06/13 Baby G PMPS 341

babyg

Member Since 2019
Hi, everyone,

First time posting in this forum so if I miss something/botch something up, let me know.
We've been doing Lantus 2.5 units twice a day now for a little over a week. Was looking to raise to 2.75 or 3 but one of the vets is recommending to hold 2.5 for a week until we get her pancreatitis better under control with Gabapentin and fortiflora. Her spreadsheet has TWO tabs; one with ear poke data and the other with Libre sensor data (the numbers can be different from each other, so that is why). Those of you with experience with pancreatitis, do you agree with the idea of giving her the 2.5 tonight until the pancreatitis is better, or would you recommend an increase?
Giving her shot in about 10 minutes. Would have written sooner but just got home; was at work all day and spoke with vet a little while ago.
Edited to add: I went ahead and gave the 2.5 out of caution. Ideally I'd have liked to have asked sooner so as to give people time to respond, so sorry about that! But I am still interested to hear your guys' thoughts for the next round!
Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Here is your thread from the main health page for continuity https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-and-1-2-or-3-units.264260/#post-2962755
I’m glad you made it over to the Lantus page!
Sorry no one was able to get to you before you gave the dose but I think you made the right decision. Looking at the sensor SS you are starting to see some blue BGs so I would stay with that dose for now unless the BG drops under 90
It’s great you are testing for ketones.
Happy to answer any questions you might have.
 
It’s been a week since the blue bg so unless you see more I would increase to 2.75 I guess tonight or whenever you shoot next.
 
This morning she was about 355 but didnt appear to be in any pain. I understand pancreatitis might shoot the numbers up but she looked and behaved pretty normal. Eating like a little piggy. If I raise her tonight (or maybe closer to the weekend when I an monitor better?), I'll see what an eyeballed 2.75 looks like as I'm used to raising in half units and having lines to go by. The brief time she was on the 3 we were starting to get into the blues and get beautiful numbers before she bounced and then got switched to 2.5. I think ultimately shes going to find her best dose at the 3, but only time will tell. :cat: The one vet doesnt think its realistic for diabetic cats to get into the 100s and shes perfectly fine with my cat being in low 200s, but I feel like that's settling, am I right?
 
Last edited:
You don’t want her to get used to high numbers. There’s no need to do TR but keeping her under renal threshold would be the next best thing.

Make a sample syringe of colored water and use it as a guide. I preferred using digital calipers.

Pancreatitis definitely can raise the BG but nit a reason not to raise the dose.
 
Since she has been somewhat consistently in the pinks (300s), sounds like I could potentially head straight for the 3? Back in 2019 when she first got diagnosed, we moved in half unit increments. I could have sworn we followed the same here back then unless I'm going crazy lol :joyful:. I think Bron said its always been the .25 though. The half units might have been an old method.
Ideally I'd like to wait til the weekend to up her but like you said, I worry about her staying in those high numbers longer than necessary. I could maybe come home and check her on my lunch. Seems like the dose doesnt really kick in until 4 or 5 days into it anyway.
I'll see what I decide on tonight! I appreciate you all helping me brainstorm.
 
With SLGS it’s always .25 increases and decreases. Did you do relaxed TR perhaps last go around? I think that’s what it was called. With TR you would increase in .50 increments if the nadirs are over 300. Yours are under that so it’s a .25 increase even with TR.
 
That may be it.
I hope no one will be mad, but I raised her to 3 tonight because I was messing with my syringe trying to figure out how I could reliably eyeball a 2.75 and there seemed to be no way. :banghead: I struggle as it is sometimes to 1) make sure to get out all bubbles and 2) get the plunger to match up with a line. Maybe it's because I use Walmart Relion syringes and they are not very well lubricated. Maybe I need to get better ones? They just dont seem well-suited to micro dosing.
But I'm kind of thinking I wish I could do the 2.75 because the 3 intimidates me. I'm already getting a nadir around 193 meter (176 sensor), and the dose is new. My brother thinks I'm just too used to seeing her in higher numbers and that may be true, but I'm concerned regardless, especially about leaving her to go to work. Would you all be happy with those numbers already or concerned, as well? Not sure if I should 1) continue with the 3 since I've started it already and the numbers are already a lot better, or 2) how can I reliably do the 2.75 if I need to drop down? Any tips on that would be appreciated because I really did try and didnt see a way to be consistent with it and consistency is important. I'll search around on the site for any tips, too. Gonna be up all night checking her as it is. :(
 
Sorry, I should have updated first. Her nadir is usually around the 4th hr. Not sure how long a nadir lasts but this dose is keeping her there for quite a while now. Going to do another ear prick since I trust that more than the sensor. Pretty sleep deprived over here and feeling nervous leaving her for work tomorrow. Wondering when it's going to go back up. I'm not used to blue numbers at all so I'm like :eek: lol.
 
It’s okay I just need to see the ss to comment. The nadir is the lowest point in a cycle. Flat cycles don’t really give one. Remember normal bg on a human meter is under 100 so when following SLGS, blue is your friend. With TR we like to see 50-100 or 120 ideally. So last night’s cycle was a really good one and don’t let those blues scare you. It would be good to get some mid cycles during the day when possible. You are seeing a bounce as he hasn’t seen blues for a long time. Reductions are if under 90 so you have taken some that were not earned. I also would consider lowering your no shot number to 150. I would have shot 185 orange at least given a token dose if you skipped because you couldn’t test. That’s more some more test between +4-7 will help you know how those numbers are nest handled when not home and you can leave out appropriate food.
Do you use an auto feeder?
 
So sounds like the 3 is giving out good numbers thus far and okay to maybe pursue after all? Looks like the 2.75 I gave her this morning produced similar results to the 3, so whatever you guys think is best. From what I can see on the Libre graph, looks like while I was gone there was some bouncing. She dropped low and then went back up. I can get more results from +4 - +7 tonight. I can get more daytime tests too once it's the weekend and I'm home. I dont have an auto feeder but she free feeds so theres always food available.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top