06/08 Juno AMBG 68: OTJ trial day 10

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tininha & Juno

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119938

Hello everyone!

Four more days left!!!!!!!! WhoHoo!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

You have helped my baby and myself so much. Thank you so much! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Enjoy your Sunday!
Cristina
 
What a nice start today for Juno. Happy Day 10!
flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
You go, Juno!!! An inspiration to me and my Ms. Polly. (and that inspiration keeps us plugging along through the roller coaster of goofy BG numbers.)

:RAHCAT We're cheering you on from here.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Carla, Chris and Marilyn: Thanks so much for the support and for stopping by :-D.

Marilyn: I was reading so much research on Feline Diabetes that I had a tiny bit of hope that I could get Juno's diabetes into remission if I'd followed the tight regulation protocol followed by FDMB. That's what I've done and almost ignored Juno's vet recommendation of 2u of insulin twice a day :o. Some people couldn't believe I was following recommendations of a forum instead of my veterinarian, but what people are recommending at this board is based on scientific experiments on diabetic kitties which have shown to be very successful cases. The chances of getting Juno into remission were quite high, as much as 81% given that he was on Levemir. His diabetes is not on remission yet, but I'm feeling very positive that it will be very soon. So there's also lot's of hope for Ms. Polly :-D.
 
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif


Congrats on Day 10!

ps - i'm with you on the TR protocol - i don't know what basis is otherwise used for dosing decisions, but this one works. I wish "Tight Regulation" didn't sound so daunting to new people. When I started there was just the "Lantus" support group, no "relaxed" lantus. Who wouldn't choose "relaxed" over "tight reg" if they didn't know enough to realize TR was the best chance for their cat to go OTJ?​
 
Thanks for visiting Marikko and Julie! I love those little Woot!! guys :-D :-D :-D.

Julie, that's so true. I had dosing recommendations from 2 vets, one of them is a big friend of mine and part of my family. One told me to shoot twice a day 2u and testing one hour after each shot. The other one advised me to shoot only once a day and had no clue that Levemir could be given to cats... He was also very surprised when I told him I was home testing... The goal would be to have BG levels lower than the 250 because of possible renal failure.

I'm not a veterinarian, but I knew that their dosing recommendations were more like trials or guesses, nothing scientifically based, and I felt I had to do my own research. Then, I found FDMB and read what was the protocol being followed. I have the published papers about the TR protocol saved on my desktop so that I could easily check if I could shoot or every time I was unsure about which dose to give to Juno. From my own experience, I'd say that most vets (at least in small European countries) have no clue about the TR protocol which has been published on scientific journals and it has been so far very successful. I'd also say that living in the US or Canada also makes a big difference.
 
I love double digits days in a trial! Almost there. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: bcatrun_gif

Not so certain things are better in Canada. We were prescribed Caninslun at first and that's very common here. A locum vet switched us to Lantus. I did surprise my vet when we switched to Levemir without consulting her. Thank goodness we can just buy it without prescription here. To her benefit, I liked the way she did dosing on Caninsulin, it was just not a good insulin for Neko.
 
The same in Portugal, Wendy. Caninsulin is the insulin prescribed by most vets either to dogs or cats. It's a very small country and vets have much more experience in treating dogs. They also have not seen that many cases of feline diabetes in their clinics. I'm very happy that the Danish vet prescribed a very good insulin to Juno. So far it has done a very good job :-D.

OTJ trial day 11 accomplished :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:.
 
Moving right along here! Happy day 10, Juno! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

My previous diabetic cat, Stu, was way overdosed on Lantus by his vet, who didn't realize how much differently it had to be dosed from his previous insulin (which was discontinued). In all fairness to vets, FD is not something that they spend much time on in vet school. Thank goodness for FDMB!

Party day is approaching,

Ella & Rusty
 
Happy 10th day, Cristina and Juno
Big congratulations and fingers and paws crossed :-D
It would be so great with another kitty otj.
I meant to check in earlier (I have been keeping an eye on the board) but we have just been so much on Holiday :cool: Mentally and physically.
He is so miffed at me right now for taking him away from it all :lol: and back to the Apartment.
Great that you found a vet that was willing to prescribe him levemir and we've got FDMB and tight regulation. Seriously, why don't vets aim for the chance at remission? :?
 
Thanks a lot Ella and Helle!
Helle, it's great for our mind and body to be relaxed. I hope to be very soon on holidays too. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top