06/11 Jerry AMPS 102 +2 93 +8 84 PMPS 112 ? what to do while I'm away

Jerry dutchboy

Member Since 2019
yesterday

Nice start to the day.

Ok guys, I have a question (@Marje and Gracie if you are around). I'm going away from tomorrow afternoon until Sunday afternoon and I wonder if it would be alright for Jerry to be without insulin and tests. My DH has tried to learn how to test but he is finding it very difficult. He is ok with giving the shots but I'm really not comfortable with giving insulin without knowing his BG's.

Any input would be welcome, I think that Jerry's numbers have been reasonably stable and I would rather him run a little high that to risk a low while I'm away.

Thanks,
 
I don't think it's a good idea for your DH to give insulin without being able to test. I think it's okay for Jerry to get no insulin while you are gone. It's better to be safe.
 
Thank you all. Just wanted to put it out there to verify what I was thinking. Jerry is a very cooperative cat with me but when my DH tries to test Jerry just thinks he's getting head rubs and will not keep his head still. It made me laugh out loud this morning.. DH was getting very frustrated so it was a comedy of errors. I had to take over and as soon as I did the cat sat like a statue for me lmao.:D
 
Last edited:
Thank you all. Just wanted to put it out there to verify what I was thinking. Jerry is a very cooperative cat with me but when my DH tries to test Jerry just thinks he's getting head rubs and will not keep his head still. It made me laugh out loud this morning.. DH was getting very frustrated so it was a comedy of errors. I had to take over and as soon as I did the cat sat like a statute for me lmao.:D
So funny
 
Would it help if he burritoed him? If he doesn’t give insulin, it’s not the end of the world because he looks pretty good although, honestly, I’d increase his dose to 0.1u if it were me when you get back.

Is it best for Jerry to withhold insulin? No but if your husband can’t test, it’s safest. My only question would be what would you do if Jerry’s BG wasn’t this good? Would hubby have to figure it out then because if Jerry’s numbers were higher, I certainly wouldn’t suggest omitting insulin for that long. Just something to think about.

Have a great trip!!!
 
Thanks Marje, I really appreciate you checking in with me as I know that you have family matters to attend to so thank you.

No, the burrito method would absolutely freak Jerry out (they use this method at the vet and the poor cat is a mess for hours after). I think that he would have more problems getting any testing or shots done afterwards if he did this. We'll continue to try to get him up to speed and see if we can make it work. I'm just nervous that if he manages to get a test, gives insulin and then can't get another test in things could go haywire and that could be a worse situation. I don't want anyone to think that the hubby is useless, he's not and has been trying very hard as he knows its very important for Jerry and wants me to be able to go away to my niece's wedding in Spain without having to worry, but its not working out well. It's my fault as I sort of took charge (it's how I approach things in general) since Jerry was diagnosed and have handled it all myself.

I know that this is far from ideal and I would much rather keep things going as they are but unfortunately I really don't have many options at this point and I hate to possibly set Jerry back. If his numbers were not like they are I have no idea what I would do to be perfectly honest I may have just cancelled my trip.

You mention that you think I should increase his dose to 0.1 is that because his AM and PM's are in the blue. I'm not really sure what/where his numbers should be and thought they were looking ok. I'd be grateful for your insight on this when you have time. I hate to intrude on you right now.
 
Thanks Marje, I really appreciate you checking in with me as I know that you have family matters to attend to so thank you.

No, the burrito method would absolutely freak Jerry out (they use this method at the vet and the poor cat is a mess for hours after). I think that he would have more problems getting any testing or shots done afterwards if he did this. We'll continue to try to get him up to speed and see if we can make it work. I'm just nervous that if he manages to get a test, gives insulin and then can't get another test in things could go haywire and that could be a worse situation. I don't want anyone to think that the hubby is useless, he's not and has been trying very hard as he knows its very important for Jerry and wants me to be able to go away to my niece's wedding in Spain without having to worry, but its not working out well. It's my fault as I sort of took charge (it's how I approach things in general) since Jerry was diagnosed and have handled it all myself.

I know that this is far from ideal and I would much rather keep things going as they are but unfortunately I really don't have many options at this point and I hate to possibly set Jerry back. If his numbers were not like they are I have no idea what I would do to be perfectly honest I may have just cancelled my trip.

You mention that you think I should increase his dose to 0.1 is that because his AM and PM's are in the blue. I'm not really sure what/where his numbers should be and thought they were looking ok. I'd be grateful for your insight on this when you have time. I hate to intrude on you right now.
Then you are spot on and you should go to your niece’s wedding and have fun. It’s no fun to be worrying and for your DH and Jerry to be stressed while you are gone. Is he able to test urine ketones?

I see more blue and less green on his SS. However, I remember that he’s on SLGS so I was premature in suggesting an increase. We will leave him here and see how he does.

Have a wonderful trip!
 
Back
Top