Jaime & Mowgli
Member Since 2021
Last Thread
@Wendy&Neko
Unfortunately Mowgli is still not feeling well and as a result is eating very little. Without his typical food drive he doesn't feel the inclination to allow my mom to either test him or give him his insulin. Vomited again two nights ago. I decided to skip Cabergoline again yesterday (2nd day in a row) and I am strongly considering the same today. Would like to truly rule out whether Cabergoline is the issue.
I have purchased Niacinamide and was wondering if it is worth the try to give it to Mowgli for a week or so. This would be my way of conservatively testing to see whether Mowgli's phosphorus or other kidney values are contributing to him feeling unwell. @Suzanne & Darcy I know you are using Niacinamide. What do you think of this idea? Would you say it is a conservative assumption that I could give Mowgli Niacinamide for about a week without having to run bloodwork before and after? I ask this because I read that Niacinamide is very effective at reducing phosphorus and that it's fairly easy to reduce the serum phosphorus by too much.
Lastly, I just wanted to clarify why we abruptly reduced Mowgli's insulin dose to 8u a couple nights ago. Typically I stay up long enough to see that my sister performs a before bed test (at midnight) and I instruct her when to feed more in order to slow the BG drop or I decide to drive over to perform more tests myself. However, recently my employer asked me to fill a temporary position that would require me to begin my commute very early as opposed to working from home. I realized that it would be very difficult for me to stay up long enough to see what Mowgli's midnight BG test was and that I would have to leave my sister responsible for deciding if he needs more tests or food to keep him from dropping too low. Well the very first night where I went to bed early (06/01) I awoke to find that Mowgli's BG had dropped significantly by the before bed test (PMPS of 173 to +5 of 71) and my sister didn't bother to test him anymore or to feed MC. Fortunately Mowgli was okay in the morning, but I was very upset that my sister was so negligent. Well my mom and I decided that we needed to protect Mowgli from something like that happening again and decided that we would reduce his dose and look for a new dose that would give us a range with a bigger safety buffer.
Sorry for the long one today, but I did want to provide an update on our situation.
@Wendy&Neko
Unfortunately Mowgli is still not feeling well and as a result is eating very little. Without his typical food drive he doesn't feel the inclination to allow my mom to either test him or give him his insulin. Vomited again two nights ago. I decided to skip Cabergoline again yesterday (2nd day in a row) and I am strongly considering the same today. Would like to truly rule out whether Cabergoline is the issue.
I have purchased Niacinamide and was wondering if it is worth the try to give it to Mowgli for a week or so. This would be my way of conservatively testing to see whether Mowgli's phosphorus or other kidney values are contributing to him feeling unwell. @Suzanne & Darcy I know you are using Niacinamide. What do you think of this idea? Would you say it is a conservative assumption that I could give Mowgli Niacinamide for about a week without having to run bloodwork before and after? I ask this because I read that Niacinamide is very effective at reducing phosphorus and that it's fairly easy to reduce the serum phosphorus by too much.
Lastly, I just wanted to clarify why we abruptly reduced Mowgli's insulin dose to 8u a couple nights ago. Typically I stay up long enough to see that my sister performs a before bed test (at midnight) and I instruct her when to feed more in order to slow the BG drop or I decide to drive over to perform more tests myself. However, recently my employer asked me to fill a temporary position that would require me to begin my commute very early as opposed to working from home. I realized that it would be very difficult for me to stay up long enough to see what Mowgli's midnight BG test was and that I would have to leave my sister responsible for deciding if he needs more tests or food to keep him from dropping too low. Well the very first night where I went to bed early (06/01) I awoke to find that Mowgli's BG had dropped significantly by the before bed test (PMPS of 173 to +5 of 71) and my sister didn't bother to test him anymore or to feed MC. Fortunately Mowgli was okay in the morning, but I was very upset that my sister was so negligent. Well my mom and I decided that we needed to protect Mowgli from something like that happening again and decided that we would reduce his dose and look for a new dose that would give us a range with a bigger safety buffer.
Sorry for the long one today, but I did want to provide an update on our situation.
Last edited: