06/03 Teja AMPS 274, +1 185

Malia

Member Since 2024
Yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-02-teja-pmps-167-8-101-9-76-10-98.290711/

Hello Everyone, I've got an update on Teja. She has an appetite, just not for the food that is prescribed for her. She is tired of the d/d and the PR and isn't wanting to eat it. Since it is important for her to eat, I turned to one of her favorite eats, Weruva's Tuna and Chicken Chill Out. She loves this food. However, I am not sure if she is allergic to chicken or tuna, so I am watching for itching. I am also watching for diarrhea since she doesn't have a galbladder and we aren't sure how much fat she can tolerate. It has been under 24 hours, so I have to monitor her to see how she responds to this food. Hopefully all goes well and we can keep using this food and maybe other foods by Weruva. If this food trial works for her, I will get with her nutritional vet to see what we can do to minimize any issues with her kidneys.

My question is, this food has significantly less carbs than what she was eating. This will impact the amount of insulin she may need. When transitioning food from higher carb to low carb, do you have any advice as to how to manage this change? Right now she is shooting 3.5 units twice daily, but I am worried that I will need to reduce that dose. I do have some higher carb food that she has eaten before that I can throw into the mix to even things out, but my goal is to transition her to weruva, if all things go well. What is the best way to do this so she doesn't go hypo and I can safely lower her doses.

Thank you for any advice that you may offer.
 
The Weruva's generally are higher in protein than fat, but depends on the product. What %fat is your upper target goal for her? Do you know what average %carbs she is getting now?

Both fish and chicken can be allergens.

As for dose, let's stick with 3.5 units for at least 6 cycles, to see what this dose can do. Unless she goes below 90 of course. Ideally you'd reduce the number of carbs gradually, maybe 10% per meal, but our cats don't always follow our plans. :cat: The fact that she's eating more now will help. Her lack of appetite could have contributed to the lower numbers the previous days.
 
The Weruva's generally are higher in protein than fat, but depends on the product. What %fat is your upper target goal for her? Do you know what average %carbs she is getting now?

Both fish and chicken can be allergens.

As for dose, let's stick with 3.5 units for at least 6 cycles, to see what this dose can do. Unless she goes below 90 of course. Ideally you'd reduce the number of carbs gradually, maybe 10% per meal, but our cats don't always follow our plans. :cat: The fact that she's eating more now will help. Her lack of appetite could have contributed to the lower numbers the previous days.

We are looking at around 50% for the fat. Her tuna and chicken chill out is at 47%, so its acceptable. The d/d that she was eating is 54%, so I think 47% is good.

The d/d is 16% carbs, the PR is 15% carbs and the PD is 16% carbs. The Weruva is 2% carbs, big difference. It is higher in protein but she loves it. As for the allergens part, I am not sure what she was reacting to in 2021 that we put her on the HP diet. So it could be chicken and tuna, or it could be something else. Some random gum. Unfortunately we didn't do a food trial to see what she could eat. Which means now she and I are going to find out. Hopefully it is some random gum that isn't in the weruva, because she does love it and its better for her overall.

10% per meal. I will try that. But it really depends on her, lol, as you have stated. She just is done with the higher carb food, and how can I blame her.

So she did drop again today. She dropped about 100 points in an hour. I pulled out the karo syrup and did a little bit on her gums. I know that 66 isn't bad, but there was the downward arrow, and the decent wasn't stopping. I just needed to buy her some time for the food that she ate to kick in. I did everything from syringe feeding her the higher carb food, to giving her a teaspoon of the super high carb food. I tested with the relion and of course the sensor. She is at 107 now, verified by the relion. Wow, was that scary. That 10% change is something that I have to stick to so this doesn't happen again. Maybe I could do 10% per day, since she eats a lot of little meals throughout the day.
 
The Weruva's generally are higher in protein than fat, but depends on the product. What %fat is your upper target goal for her? Do you know what average %carbs she is getting now?

Both fish and chicken can be allergens.

As for dose, let's stick with 3.5 units for at least 6 cycles, to see what this dose can do. Unless she goes below 90 of course. Ideally you'd reduce the number of carbs gradually, maybe 10% per meal, but our cats don't always follow our plans. :cat: The fact that she's eating more now will help. Her lack of appetite could have contributed to the lower numbers the previous days.

Hey Wendy, could these numbers that I am looking at be due to the 3.75 units that I gave her yesterday? I just want to make sure I am understanding the depot part of insulin.
 
The higher depot influences 4-6 cycles after a reduction. So yes, the 3.75 and even 4 units dose could be influencing the numbers. But when following SLGS, that 66 today means you reduce immediately by 0.25 units.
 
The higher depot influences 4-6 cycles after a reduction. So yes, the 3.75 and even 4 units dose could be influencing the numbers. But when following SLGS, that 66 today means you reduce immediately by 0.25 units.
Shoot another reduction. I was reading on the forums in the sticky "What is the insulin depot?", and the article says:

"A dose reduction will usually result in a need for less stored insulin. The excess may be released into the bloodstream faster than usual, especially if several dose reductions are done back-to-back."

I think that maybe this happened today because of the reductions I have made recently. I am doing my best to learn. This is my fault for jumping ahead and trying to rush things.

I will have to be prepared for any drops for tomorrow due to the reduction.

Thank you Wendy.
 
Back
Top