? 06/07 Jack AMPS 72, +6 22, +6.5 55” Advice on Dose Schedule in 1 Hour

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jack the Cat

Member Since 2019
Ok it's been a rough day for Jack the Cat. I've been reading through a lot of information, but the JAAHA. ORG Diabetes Management Hypoglycemia flow chart is telling me to not dose insulin until Jack's numbers get up to 250+. But other documents say don't change insulin dosage without consulting the vet.

So now I don't know what to do...withhold the insulin based on his numbers today? Reduce to 1 unit. Withhold food? High carb food for his pm feeding or his low carb food for pm feeding?

Any advice is most appreciated...it's been a stressful day.
 
Last edited:
Ok it's been a rough day for Jack the Cat. I've been reading through a lot of information, but the JAAHA. ORG Diabetes Management Hypoglycemia flow chart is telling me to not dose insulin until Jack's numbers get up to 250+. But other documents say don't change insulin dosage without consulting the vet.

So now I don't know what to do...withhold the insulin based on his numbers today? Reduce to 1 unit. Withhold food? High carb food for his pm feeding or his low carb food for pm feeding?

Any advice is most appreciated...it's been a stressful day.
Please put a ? In front of your thread this will draw more eyes. Go to your thread select edit and where it says "no prefix" click and you'll get a drop down box. Select ?.
 
@carfurby could you possibly help here? I don't have enough experience to help Jack the Cat. If you can't could you advise who to ask. I'm just afraid this will be missed.

Jack the Cat, sorry to bombard you. I know you've had a stressful day and it probably feels overwhelming but I'm trying to draw attention to this. You may also want to cross post this to the Lantus board. Going forward post to the lantus board for dosing questions etc. Main health is good for general questions about other things. Hang in there you'll get the hang of it. This really is a fab community, don't let me in my inept way to scare you off.
 
Thank you. I would never know how to forward something, but you are correct I should post on both. Taking a deep breath...
 
Thank you. I would never know how to forward something, but you are correct I should post on both. Taking a deep breath...
It will get easier believe me. Its always hard when you start out. I count my lucky stars the day I started here. There really is a wealth of knowledge. I hope carfurby is online. If not I'll see if I can get someone else to help. Have you decided whether you want to go with TR or SLGS method ?
 
Sorry, TR is tight regulstion and SLGS is Start low go slow. These are method used here. You can read about them on the lantus board Sticky The Basics:New to the group? Start here. It is important to choose one or the other (you can always change later) and follow that approach. It depends on which as to when you increase or decrease dose.
I would suggest that you read up on it and make a decision. That way you will know what you need to do in case someone is not online to help.
 
Am I reading right that you got a 22 reading today? Glad he’s ok! Did he have any symptoms? Please do post on the Lantus forum. Jack has earned an automatic dose decrease. They are best to help you determine how much to give. When is your PM shot due?
 
Thank you. I would never know how to forward something, but you are correct I should post on both. Taking a deep breath...
Go ahead and post to the Lantus board. I would copy and paste your post to the lantus board so as to possibly get more eyes on it. Lantus users usually just go there and are not the main health forum.
 
Hi there, so you got a 22 at +6 today. Jack just earned a reduction. That is amazing that he had no symptoms other than being quiet. Please reduce the dose to 1.75 tonight. He is all ready on the rise ( bouncing ) from being so low. But, please get a +1 test in after you shoot 1.75 units.

ETA: And please post over in Lantus with the +1 number.
 
Last edited:
I've posted on Lantus. In general on days, like this do you still feed, or withhold?
You would feed until he gets up over 50. He's in a nice safe number now. I would test again at PMPS since it's an hour away and as long as he is up over 150, I would give the reduced dose of 1.75. If you have any questions or concerns please post over in Lantus and put a ? mark in your title to get more eyes on it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top