06/04 Cheekyface AMPS 450, +5.5~238, PMPS 392

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lesley & Cheekyface

Member Since 2011
This is the highest she's been since her diagnosis. I was a basket case last night because of Bodie (I think I finally snapped and the whole lot came out at once :sad: ) so she may well still be picking up on that. I'm sure the shot was good last night.

Does anyone have any ideas? I haven't been quick enough yet to catch her for a ketone dip.
 
Re: 06/04 Cheekyface AMPS 450

Here's your link from yesterday's condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44659


If she's like J.D., I would say she's just bouncing from the blues the other night.
Come on down, nice and easy Cheekyface.

Have you been getting any mid-cycle tests? They can go from red to green and back again...

I'm sorry, I don't have time to read every post. Who is Bodie?
 
Re: 06/04 Cheekyface AMPS 450

Morning Dyana,

It does seem to be bouncy time...she's perfectly fine in herself. Now that it's the weekend I'll be able to do mid-cycle tests, in fact the vet's asked me to.

Bodie is my 17.5yo three-legged male who's in early CRF. We all went to the vet yesterday because I was a bit concerned about his bowels--he tends to constipation--and sure enough he was a bit full and needed an enema. Because I was late for work, I could only give him a quick cleanup after he poohed in his cage on the way home and had to bolt, I felt awful.

During the day I managed to get Cheeky booked into a vet-run cattery for my NZ trip in July and the relief made me teary; then when I got home and tried to give Bodie the coloxyl tablets, he spat them out and then threw up. That was the last straw, I just collapsed and howled for about an hour. Both of them ignored me until bedtime but when I woke up they were both with me.

They've both been fed and had a wee nap, but Bodie has to go back to the vet soon to check he's emptied and I have to confess I didn't get the tablets into him. I'm still teary so god knows what the vet's going to think of me :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 06/04 Cheekyface AMPS 450

hey there, it's possible her numbers could be up from a bounce or it could be influenced by stress. you are clearly upset and stressed, her playmate is stressed and not well, that's quite a bit for her to handle. grab a mini curve if you can tomorrow, and that will give you a better idea of what is happening in her body, which will help you feel more in control. based on what your describing, all these events are bound to rub off on her a little. make sure you both get some time to relax, decompress, and make sure she keeps getting enough to eat and that you get to have a glass of wine/chocolate/ice cream/pick your poison. you've got so much on your plate! one breath at a time.
 
Re: 06/04 Cheekyface AMPS 450

Thanks Mococo I do need to chill out a bit, it's been a hell of a fortnight.

Mini-curve=AMPS, nadir and PMPS is that right?

PS: BTW Mococo... any relation to Mac the Black....? :lol: big Gene Kelly fan here
 
Re: 06/04 Cheekyface AMPS 450

Hi. I am taking both my cats to the vets tomorrow morning (no sleeping in for me tomorrow, on my only day off :roll: ).
I'm glad you got Cheeky booked at a vet cattery. They will be open 24 hours? They will test and all?
I am going on vacation in just 2 weeks, and taking J.D. with me (cross country to California).
I hate leaving Ginger (my civvie) but it's only one carry on pet per person.

Do you have anything like Miralax there in Australia? That's what I use occasionally. Some people use it every day for their cats who are prone to being stuffed up.

I wish you luck with Bodie :-D Have a great day. I hope your weather is as good as ours has been today. :-D
 
Re: 06/04 Cheekyface AMPS 450

Hi Cheekyface & Lesley--I have been giving Moonie & my civvie(GA) miralax for almost 3 yrs now & it has helped both their constipation.. Hope it is available in Australia.
Did you know that the Univ. of Queensland is where one of the founders of the protocol we use is??
Dr. Jacki Rand, who has helped us all make our cats better through TR.(Tight regulation)
Hope Bodie & Cheeky feel well & will be healthy..See is you can find the Miralax-maybe on line?
Very gentle but works great!~
 
Re: 06/04 Cheekyface AMPS 450

Hi Roni,

I add psyllium to Bodie's food but he's a very finicky eater so doesn't always get the benefit. We don't get Miralax here but the vet says I can use Actilax, lactulose, which I think is the same sort of thing. It gets syringed straight into him so no danger of Cheeky eating it.

And yes, I saw that the Rand-Roop Protocol is Aussie home-grown :)
 
Re: 06/04 Cheekyface AMPS 450, +5.5~238

hi lesley! you've had quite a time the past day! after a day like that you deserve a break.

for bodie, i wonder if you have something called "Pill Pockets" in Australia? I buy them at the pet store - they are like an edible playdough that you put the pills in. you just squish the pill pockets around the pill - most pets like them. I had to give punkin (my cat) pills and he "thought" he didn't like them, but after 18 days of me pushing them down his throat he decided he LOVED the pill pockets. Now i wrap up the pills & toss them on the floor. Punkin leaps for them like they were the best thing he has ever tasted.

just a thought to help you get the meds down a little easier.

for cheekyface, do you remember we were talking about "bouncing" a couple of days ago? cheekyface got lower than normal and then zipped up nice & high. it can take 72 hours for that to settle back down. even the night of June 2nd he got down to 131 and for him, that's enough lower than normal that it might start another bounce going. but even though that's what it looks like to me, i'm still just learning about bounces and i might be wrong.

i think when you do the curve tomorrow you'll get some interesting information. the tests that are mid-cycle really will give you a lot of information on how cheeky's doing.
 
Thanks Julie,

Yup, I realise she's probably still bouncing, and my mini-meltdown yesterday probably didn't help any of us.

PMPS reading--It looks like she might be coming down although it's early yet. If I can stay calm she might settle. She's been a sweetheart all day today.

We don't get Pill Pockets here in Aus (I did a Google search), even though we do get the Greenies. I guess it won't be long--can't happen soon enough for me. Meanwhile, Actilax is liquid so I have to try syringing it down. Oi veh, another fight, with the best boy in the whole world who doesn't need the aggravation at his age :cry: .
 
this might be a really goofy idea, but i wonder if you could make them at home? i made homemade playdough for my kids and it couldn't be easier. perhaps using broth instead of water . . . if you want the recipe to try (maybe you have your hands full - i could understand) i could send it to you. it's flour, salt, cream of tartar and water cooked on a stove.

hope today is a little less traumatic!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top