06/11 Eddie AMPS 347 +8 387 PMPS 481 +8 409

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Good morning,

Here is yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-10-eddie-amps-331-8-358-pmps-383-8-380.291000/

It's now 8:30 AM: Gave Open Farm salmon mixed with Weruva Press Your Lunch and water & Eddie more or less ate on his own. Gave Buprenorphine @ 500 am followed by Ondansetron. Gave Mirtazapine @ 7:15am and food/insulin @ 8:15. Maybe this is the formula for success for the time being. :cat:

Having major disruptions here yesterday and today: the roof is being replaced so really noisy. I had to turn them away this morning at 7:45 because I knew Eddie and everyone would be distressed at the unfamiliar noise.
 
You asked about dose last night. 8 units was seeing at least some blues, even if higher ones. However, that was with so little mid cycle testing that it's hard to tell.
 
You asked about dose last night. 8 units was seeing at least some blues, even if higher ones. However, that was with so little mid cycle testing that it's hard to tell.

Well, I've done some mid-cycles now that he's semi-recovered and I guess going to 8u all of a sudden would be too much because I have to work tomorrow. I also guess going to 6u is better than nothing?
 
No, I would do 8. But you hold the syringe and have to be comfortable with what you shoot.
 
Anyway, the long and short of it: I got home, tested Eddie @AM +8 and went to give him a snack. He started gagging and then was pawing at his mouth. He was also kind of tilting his head to the left. I thought maybe he had an infection so, guess what, I took him to the clinic because all the regular vets were closing. They determined he has stitches far back enough that they are landing about where he swallows and so he gags. His gums and dental work looked good so all we did was give him Buprenorphine. Vet says even TiD while he's healing. But anyway come home and his BG is ferociously high. I think he thought I was leaving him there and he got really stressed when they were looking into his mouth. So, home again, home again, with an increase to 6u. I didn't get @Wendy&Neko message until I gave him insulin so I guess we're stuck with 6u for six cycles? UNLESS I can increase at least to 7u in the morning? Oh, boy...

All of this on top of the fact one of my students today had a some kind of dissociative episode in class today and didn't know where she was. She thought she was in a cafe. I had to call security and then the ambulance to get her to hospital. Everything seems quite chaotic.
 
Go ahead and increase to 7 if you want to tomorrow. Pretend tonight was a "partial fur shot".

I hope those stitches start dissolving soon - poor kitty.
 
Back
Top