06/11 - Shen - AMPS 97, +2.25 48, +3 69, +5.25 86, PMPS 82, +2 109, +4 73, +6 73

Yes. Congrats! I don't envy you having to measure 0.1U. ;)
Ouch! :D

Do you have a magnifying glass you can use?
No magnifying glass but I think my phone camera’s zoom might be helpful enough.
I’m thinking I’ll find one syringe, check it for zero error, draw up whatever looks close to 0.1U on that (as per the image in the Syringe & Dosing sticky), mark that level with a permanent marker and save the syringe for comparison with all future doses.

I’m too much of a zombie in the morning to get into magnifying glasses and callipers :p But I might consider the extra effort if my doses are not consistent enough over the next few days :D
 
I’m too much of a zombie in the morning to get into magnifying glasses and callipers :p But I might consider the extra effort if my doses are not consistent enough over the next few days
Are you using callipers? I do, but I measure the AM dose with the PM dose and keep it in the fridge. It's a habit from when I used to shoot Bandit at 5am and wasn't awake enough to measure the dose in the morning. Prefilling syringes with insulin is not advised, but I've found no problem with filling it just before bed - in terms of the insulin degrading and losing efficacy.
 
Are you using callipers?

I'm not using callipers - I've yet to buy one. Hoping that I can manage with eye-balling the micro doses like I've been doing so far.
Would you suggest getting one? I have a few shortlisted on Amazon but hadn't got to purchasing them.

I do, but I measure the AM dose with the PM dose and keep it in the fridge. It's a habit from when I used to shoot Bandit at 5am and wasn't awake enough to measure the dose in the morning. Prefilling syringes with insulin is not advised, but I've found no problem with filling it just before bed - in terms of the insulin degrading and losing efficacy.

I'm afraid of keeping a syringe in our fridge - It's usually packed to capacity and sees a lot of action through the day, the poor syringe might get jostled and bent :D Or I may have to create a dedicated corner in the fridge for the syringes too.
But prefilling is a good idea for times when I might not be around at shot time and may need someone else at home to shoot the insulin.
Do you put the cap back on the syringe after filling it?
 
I don't envy you having to measure 0.1U. ;)
I see now what you meant. I think I'll end up wasting more insulin on this dose than I have on the others :D

I'm going to stick with this level of insulin for the 0.1U dose. I hope I can be consistent.

0.1u insulin.jpg



Don't bother. Paws crossed than Shen won't need insulin for very much longer.
I hope so too! ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ


The cap on the needle, right? Yes. But not the large cap on the other end (plunger).
Yes, I meant the cap on the needle. Would be funny if I pre-filled a syringe and capped the plunger too. :D
 

Attachments

  • 0.1u insulin.jpg
    0.1u insulin.jpg
    30.2 KB · Views: 96
What you might want to try, is draw up to 0.5u, which is the small half line, then what I do is open the fridge, and use the fridge light as a backdrop when I am doing the squeezing out of drops to get to my in between dose. Slowly and lightly twist the syringe until you get to 0.25u, then slowly twist out another drop (or two). Then call that 0.1u. I find that helps to see what is left just between what would be in your case between 0.25u and zero.
 
What you might want to try, is draw up to 0.5u, which is the small half line, then what I do is open the fridge, and use the fridge light as a backdrop when I am doing the squeezing out of drops to get to my in between dose. Slowly and lightly twist the syringe until you get to 0.25u, then slowly twist out another drop (or two). Then call that 0.1u. I find that helps to see what is left just between what would be in your case between 0.25u and zero.

Thanks for the tip Christie! I’ve been doing something similar (minus the fridge as a backlight) but I struggle with forming drops of the same size - sometimes I form 2, sometimes 3 after the approximate 0.25u mark. I stop twisting when I see just some light under the zero mark line.
Guess I need to keep practising :)
 
Back
Top