06/11 Martini AMPS 227 +2 267

Status
Not open for further replies.

SMM

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/can-someone-pls-look-at-my-spreadsheet.179081/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/can-someone-pls-look-at-my-spreadsheet.179081/
We or rather I had a wild ride last nite. I should not have been so frightened and I know now not to be unless she goes lower than she did (famous last words!). Thank you again to all who helped me last nite. Her ears are sore I know even with the Gold Polysporin.
Today she didn't eat much, hid and has not peed since sometime yesterday. This has me worried now.
I shot 1.25 (or as near as I could without a 'real' marker) as advised last nite as 227 was below 300 and will check later.
Does anyone have any further advice/info/explanations for me?

Many thanks!!!
 
Hi! It looks like it will be a quiet day so you won't need to poke Martini as much. Try and get a mid cycle to see where she's at.
 
I'm not sure about peeing. Is she drinking?

You may want to add the date on your condos so it's easy to tell which day it is. :)
 
She was drinking quite a bit yesterday, but nothing today.
I will look at other condos to see how it's done. Learning all the time....
 
The date just goes on the condo title line, before "Martini".

I might be hiding too if I had been poked 7 times in a row. Although Yum might not have minded---if she got a freeze dried treat after each poke.
If they don't drink, they don't pee. We had to move out for 3 days once for foundation work---my 3 cats at the time did not eat, drink, pee or poop for 3 days.
I hope that's her problem and nothing worse.

I bought calipers. They are a bit pointy and sharp. I scratch a target dose mark on the syringe with the calipers, to improve my chances of drawing the right amount.
 
Ok, thank you MJW! I've read that going over 24 hours can be dangerous but your 3 give me wonderful otherwise! :)
 
Well, 3 days isn't good. My vet was about to call it an emergency, but we moved back home just in time. They were younger then too. Hmmm. Martini is 15. I wouldn't panic until she hit 24 hours. She's not straining or anything is she? She's probably just upset.
 
She hasn't gone down since +2, will try once more at +9. Stuck!

No, she's not straining and is not even interested in drinking.
 
+9 hours and she is 20.4 over 360, one of her highest numbers ever. I'm thinking I should remain on 1.25 for a few cycles, is this correct? Is this a rebound from the lower dose? Is this a normal occurence in some kitties?
Thank you in advance (still no peeing)
 
She's bouncing from the green numbers last night. Stay on this dose for at least 6 cycles. Some cats take 6 cycles to clear a bounce. But you are SLGS, so you have to stay on this dose for 7 days unless Martini goes under 99 then you take a 0.25 unit reduction.
 
So this is completely normal yes? Please say yes! :) I will stay on this dose for the next week. (I just don't like seeing pink #'s :eek: )

By less than 99, are you referring to nadir or simply random testing?
 
If someone can please answer the last question about 99 and give some details regarding this, I absolutely promise! not to be such a paranoid PITA and will try to manage by myself.
I have learned so much this weekend and hope to continue gathering knowledge.
Thank you!
 
I'm sorry. I meant 90. 90 refers to any test you do. It's in the SLGS sticky. Read that again when you get a chance.

Bouncing is normal! You just need to be patient and wait it out. :bighug:
 
Got in a bit of a tizzle before reading and following stickies, will follow again tho, thank you so much MJW and Rex ;) (and Mandy!)
 
It is really overwhelming at first. A diagnosis of diabetes leads to sleep deprivation and emotional distress. No matter how many times I read the stickys, I still needed people to tell me what to do. I took notes on what to do for Yum's first drop towards a hypo, but I was so panic stricken I needed people on the forum to step me through it. The second one too! I am so grateful to all those here who have helped me support Yum on her sugar dance.
 
You are another angel to care MJW! Yes, it is overwhelming and sorry but some stickies steered me wrong or maybe it was just my interpretation of them. I've got tons of notes too and hopefully will be AOK next time there is a 'crisis'. I am grateful for all the support, my vet told me 2 weeks ago to just give her 2 units every day period. Nothing more.
I gave her tuna water and Yes, I'm happy! She has peed a good un! :) Thank you so much for asking!
 
I hope you did something fun for you today. That bounce gave you a permission slip to enjoy yourself.

Keep asking questions as they arise. We all remember how overwhelming it felt at first and how grateful we were that complete strangers over the internet cared enough to help. Just paying it back.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top