I'd really encourage you to restart the insulin. Almost all of those tests since he hasn't had insulin are out of the normal range and definitely in diabetic numbers. Everything under 120 is normal, although most cats that are OTJ are in the 50-80 range, and some even run in the 30's. A cat that is OTJ shouldn't be having spikes after eating.
From the
Tight Regulation Protocol page:
Remission:
- From Tilly's Diabetes Homepage:
Phase 5: Remission
"14 days without insulin and normal blood glucose values. Most remission cats are able to stay in the normal range all of the time (50 to 80 mg/dl), although there are a few cases of sporadic higher and lower BGs. Don't stop feeding low-carb and try to avoid cortisone if possible. Test the cat's BGs once per month.
Approximately 25% cats that achieved remission using this protocol relapsed and required insulin again (frequent causes are hyperthyroidism or bouts of pancreatitis). Therefore, it is important to keep your diabetes kit up-to-date. Then you can react immediately by giving insulin and home testing. Importantly, the sooner you react to a relapse (i.e. preventing hyperglycemia and initiating other necessary veterinary treatment), the more likely a second remission will become.
The longer a cat has had diabetes, the less likely it will go into remission. Many long-term diabetics get stuck in Phase 3 or 4. Yet there is a benefit of using this method for such a cat as well: keeping the cat's BG levels as normal as possible is much healthier for it long term. Insulin requirements will often decrease to very low levels too."
- Glycemic Status and Predictors of Relapse for Diabetic Cats in Remission
The fructosamine is going to measure the blood sugar average over the past 2-3 weeks. I'm not sure how the past 4 days will figure in there - it may be unhelpful data since it's a mixture of on insulin with BG tests under 100, and off of insulin with BG tests over 100. If you're not going to restart the insulin, I think I'd wait on the fructosamine until you've had 2-3 weeks off of insulin.
One of the reasons I'm encouraging you to go ahead and restart is because if Spaz's body stays in blue numbers, it may "forget" that green numbers are normal and then when you do restart insulin, you may end up with a lot of bouncing. That's not the end of the world, but it annoys a lot of people, LOL.
In the meantime, are you feeding him small frequent meals around the clock? well, you can sleep of course, but while you're awake, it might help bring down his BGs if his meals are small and often. One trick we use in a cat that is close to OTJ, but with higher amps/pmps is to have the cat eat a teaspoon or so of food at +9. Often that little bite will stimulate the pancreas enough that it will put out a little insulin, resulting in the BGs testing lower about 3 hrs after that bite. Perhaps that will help.