06/08 Boomer PMPS 270, +2 275 +4 178

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Good morning! Thank you everyone for your help last night! Boomer starting the day at 167 which isn't bad considering the carbs I was putting into him a few hours ago!
No shot for Boomer this morning I'll just let that depot drain a little. I think we are going to go to the workshop I talked about last night so we will be away for a while today. As long as Boomer is in no danger of course!

Please let me know what you think I should be shooting tonight.
 
Re: 06/08 Boomer AMBG 167

WOW...what a night - you were really thrown into the fire and did a great job! I totally agree with skipping to drain that depot, plus you'll be able to enjoy your workshop without worrying about him.

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 06/08 Boomer AMBG 167

I was watching your crazy ride last night. I wouldn't shoot either. Have fun today.
 
Re: 06/08 Boomer AMBG 167 +7 218

what do you think about decreasing his dose by 0.5u, instead of the typical 0.25u? that would make his new dose 0.75u. It might be too much of a reduction, but you can always go back up if he trends upwards with his BGs.

i've never seen a cat stay low for so long each time he goes below 50. most of the time it's an hour or so of carbing, maybe 2 hours with most cats. we're hoping that the larger decrease will be enough to let you give him shots of the same dose for longer than 3 cycles.

the thought is occurring to me that since that has been his pattern consistently, let's watch this time and if he looks to be heading down coming into the 4th shot, perhaps we should stray off the protocol and decrease him in advance so you're not having 8 hrs at a time of carb-poke-carb-poking. i don't know if that's a good idea or not, but i'm thinking out loud. let's see what happens in that 3rd cycle.

if you want to not risk losing momentum, the protocol would have his dose reduce by 0.25u. You can choose to go with that, or see what happens if you want to reduce by the 0.5u instead.

What do you think you'd like to do?
 
Re: 06/08 Boomer AMBG 167 +7 218

You and Julie did a great job last night.

I agree with Julie that, normally, the numbers from last night would constitute a 0.25u reduction. But you were fighting low numbers for several hours with heavy guns. Because we'd also like to see you get to a point again where you can shoot safe, lower numbers, I also agree that reducing by 0.5u for now and letting the depot drain a bit more is wise. You can always go back up if the need arises.

I also hope you realize that last night was something that doesn't happen a lot in LL from members shooting green numbers above 50. Boomer was not dropping. He had nadired in the 70s, come up, and his PMPS looked like a second dip, common to Lantus.

I hope you got enough rest to be able to enjoy your day.
 
Re: 06/08 Boomer AMBG 167 +7 218

Thank you again for your help last night! We got something less than 4 hours sleep but yes we carried on and went to the Bird of Prey photography day and it was wonderful; glad I made myself go...and the rain held off for long enough to get about 135 shots of 7 birds! And now I just woke up from a lovely 2 hour nap lol

So back to Boomer....yes I believe I feel safe shooting .75. And Julie....your suggestion about watching this 3 shot cycle he seems to be on and reducing the dose ahead of time is something I was thinking about early yesterday. But I think you suggested reducing the fourth shot; it's the fourth shot that is missed because he's low so I think I would be looking at reducing the third shot in order to try to avoid having to skip the fourth shot?
 
Re: 06/08 Boomer AMBG 167 +7 218

we're talking about the same thing - he's able to get 3 shots at a given dose and then the 4th one comes in low and you've been skipping. so let's look before that 4th shot time and see if maybe even a token dose at that time would make sense.

oh - wait - i do see what you mean. reducing the 3rd shot rather than waiting for the 4th. well, let's see what happens and decide as we go.
 
Re: 06/08 Boomer PMPS 270

Good luck with the new dose cat_pet_icon

When you get around to it, maybe you could take some photography of Boomer and share some pictures of him :cool:
 
Re: 06/08 Boomer PMPS 270

For sure Dyana!


Boomer's story: Boomer showed up at our back door about 7 years ago. He was around 8 or 9 months old at the time. We had four cats at that time and really didn't think we needed another one! But he had other ideas. We thought it was a female and started calling her Baby. Eventually we thought Baby would have a litter under our deck so we took Baby to the vet to be spayed. Surprise....baby was a neutered male. So he had humans in his life at one point....I figured that someone had moved and left him behind. So he got his shots and came home and became part of our family. He had already been introduced to the other cats and they all seemed fine with each other. And his name became Baby Boomer.....Boomer for short!
 

Attachments

  • 20130106_34c resized.jpg
    20130106_34c resized.jpg
    35.1 KB · Views: 279
  • 20130106_37 Resized.jpg
    20130106_37 Resized.jpg
    62.5 KB · Views: 282
Re: 06/08 Boomer PMPS 270, +2 275

Thank you :cool: He is a handsome boy.
You are so fortunate that he just got along with all your cats.
 
Re: 06/08 Boomer PMPS 270, +2 275

oh i love his cute little face! he looks a lot like my daughter's cat.

great story! i think cats know which houses have good people! Boomer scored with you.
 
He's a good boy. cat_pet_icon

He's down to 178 at +4. And despite my 2 hour nap this afternoon I am exhausted. Good night everyone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top