Yes, Lantus insulin. I use a Contour One Next monitor. I am in Canada so I am converting my numbers to the US format.Hi Yvonne and welcome to you and Lexi to the fdmb. She is gorgeous!
Sorry no-one responded earlier.
Are you using Lantus insulin and what type of glucose meter are you using?
Thanks for pointing me to this information.There's a lot of good info here:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/
Will you be awake to test her a few times?
Yes - I have a can of Friskies in the cupboard. I can give her a bit of that now.You will need to test her up until nadir...the lowest point in the cycle to see she doesn't drop too low.
Do you have some higher carb food that you give her now...about a teaspoon of it to bring the BG up a bit.
You don't have much leeway at the moment.
I would get a +2 and post the number and I will watch for it.
Let me know if you have some food to feed her now. If you don't have any higher carb food, give her some normal food now.
Do you have some honey if needed for low numbers?
Is the Friskies higher carb?Yes - I have a can of Friskies in the cupboard. I can give her a bit of that now.
Thanks for posting. I'm glad she has come up a bit.+2 reading was 98.
I measure her glucose at 0,3,6,9 and 12. Her nadirs come pretty consistently at the +6 point and the PMPS.
I will continue to monitor her through the night.
The Friskies has some rice in it so it is got some carbs in it. I also gave her 5 temptation treats that have corn and rice in them.
I do have honey to use if she gets too low during the night.
Thank you so much for all the information and I will setup my signature with the information.
We had a rocky start. I started her at 2 per the vet's recommendation. She didn't respond much at all to 2 so he said it was okay to go to 3 or 4. Her numbers were still quite high - usually in the 300 range so he said it was okay to take her to 5. I started to do my own research and found a few sites, including your site with information on treating diabetic cats. After reading some of the materials I figured I was likely over dosing her and went back to 2.0. I had her on 2 units for 4 days. She had a couple of nadirs in that time that were around 85 but highs were still between 230 and 360. I did not have needles with .5 markings but I did my best to estimate a 2.5 unit dose. She was on that for 7 days. During that time she had daily nadirs that ranged from 65 to 130. Daily highs ranged from 200 - 335. I then increased her dose to 2.75 - that is where she has been for the last 2 days.2.75 units is quite a high dose for only a month. What dose did she start on and how did you increase?
I'm not being critical...just trying to gather facts![]()
I would give her a small snack and test +4+3 = 93.
Most cats start out on 1 unit of Lantus. The dose needs to be held for 7 days for the depot to fill. Then if the nadirs are too high you can increase by 0.25 units. Then depending on what method you are following, the dose is held for 3 days or 7 days.We had a rocky start. I started her at 2 per the vet's recommendation. She didn't respond much at all to 2 so he said it was okay to go to 3 or 4. Her numbers were still quite high - usually in the 300 range so he said it was okay to take her to 5. I started to do my own research and found a few sites, including your site with information on treating diabetic cats. After reading some of the materials I figured I was likely over dosing her and went back to 2.0. I had her on 2 units for 4 days. She had a couple of nadirs in that time that were around 85 but highs were still between 230 and 360. I did not have needles with .5 markings but I did my best to estimate a 2.5 unit dose. She was on that for 7 days. During that time she had daily nadirs that ranged from 65 to 130. Daily highs ranged from 200 - 335. I then increased her dose to 2.75 - that is where she has been for the last 2 days.
Yesterday's numbers: AMPS 276, +3 65, +6 89, +9 133, PMPS 127 | Today's numbers AMPS 179, +3 69, +6 99, +9 117, PMPS 68.
I was trying to follow the protocol outlined on this page: http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
Perhaps I have increased her dose too quickly?

Thanks so much! I am feeling so much better now that we are on the right track. I will start a new thread daily as required and thanks for the tips. I am so happy to have found this forum. So much great information and help.Hi again!
It works better if you post a new thread every day. People notice the new threads more. Put a link to the previous day in your thread, so people can check what was happening if they need to.
Big voice: DO NOT feel bad for getting off to the wrong start. Two weeks isn't really long when it comes to controlling this disease. You did the best you could, and you searched the web for more info.
Right now she's doing really, really well! I'm excited that she's drinking and peeing less! She dropped down to 50 at +3 so you might get a +2 test tomorrow. You're doing a lot of tests and that's awesome.
Bron is an expert and help you decide if this is the right dose.
Here are a few tips about the message board.
You can put ? at the beginning of a post, if you have a question. For a real emergency (like hypo / possible hypo) you can put 911. These are on a pull down menu that says "no prefix."
You can tag someone by putting @ in front of their user name. Some people are set up to get an alert when that happens, so they know you need their help.
And of course you can PM someone by clicking on their user name.
I'm going to tag @Bron and Sheba (GA) because she was helping you, and because Lexi went down to 50. That's borderline hypo. Do you have a "hypo tool box" ready?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
Pat yourself on the back for helping Lexi so much. She's been all greens and blues the past 2 days, that's exciting!![]()