06/12 Tray's AMPS 371 +6=324 Advice Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Iorwen & Tray

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16913
Well at least it's not red. He doesn't seem to be in the mood for food though, only ate a few bites even after I put tuna juice on. :YMSIGH: It's going to be a long day I think. Wish me luck. Have a lovely Saturday everyone.
 
Re: 06/12 Tray's AMPS 371

Morning Tray hope your appetite improves Mama Bean says you are not eating much this morning lets come on down out of that pink into a nice sunny yellow for this Caturday
cat_pet_icon I know how you feel about the long day thing I have a feeling with Do Lou starting out so low its going to be like that at our house as well hang in there
 
Re: 06/12 Tray's AMPS 371

Hey there, come on down Tray!

Hope his appetite revives - hopefully, in a little bit he'll feel more hungry.

I know this is a stupid question - but is tuna juice just the water/juice from canned tuna? Any particular kind? I hate tuna, so I've never had it for myself, but I can see when I might need something to encourage eating...
 
Re: 06/12 Tray's AMPS 371

kryskat said:
Hey there, come on down Tray!

Hope his appetite revives - hopefully, in a little bit he'll feel more hungry.

I know this is a stupid question - but is tuna juice just the water/juice from canned tuna? Any particular kind? I hate tuna, so I've never had it for myself, but I can see when I might need something to encourage eating...

yes I buy tuna packed in water and pour the water from the can on the raw food. Sometimes he gets in these moods where he snubs his nose at the raw and that usually does the trick.

+3 and Tray is still in the pink 320. But he is eating now and he swiped his paw at his brother Percival, so all good signs he's feeling better. His eye has stopped running too. I still think he might be due for and increase in dose but I'll see how he does tonight before asking any dose advice.
 
Re: 06/12 Tray's AMPS 371

Cool - I just bought a couple of cans of tuna in water - just in case... thanks!
 
Re: 06/12 Tray's AMPS 371

Come on down, Tray. You looks so much better in blue (even yellow) than pink. And you have to get ready for the new moon party tonight. fll_moon
 
looks like Tray will be in the high pinks or even dreaded reds this PM, his #'s have been climbing for awhile now. Is it time to increase the dose back to 2.75? I've been thinking about it for awhile now and would like some feedback before I decide.

thanks in advance.
 
Iorwen & Tray said:
looks like Tray will be in the high pinks or even dreaded reds this PM, his #'s have been climbing for awhile now. Is it time to increase the dose back to 2.75? I've been thinking about it for awhile now and would like some feedback before I decide.

I agree with the dose increase. It looks like the last dose reduction failed, so the protocol would have you go back to the last good dose (but in this case, I would go up a full 0.25 instead of just the fat - that should help things get going faster). Add to that a possible infection and a diminished appetite, and you need to be sure he's getting enough insulin. Are you checking for ketones?
 
Hi Iorwen and Tray, We hope that the dosecrease will help tonight. Stu was in pink earlier today, too, and didn't feel like eating his food (only his treats!) I think that when the bg levels are high they just don't feel like eating their normal food.
Chef Stu is cooking pizzas and catfish at the new-moon party, so that should perk up Tray's appetite. Stu's looking forward to seeing him later.

Ella & Stu
 
Libby and Lucy said:
Iorwen & Tray said:
looks like Tray will be in the high pinks or even dreaded reds this PM, his #'s have been climbing for awhile now. Is it time to increase the dose back to 2.75? I've been thinking about it for awhile now and would like some feedback before I decide.

I agree with the dose increase. It looks like the last dose reduction failed, so the protocol would have you go back to the last good dose (but in this case, I would go up a full 0.25 instead of just the fat - that should help things get going faster). Add to that a possible infection and a diminished appetite, and you need to be sure he's getting enough insulin. Are you checking for ketones?

Funny you should ask, I just ran a ketone test, it was negative. I agree with you, I am going up the full .25 back to 2.75.
Thanks everyone. I have to go check on a wedding we're catering so my Dad will be giving the shot this evening. I'll let him know about the increase and hopefully I'll be home shortly afterward to check on my baby.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top