? 06/11 Eddie AMPS 104 +4 164 +7 94 PMPS 67 +2 137 +4.5 126 +7.5 65 Headed for no shot this AM?

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Hello,
Here is yesterday:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-10-eddie-amps-275-5-268-pmps-124-8-94.278439/

Firstly, his AMPS is 104. I was able to get him to eat a little LC with sardine water but then had to syringe feed him to ensure he had enough food to take a shot. I gave him 10u instead of 10.5u. I guess this is more SRT action. I'm thinking though his teeth might be involved (?). I don't know but I do know he is not really a good candidate for anesthesia...
 
Last edited:
Did you ever discuss pulse antibiotics with the vet for his teeth?
 
Last edited:
Emailed with Eddie's IM vet who wrote back to say:

Unless dehydration, constipation or unable to urinate, no need for emergency as long as is he is interactive. At the clinic he will be admitted and put on IV fluids.

If not eating, but not hypoglycemic, then wait today to see what happens.

If not picking up then he needs labwork to get an idea what may be going on. Make an appointment at regular vet if that happens.

If worrisome in your “gut” then go to emergency.
 
I’m just waiting on the IM vet to let me know if I can bring Eddie to his clinic tomorrow for a blood panel. I can’t get a referral to the dental specialist until that is done and I can’t get any antibiotics until Eddie is seen by a vet. So many obstacles.

I just tested Eddie AM + 4 164 (some of that is syringed food driven) but I also just got him to eat a large teaspoon of LC (ok, so I dribbled a few drops of gravy on it)
 
Here we are at AM +7 94. While Eddie showed up on the test mat and took a piece of pill pocket readily, he did not want a snack. I then turned it into a slushy and gave him 12ml by syringe.

This is so weird!! Not wanting to eat and being in the green zone...

In a further email exchange with the IM vet I asked about giving Eddie some Gabapentin just to take the edge off if the problem is teeth-related. He agreed and I gave Eddie a 50mg capsule (which he took in a pill pocket, go figure) left over from a prescription he had awhile ago.

I'm still on the lookout for a vet appointment. The clinic where the IM vet works from has cut specialist hours from two days/week to one day, Tuesdays leading to a further decline of I.M. medicine in the Okanagan (where we have one I.M. vet for the whole region).

I guess I'll be syringe-feeding again tonight unless he decides to eat on his own. I don't know how to read this unless he has a dental problem that is really interfering with eating on his own. He takes the syringes pretty well, growling but not trying really to get away.

We'll see what happens tonight and for sure tomorrow I'll be all over getting him an appointment.

Has anyone ever seen anything like this?
 
Here we are at AM +7 94. While Eddie showed up on the test mat and took a piece of pill pocket readily, he did not want a snack. I then turned it into a slushy and gave him 12ml by syringe.

This is so weird!! Not wanting to eat and being in the green zone...

In a further email exchange with the IM vet I asked about giving Eddie some Gabapentin just to take the edge off if the problem is teeth-related. He agreed and I gave Eddie a 50mg capsule (which he took in a pill pocket, go figure) left over from a prescription he had awhile ago.

I'm still on the lookout for a vet appointment. The clinic where the IM vet works from has cut specialist hours from two days/week to one day, Tuesdays leading to a further decline of I.M. medicine in the Okanagan (where we have one I.M. vet for the whole region).

I guess I'll be syringe-feeding again tonight unless he decides to eat on his own. I don't know how to read this unless he has a dental problem that is really interfering with eating on his own. He takes the syringes pretty well, growling but not trying really to get away.
Jodey don't forget to fill in how many units you gave Eddie this morning on your SS :cat:
oh thanks, Diane!!
 
Has anyone ever seen anything like this?
Some possibilities that come to mind are pancreatitis, some GI condition, his heart. The first two need blood tests. Have you ever done a RR or resting respiratory rate for Eddie? When he's relaxed or resting, count the complete number of in and out breaths per minute. I'm thinking not heart due to his numbers, but worth ruling out.

Some kidney kitties cannot get anaesthesia (nor could Neko) and any dental issues can be treated with periodic dosing of antibiotics to take down the inflammation. You don't want to leave bad teeth untreated as the infection can go elsewhere.

If you ever have a moment, it's helpful to fill in the Labs tab with his latest blood work. That way you can see trends. I do one now for the non diabetics too.
 
Some possibilities that come to mind are pancreatitis, some GI condition, his heart. The first two need blood tests. Have you ever done a RR or resting respiratory rate for Eddie? When he's relaxed or resting, count the complete number of in and out breaths per minute. I'm thinking not heart due to his numbers, but worth ruling out.

Some kidney kitties cannot get anaesthesia (nor could Neko) and any dental issues can be treated with periodic dosing of antibiotics to take down the inflammation. You don't want to leave bad teeth untreated as the infection can go elsewhere.

If you ever have a moment, it's helpful to fill in the Labs tab with his latest blood work. That way you can see trends. I do one now for the non diabetics too.

Ok, well, I just did a RR rate: 17 in breaths/minute, so that's pretty good. I suppose pancreatitis might be the case, which definitely means he needs to go to clinic as soon as possible. He seems a little easier after having had the Gabapentin.

I'm hoping to get the blood work done tomorrow but if tonight things don't look good, I will take him to emerg clinic. Why does this always happen on a Sunday?
 
Why does this always happen on a Sunday?
Rule of cat. :cat: My cystitis prone kitty always had his episodes on Sunday.:rolleyes: Those were an emergency. If you can continue to syringe food, you are probably OK to wait until tomorrow.

17 is a great RR, even a bit on the low side. Neko ran lower too. P'titis is painful, so good call on the gabapentin. As much fluids as you can get in him too, ondansetron if you have it.
 
Rule of cat. :cat: My cystitis prone kitty always had his episodes on Sunday.:rolleyes: Those were an emergency. If you can continue to syringe food, you are probably OK to wait until tomorrow.

17 is a great RR, even a bit on the low side. Neko ran lower too. P'titis is painful, so good call on the gabapentin. As much fluids as you can get in him too, ondansetron if you have it.
I don’t have Ondansetron but I do have Cerenia. It’s just about time for him to eat but I suspect I’ll be syringing. I hate doing that to him. I’ll pick up on the fluids too.
 
I like to keep ondansetron in my kitty meds drawer. Better for nausea than Cerenia, though Cerenia better for vomit.
 
Well, I didn’t think he would but Eddie ate a whole bowl of food. I was surprise at his PMPS but. again, I wasn't if I look at today's trend. I've given him a good portion of HC along with his LC and reduced his insulin to 9u. Gave him some s. boullardi, too. I will be monitoring him for sure. Will test again in a short while.

Earlier I gave him a Gabapentin and that seemed to take the edge off. I just gave him his other medications, which he took without a problem and included a Cerenia (anti-nausea, just in case). It's wild because I was already packing up his stuff to go to emergency because I was beginning to suspect pancreatitis…

Now all I have to do is keep a sharp eye on him. I was really relieved when I called him and Blue to test and he came on his own without being forced and sat on the test mat quite patiently.

I wonder if this whole event is related to the workings of SRT as this all seems quite dramatic. We are 7 months out from his procedure.

If anyone has any thoughts, please do share. I try not to but I may have missed something.
 
Last edited:
Jodey that is such great news about Blue , I'm so happy for both of you.!
Aww what a good boy that he came on his own to be tested,
You're a good boy to Blue :cat::bighug:
 
When is the next test?

I wouldn’t wait too long. Even though he ate well, you don’t know whether that PMPS of 67 (still using AT, I assume) was a rising or dropping number, so I’d do extra tests tonight…
 
PM +4.5 126. Gave some LC + some gravy. He ate some on his own but then I syringed about 8 ml of the rest.

@Wendy&Neko it looks like he's on his way down, still. I'll be testing again at PM +6 or +6.5
 
I don't know about y'all but it sure looks like Eddie is heading for no insulin this morning??? All of his numbers are supported with HC, especially the latter ones. I even gave a little karo with this last test (PM 7.5) with his food (he's eaten food each test) because he's that close to the edge.
 
Back
Top