day but will stand in box 3 minutes before it's out. My theory (with Olive) is since she reacts to back legs and tail being touched and occasionally has trouble getting a leg to move when walking it's the nerves. And she sits like a dog, on hip with back legs out. I know fd and read acro can have nerve interference, although Allen has neither can it be nerve problem? To keep Olive from straining because of heart I give 1 tsp pumpkin in her breakfast everyday. She goes twice a day,small but goes.
 
Judy, is it a matter of being constipated or can Allen not just move it out?

Olive isn't constipated, doesn't strain but it seems to be it just doesn't move out. She goes twice a day but will stand in box 3 minutes before it's out. My theory (with Olive) is since she reacts to back legs and tail being touched and occasionally has trouble getting a leg to move when walking it's the nerves. And she sits like a dog, on hip with back legs out. I know fd and read acro can have nerve interference, although Allen has neither can it be nerve problem? To keep Olive from straining because of heart I give 1 tsp pumpkin in her breakfast everyday. She goes twice a day,small but goes.
Ummm....I'm not sure? He does have hypercalcemia which can cause constipation. And he's had these issues for....about 1.5 years. But sometimes he does go every day. He also receives diazoxide (because of his pancreatic tumour...insulinoma) and this can cause various issues including constipation.
So I guess my response would be that I believe it's constipation and not the inability to push it out.
 
Ummm....I'm not sure? He does have hypercalcemia which can cause constipation. And he's had these issues for....about 1.5 years. But sometimes he does go every day. He also receives diazoxide (because of his pancreatic tumour...insulinoma) and this can cause various issues including constipation.
So I guess my response would be that I believe it's constipation and not the inability to push it out.

Have you tried Natural Moves that some people here use? Haven't tried it myself so no experience with it.
 
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 137 shooting 1.0u

Boomer ate well last night leaving, as usual, most of his +6. He still gets the extra food at +3.

Allen ate ok yesterday and eventually finished up most of his 3 food buffet. Last night he finished one of the dishes and ate a bit out of the other two. He has vomited this morning and is straining to poop (it's almost 4 days) and is leaving little drops of diarrhea every time he pushes. :oops: Hopefully there's something solid coming soon. Maintenance does of the cisapride will be 2 pills a day from now on.

We're expecting some nasty weather this afternoon; apparently there is a potential for some severe storms :nailbiting: I'm not a fan of storms so I think I'll go hide under the bed now. :rolleyes:

Today's wildlife photo is of one of the two baby Mute Swans, called Cygnets, that we found on the Avon River in Stratford on Monday.
Judy, what is wrong with Allen, that is what Sammie does, vet just told me to give him miralax, didn’t work, still does it
 
Judy, what is wrong with Allen, that is what Sammie does, vet just told me to give him miralax, didn’t work, still does it
Allen has hypercalcemia, hypoglycaemia caused by a tumour called an insulinoma on his pancreas, and stage 2 CKD.

I've given both my boys miralax for several years. It isn't enough now to help Allen and with miralax it draws water from the rest of the body into the colon, so it's actually not the best for CKD cats. So I don't want to give him more than he's already getting. I give a bit of pumpkin in every meal because I never know which meals Allen is going to eat. He's on cisapride (was 1 a day, now 2 a day) to help him poop. And diazoxide to help raise his BG that is way too low because of the insulinoma. The diazoxide can also constipate.
 
+6 110
Strange cycle for Boomer today. Hardly working the juice at all. Is it a sign of things to come AKA a pj party? Is it stress because of Allen? Or is it Boomer being a cat? sigh. :rolleyes:
 
+6 110
Strange cycle for Boomer today. Hardly working the juice at all. Is it a sign of things to come AKA a pj party? Is it stress because of Allen? Or is it Boomer being a cat? sigh. :rolleyes:
I think the first option is likely.. just look at 5/23 and 5/24 cycles. o_O However, it could be stress from Allen not feeling well... Rex is totally sympathetic when others are sick by having higher BG's.
 
Side Effects of Lactulose in Cats
  • Abdominal cramping. This is one of the more common side effects. ...
  • Flatulence. This is the other most common side effects of the medication. ...
  • Bloating. Another side effect that may occur in the beginning, but should go away with time.
  • Diarrhea. ...
  • Drooling. ...
  • Allergic.
 
Hi Judy. Boomer is looking good.

Swan photo is precious.

Sending poop vines for Allen. Since I started giving the boys the kefir, Bubba is pooping almost every day. And Forrest seems to be better too although he does most of his business outside. All I can go on is that he isn't vomiting and I don't see signs of diarrhea at the back end which is what would happen when he could not pass hard stools. Both of the boys love it!!!! I got the intro info from www.foodfurlife.com. It needs to be the plain unsweetened kefir. Studies show that it helps to bring down the fasting BG number also.
 
Side Effects of Lactulose in Cats
  • Abdominal cramping. This is one of the more common side effects. ...
  • Flatulence. This is the other most common side effects of the medication. ...
  • Bloating. Another side effect that may occur in the beginning, but should go away with time.
  • Diarrhea. ...
  • Drooling. ...
  • Allergic.
Thanks JoyBee! We have given it to him before with no side affects so hopefully it will be ok this time!
 
Hi Judy. Boomer is looking good.

Swan photo is precious.

Sending poop vines for Allen. Since I started giving the boys the kefir, Bubba is pooping almost every day. And Forrest seems to be better too although he does most of his business outside. All I can go on is that he isn't vomiting and I don't see signs of diarrhea at the back end which is what would happen when he could not pass hard stools. Both of the boys love it!!!! I got the intro info from www.foodfurlife.com. It needs to be the plain unsweetened kefir. Studies show that it helps to bring down the fasting BG number also.
Oh gee if it brings down BG I can't give it to hypoglycaemic Allen! :eek:
 
Hi Judy,
It does seem like things cancel other things out! Rusty is still getting about 1ml of lactulose twice a day (because of his anal surgery). I guess it works, but his poops don't look any different than they used to. He also gets a human pro-biotic. The brand I buy on Liz's recommendation (@Anne & Zener GA) is Renew Life Extra Care Ultimate Flora with 30 Billion live cultures). I give him 1/2 capsule a day, mixed into his food. He has firm poops every day.

Sending poop vines for Allen. Boomer looks good. Love the pic.
 
Judy, I don’t know much but I do know feline poop problems :woot: With Elmo we follow this poopy protocol: 2teaspoons pumpkin 2x a day ... if he gets plugged up then I start adding 1/8 teaspoon Natural Moves in with the pympkin( all of this has to be warmed and syringed cos Elmo is an old grump and won’t eat it :banghead:) In the past we have used pediatric suppositories and warm warm enema when all else fails . The few times we used the baby glycerin suppository just the act of sticking it up in him got his bowels to move . Don’t know if you’ve ever given an enema but it has to be done very carefully as to not puncture the intestine wall. May be better to let a vet do that . Hope some of this helps :bighug: I truly feel you and Allen’s pain:woot:;):bighug:❤️
 
Last edited:
Bronx has struggled with constipation and adding extra oils has helped out a lot. He is on lactulose & miralax too. Besides fish oil, I have added pumpkin seed oil, hemp seed oil & avocado oil to his diet and he is definitely pooping much better since I started these. Almost every day now, before the oils he was only pooping every 3 or 4 days on average. He loves the oils too and use them as an appy enticer, about a teaspoon of each in different meals throughout the day.

http://earspawstail.com/blog/43728023587/8-Plant-Based-Oils-That-Are-Good-For-Your-Dog-and-Cat

Sending poop vines for Allen :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top