? 06/02 Mrs. Jones AMPS 396 +4 316 A Bounce?

MissyCat6

Member Since 2024
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-30-mrs-jones-amps-396-5-334-query-re-pm-shot.290609/

Hello! Previous thread posted above and spreadsheet is up to date. Thank you for your previous feedback. I am still in custom dosing recommendation with the guidance last week to try 1.0 iu for 3 days. From the spreadsheet you can tell we tried to do that but we had to intervene/adjust with several lows. Thank you for the cautious feedback that based on the data, 1.0 iu may be too much especially since we've switched to Weruva no carb phos focus wet. We have been holding the dose of 0.75. This is really the first time we haven't jumped too much over a few days. However, after her sensor change on Friday, she was high all day yesterday. She is however eating her wet food and we are noticed her gluc coming down this morning. I will continue to keep the dose at 0.75 to avoid the jumping around mentioned/cautioned on in previous posts.

Two questions:

1. is the high yesterday a bounce from the 1.0 iu lows last week?
2. Any questions we can ask our vet next week about dosing? We didn't get a chance to consult on Friday with the sensor change.

Also, I recognize from the previous Moderator feedback, there is reluctance to provide any guidance when we are custom dosing. However, any guidance is still appreciated and I think we are in a better position now to follow SLGS especially with the 0.75 and wet food. Thanks again!
 
The custom dosing and Libre combo makes it hard for me at least to understand what’s going on. I think from what I have seen the Libre often gives false lows. I wonder what the BG showed on the Libre from +3 to the 72 reading. There was also a sensor change the next night. Was the sensor failing with the 72? Is that a false reading? Maybe someone else can figure it out .
 
Hello Tiffmaxee! Thanks for your reply. The arrow was dropping straight down at the time so I felt we had to intervene. For sure, we've been told the FSL reads low and we are to give a snack at 72. I'll be interested today to see if at 0.75, which has been the does over the last few days, if gradually starts to go lower.
 
From this post, you'll see that first day Libre data can be suspect, Freestyle Libre for Cats; Tips and Information However, she's continued past the 24 hours still in the stinky pinkies. Bounces typically last up to six cycles. The bounce from the 59 on the 29th should have been over by now. Though it's possible she did a steep drop the PM of the 30th which set off another bounce. Like Elise said, that cycle looks odd. Cats don't typically go from 72 to 203 without extreme intervention. That means more than a snack - snack means a couple tsps of regular LC.
 
Hello! Thanks so much for your reply. Good point because she was a dry food addict and now she will only only eat the Low-carb low phosphorus canned food; she will not willingly eat any dry food when she hits a low number; our intervention is typically the tubes of CATIT, anywhere between four and six as they are small tubes. And it is an assisted feed. I would appreciate any guidance on what would be appropriate and not extreme in terms of number of CATIT tubes, thanks so much!
 
I have no clue what the carb count is - I haven't even been able to see an ingredient list. I did see something that said cats shouldn't get more than 3 tubes per day for an average sized cat.

Most of us don't intervene with dry food, but rather a higher carb wet food. The dry food lasts longer in the system, producing higher numbers for longer. If there is only a low carb food she likes, you can add a pin sized drop of karo/syrup or honey to her regular food to boost the carbs.
 
Thank you Wendy&Neko, I have to give it some thought about a low carb Weruva wet. Catit tubes may have indeed caused a spike the next day. I had a great conversation with our veterinarian day and we are going to look at some other options outside of Lantus. We are going to hopefully make a decision this week about another insulin a tablet or liquid option. I will post again as soon as I know that probably in the forum. Thank you again for your guidance and feedback!
 
If your vet is talking about Bexacat or Senvelgo, note that they are not recommended for cats that have been on insulin first. And there is an increased risk of DKA. More information here: New Treatments for Feline Diabetes

Mrs. Jones is still very new to Lantus, she is responding as most cats so new to feline diabetes will do. It is too early to consider another insulin yet.

Have you tried Churu instead of Catit? They are low carb.
 
Hello Wendy and Neko, thanks for your reply and my apologies for the delay in my reply. Thanks for the information on New Treatments. Our vet is currently consulting with a specialist who just presented on diabetes management as part of their continuing education. We just completed a number of tests to get a better idea of what is happening for her. Mercifully, ketone testing results were good. Other values were good too with the exception of a slight increase in pancreatic value. We're not planning on making any changes this week and so far, higher dose in the morning and lower at night seems to prevent the huge and fast drops. We've also upped her pain med which seems to be helping. I will also try Churu as an option. As soon as we make some decisions, I will be back on the forum. Thanks again so very much!
 
Back
Top