06/05 Ducia AMPS 345, +3 240, +5 216, +8 170, +10.5 116; PMPS 90, +1 98, +2 100, +6.5 269, +10 219

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Happy Monday all,

This Am is the 3rd cycle on the increased dose and I hope that this Pink AMPS is the NDW and Ducia will return to the acceptable levels soon.

:banghead::mad::banghead::cat:

:coffee::cat:

Wishing everyone best Monday ever!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I think it's my fault-- I made a comment this morning about how, well, even though she's bouncing, at least she doesn't go to pinks all that often! :banghead:

Come back down, Ducia! I promise I won't say it again!
 
Hi Nan,
nope, Ducia just likes to bounce:mad:. Her liver is the biggest saboteur here and I have no idea still how to convince it to quit its outdated ridiculous panic attacks :blackeye:.

It is only 3rd cycle since the increase and my new pair of patience pants will hold for at least two more cycles.

She sees Greens not consistently :( but often enough. It makes me think that my current vile of insulin is still OK. Would you agree?

There are no floaties, or fogginess in the vile however here are some of the atrocities committed against it:
kept in the refrigerator door for about 2 months - check;
stubborn bean here at home keeps automatically pushing the fluid back in to the vile if drawn too much - check;
this vile was taken out of refrigerator for a prolong period of time for vet visits - check;
and it was left once at a clinic overnight - no one knows what abuses it suffered over there - check.

How does one know for sure it is time for a new vile? Except visual inspection on the vile? Last 4 PM cycles are totally motionless...:confused:

The reason to question insulin quality: 5 long almost entirely Yellow numbers beginning on 6/1 PM made me feel that the insulin looses its strength... just a feeling nothing logical/evident/rational to support it. It's been a while (a short while but still) since Ducia spent so many cycle in high numbers consistently. I got spoiled fast and grew used to nice numbers.
Come back down, Ducia! I promise I won't say it again!

You are VERY WELCOME to say whatever you feel like in her condo any day!!!:bighug::bighug:
Besides I know - she just likes giving me hard time :joyful:
 
It seems to be her bouncing style sometimes that on the 2nd cycle after a green she goes pink for a reading before she starts to come down again. On June 1st she had a drop of 181 points from the AM 246 to +3 of 65 and she did the same thing.

The bounce from 6.4 the number differential was only 49 points from AM to +2 and 91 points from +3 to +8 when she hit the 72 @ +8 so, I think it it's just when she hits greens her body sometimes freaks. Why doesn't it happen all the time? I guess on some subsequent cycles to absorption is different.

You could experiment with a bit more LC at the +1, +2 + 3 to see if it helps her. She is just not revealing a pattern to me. Maybe someone else will be able to see it.

When is her very last feeding of the cycle?

Her supper of 2.5 tsp is around +8 - +8.5; if it 2 tsp then a 0.5 tsp sometimes added around +9.5.

I copy/paste Bobbie's reply from yesterday post and linked it here - I hope it's how its done...:confused::oops:
 
Her supper of 2.5 tsp is around +8 - +8.5; if it 2 tsp then a 0.5 tsp sometimes added around +9.5.

I copy/paste Bobbie's reply from yesterday post and linked it here - I hope it's how its done...:confused::oops:
Oops, I didn't realize I was on yesterday's post. And, yes you did it right :)

Well, she is starting to come down again. :cat:
 
Oops, I didn't realize I was on yesterday's post.
Oops, I just posted there myself by mistake :oops::p:rolleyes:

Here is what I posted there:

You could experiment with a bit more LC at the +1, +2 + 3 to see if it helps her.
Bobbie And Bubba said:

AMPS 345 :eek::mad: :

- 3 tsp LC,
+1 - 2tsp,
+2 - 2 tsp,
+3 240

- hundred points down despite all of the food. ?!

Here is where I am getting confused: 240 @+3 is still 100 points down but it took her 3 hours to get there. If she had something like AMPS 345, +1 305, +2 285, +3 240 - wouldn't it be a nice gradual lowering? And no bounce in sight? Or because the difference between the AMPS and the +3 is over 100p it is still a bounce-provoking drop?:confused::confused::confused:

I hope the question makes sense...

If it still is a bounce-provoking drop - what is the best strategy to overcome this bouncing (or is it gl toxicity?:confused:)?

Totally confused here.:confused::blackeye:
 
The bouncing is a separate thing from the glucose toxicity. The GT is when the insulin is just not bringing the numbers down and you are getting movement, just movement with bouncing.

Wondering if starting her off with some higher LC food from the beginning would help? Flatten out the cycle some.
 
The GT is when the insulin is just not bringing the numbers down and you are getting movement, just movement with bouncing.
It does sound like her SS, doesn't it? Like all those yellow cycles - is it GT?
Wondering if starting her off with some higher LC food from the beginning would help? Flatten out the cycle some.
I have Friskie 4% - 5% carbs. I hate her eating it - too high high in fat and phosphorous and her ALT and Cholesterol are elevated - but will feed it for a time if it helps flattening the cycle/lowering PS.

What would the best feeding schedule look like for her then - given than she can eat Tiki Cat 0% late in cycle, like for supper?

I am a little exhausted by my insomnia and my attention to details is falling by the day. I would really be very grateful for an easy to read advise/instruction , like: PS - X # tsp of X%; +1 - X # tsp of X%, +2 , ...+3...+4 ..etc. Usually by +5.5 she is eaten all her cycle's food. There are some snaking allowed and the supper at +8 - +8.5 - but she can have Tiki for that late, right?
 
Last edited:
Wondering if starting her off with some higher LC food from the beginning would help? Flatten out the cycle some.
In conjunction with dose increase or by just itself?:confused:
:rolleyes: Sorry if it was stupid question - the insomnia is getting better out of me. :rolleyes:
Going to get/try to get some sleep now till pres-shot. Please reply as to the better high carbs feeding schedule for tomorrow.:bighug:
 
OK, I haven't heard anything back about feeding and upon PMPS 90 gave Ducia huge PS meal - 3 tsp 4% Friskie pate + 1 tsp Tiki.

I understand that a Pink AMPS and Green PMPS = bounce but I still hope for a Green cycle; anti jinx; fingers crossed. Next test at +1 and then at +2 with 4% food in between each.:confused:
 
Sorry no one got back to you in the wee hours! I'm not really sure about the feeding schedule question, but it does seem like you have enough data about Ducia's patterns that you might be able to predict when she is going to break a bounce and try to slow her down so that her next bounce is shallower. It's probably the kind of thing best figured out on a good night's sleep, though!

On glucose toxicity: I don't really see signs of that in Ducia's spreadsheet. My understanding of GT is that you'd not only see higher numbers, you'd see them all the time. Ducia bounces, but she doesn't stay high for long periods of time, she responds to the insulin dose again the way she should when her bouncing is done. She just seems to be one of those cats that loves her trampoline!

Hope you got some sleep finally!
 
Hey Tanya, I usually go to bed by 10 EST so, I didn't get this until this AM .


As far as the feeding goes, I was just wondering if you experimented with higher carb LC food in the front part of her cycle if that would help to flatten her out some. The +1's might become you new best friend and when you see that she is a lower number than the pre shot, give a tsp of of the Friskie's which is a bit higher than he normally eats. Your feeding schedule otherwise looks good to me.

It's just a thought. I have been staring at her SS and I just can't figure out a pattern. Like yesterday's AM starting off in a pink and ending the cycle in green. That's a first for her and the fastest she cleared a bounce.

Looking back in her SS, she did have more runs of greens and blues when she was on .75 before so, maybe we will see her starting to flatten out some and bounce less.

Not enough sleep is horrible, I remember it well. Please take care of yourself and sleep on cycles that she is running higher. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top