06/08 Cheekyface AMPS 421, PMPS 560, +3~347

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lesley & Cheekyface

Member Since 2011
She wriggled this morning, I think the shot was good.

Another chilly winter day here in Adelaide and both furries now asleep on their respective chairs.

Me to work soon. Bugger.
 
Re: 08/06 Cheekyface AMPS 421

hi Lesley

that sucks, hopefully you'll have a smooth shift.
come on down Cheekyface cat_pet_icon

have a good morning!!
 
Re: 06/08 Cheekyface AMPS 421, PMPS 560? gimme a break!

I know someone has mentioned this before, and sorry, if I don't have time to follow every post, so pardon me for saying what others I'm sure have said already, but can't you get some spot checks during the night? I set alarms. I don't always wake up from them :roll: mind you.
If you had more spot checks or mid-night mid-cycle tests, then it would be easier to help you with your dosing.

I hope you have a good night. Sweet dreams, and all that.
 
Re: 06/08 Cheekyface AMPS 421, PMPS 560? gimme a break!

Hi Dyana,

I don't remember anyone saying anything about through-the-night checks, but that doesn't mean they haven't. I'm not thinking too clearly right now.

There's a 3-day weekend coming up for us here and I will be doing extra checks and a curve.

I have to say, though, that I'm not comfortable adjusting dose amounts, particularly upwards, without my vet's input. Cheeky is still very new and still regulating, and now today I have an ill geriatric cat in the house as well so things are getting a bit much for me at the moment. It's probably affecting her too.

I'll do my best to get some extra tests in and thank you for the continuing support and encouragement.

xo
 
Re: 06/08 Cheekyface AMPS 421, PMPS 560? gimme a break!

Morning and welcome, as I don't think I've visited your condo before, or if I did, I've forgotten (sleepy)! The fur shots happen to all of us. I hope Cheekyface comes down today. I had to look twice when you mentioned wintry weather, and I see you are in Australia, so you are starting winter and us summer. Are your winters mild, hopefully? Have a nice day and hope work goes by quickly.
 
Re: 06/08 Cheekyface AMPS 421, PMPS 560? gimme a break!

Lesley --

You have to do what's comfortable for you. My vet pretty much let's me handle Gabby's dosing on my own. She knows that I follow the Rand/Queensland protocol and that I understand what I'm doing. She's my partner in this adventure. I tend to think this is the case for many of the people here. If you and your vet are using the Queensland protocol, I doubt you want to be checking in with your vet every 3 days or so about a dose change. Maybe your vet is different in this regard.

That said, Dyana is right -- having a spot check or two during the PM cycle will be helpful. At the minimum, if you can get a check in before you go to bed each night, you'll help to flesh out Cheeky's numbers. Remember, Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot test values. It's likely that Cheeky needs a dose increase. However, without some mid-cycle tests, there's no way to know if numbers are dropping in the middle of the cycle and the high pre-shots are reflecting a bounce off of those low numbers.
 
hi lesley! you've got your plate full it seems! why don't you check with your vet and ask about dose changes of .25 or so as you see cheekyface's numbers changing. i can't remember if you've given the vet a copy of the protocol we use, but that would be a great conversation starter.

the reason we adjust so frequently is that the goal is to keep the cat's BG under the threshold where organ damage begins, which is around 230-250, i believe. when you test at home you can see what's going on and keep your kitty safe. if the dose is too much it becomes obvious and we drop the dose. people who advise on dose have been doing this 24/7 for years, so have a lot of experience and take the safest course for every cat.

perhaps if you had the conversation with the vet that would let you feel a little more comfy about adjusting.

in the meantime, have a great day - and well wishes to your geriatric kitty!

edited to add: you know, one possibility might be for you to email your spreadsheet link to your vet and set up an arrangement where you let the vet know you're thinking of adjusting and then your vet takes a look at the spreadsheet. might be an easy way to get the vet's input while still letting you make adjustments without an appointment. just a thought.
 
Hi guys .. you got some good advice here about setting alarms for night time spot checks .. when we were doing that, we had to set an alarm up across the room as when ours by our heads would go off, we'd reach over and turn them off and go back to sleep ohmygod_smile we always got up for the one across the room ... well ... almost always :oops:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top