06/02 JELLY BELLY +11 180 PMPS 180 PLEASE advise +2 61.5 HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you can stay with him today, I think you would be ok to shoot.

But you should be aware that the depot of the higher dose (slow release portion of last nights shot) might still affect the early part of this cycle.

So if you shoot, you may need to stay on top of things till at least +6 (but maybe longer)

Have you got enough supplies? and can monitor? If your answer is yes.

then go ahead and shoot,

0.5u though.
 
Nice cycle last night! And nice start today after those greens. If you can monitor today and have plenty of supplies, I would shoot the reduced dose of .50
 
If you can stay with him today, I think you would be ok to shoot.

But you should be aware that the depot of the higher dose (slow release portion of last nights shot) might still affect the early part of this cycle.

So if you shoot, you may need to stay on top of things till at least +6 (but maybe longer)

Have you got enough supplies? and can monitor? If your answer is yes.

then go ahead and shoot,

0.5u though.
I cant check all day we have a wedding to go to and I cant do sugars every + 1 if i shoot not i can monitor till plus off and on but would need to use autofeeder
 
We're relieved to see you posting, Rochelle. His dose needs to go down to 0.5 u this morning. I see that Gill has already given you good advice. When you have a moment could you please update your SS with last night's numbers? They're needed for future reference.
 
If you can stay with him today, I think you would be ok to shoot.

But you should be aware that the depot of the higher dose (slow release portion of last nights shot) might still affect the early part of this cycle.

So if you shoot, you may need to stay on top of things till at least +6 (but maybe longer)

Have you got enough supplies? and can monitor? If your answer is yes.

then go ahead and shoot,

0.5u though.
how long would this be for? all day again and every few hours testing?
 
We're relieved to see you posting, Rochelle. His dose needs to go down to 0.5 u this morning. I see that Gill has already given you good advice. When you have a moment could you please update your SS with last night's numbers? They're needed for future reference.
i cant update the ones that are there are it i had one more 5.6 and passsed out autefeeder was set and at 8 am hes only 8.2 still.... so shoot .5 and monitor how long?
 
i cant update the ones that are there are it i had one more 5.6 and passsed out autefeeder was set and at 8 am hes only 8.2 still.... so shoot .5 and monitor how long?
Don't worry about the SS for now. That 5.6 was a good number even if it was from carbs. Obviously he made it to morning in one piece so water under the bridge. I like the AMPS today. His numbers are really very good. Give that 0.5 u dose and test at +2. Post here with the result. I have to leave in an hour so I won't be able to help.
 
2 pm my time
ugh ..... i hate this and insulin and poking his ears so much ok
Don't worry about the SS for now. That 5.6 was a good number even if it was from carbs. Obviously he made it to morning in one piece so water under the bridge. I like the AMPS today. His numbers are really very good. Give that 0.5 u dose and test at +2. Post here with the result. I have to leave in an hour so I won't be able to help.
did that just now .5 and I will update +2
 
2 pm my time
By then you should have a good idea where the cycle is going.

If he were to be dropping , then you can as Bobbie says, abort the cycle with a good meal of HC and leave more food out for him (Is he ok with the auto feeder)

If he's looking flattish then we can keep him flat with food in his feeeder (if he will use it) we would perhaps err on the side of caution as you cant be there after +6)

One other question,/
When do you get back from the wedding? are you going to be able to shoot on time tonight?
 
By then you should have a good idea where the cycle is going.

If he were to be dropping , then you can as Bobbie says, abort the cycle with a good meal of HC and leave more food out for him (Is he ok with the auto feeder)

If he's looking flattish then we can keep him flat with food in his feeeder (if he will use it) we would perhaps err on the side of caution as you cant be there after +6)

One other question,/
When do you get back from the wedding? are you going to be able to shoot on time tonight?
My sister will be here tonight with Jelly she's done his sugars and his insulin before and I will leave instructions he will be in great hands I can try and get her on here too so she has life lines
 
Reassurance for you: it won't always be this hectic. There's pressure on you to learn his patterns because you'll be back at school on Monday. Over time, you'll build up a good SS history to use as reference and you'll learn what to expect. It WILL get easier. :)
 
Reassurance for you: it won't always be this hectic. There's pressure on you to learn his patterns because you'll be back at school on Monday. Over time, you'll build up a good SS history to use as reference and you'll learn what to expect. It WILL get easier. :)
We will be ok I will monitor today and update as often as I can and I know data is important to make sure treat him properly
 
I know we just need to collect enough data to make dosing and feeding accurate and proper to his needs I appreciate you watching out for us and being here so many times and for the schedules they save my life and keep me organized and learning to the best of my ability
We will be ok I will monitor today and update as often as I can and I know data is important to make sure treat him properly
 
R-

If you can list his tests....what + time and BG from last night and this morning, I'll update the SS.
I am having issues with sprees sheet I did add and it's not updating last night 11:45 4.6 then a 3.3 (20 minutes later) gave gravy and temptation waited 30 mins he was 5.6 @1:45 and then I fell asleep this am Amps was 8.2@8 am + 2 11.8
 
Hi Rochelle

I’m sorry I haven’t had a chance to check in. I read the condo when I first got up, and yes....I was the SS pixie and fixed it. However, then got a call that my mom has bronchitis so I’ve had to be dealing with that until now.

Lovely cycle stacking up here for Jelly especially after the skip last night.



First....what can you tell me about what you’ve learned about Jelly and how carbs affect his numbers? I think you can look at his SS and know easier than we can because we don’t know what you’ve fed him. It can be very, very helpful to keep track of what you feed him when (you can use the Remarks section on the SS) so the next time he drops, you will know what you did, and how it affected his BG.

You also asked about when to worry about numbers. I’ll try to explain it clearly although it can vary cat to cat and cycle to cycle.

For others reading, this information is for Jelly and Rochelle so if you have specific questions about your kitty, don’t just assume this applies (it might, but it might not) so please ask for guidance about your kitty.

Some guidance I can give you is:
  • If you test and he’s dropping, study his SS to determine what his normal pattern is, when he likes to drop, how fast he drops, etc. before you determine if it’s ok to go out and be out a while or go to bed. However, dropping numbers require attention at some point so I would suggest you not leave a dropping number unattended without some action (e.g. either planning to test again in an hour or two or leaving him LC food and a Temptation, because those work well for him)
  • If he’s clearing a bounce, it is likely that the lowest part of his cycle will not be mid cycle but will be at the end of the cycle (+12) or even past it. Don’t expect that because he gets past +6 without dropping lower, that it will continue that way. Jelly’s cycle yesterday morning is a great example of this. Look at it closely and see how he just kept dropping all day long.
  • The BG you get at different times in the cycle might need a different action. Look at the examples below:
    • AMPS 282 +2 180 +3 70
    • AMPS 282 +2 246 +5 182 +9 70
    • AMPS 101 +2 92 +4 70
    • AMPS 101 +2 92 +5 83 +6.5 70 +10 84
In all four cycles above, you see a 70. Would you react the same way in all four examples? No, you wouldn’t. Here’s why:
    • In the first cycle, this kitty is clearing a bounce and doing it quickly. The +2 tells the CG that this is going to be an active cycle and because it is so much lower than the AMPS, it’s likely going to be active soon. Wisely, this CG tested at +3 and the kitty had also onset. But, if this CG was really smart, when she got the +2, she probably would have wanted to feed a really good helping of a higher LC food (maybe 10% depending on how her kitty responds to carbs) so she could slow the drop and also have some food on board for the onset at +3 when the number really dropped. Also, at +3 with a 70, she probably wants to even give a little MC to try and get the kitty to flatten out and stop dropping. If this was Jelly, I bet a Temptation with his LC would really help.
    • In the second cycle, this kitty is also clearing a bounce, but he’s doing it fairly slowly (yay!). At +9, he’s getting towards the end of the cycle but we want to be sure he doesn’t keep dropping so much that he’s below 50 at PMPS and the CG then has to stall or skip. For this kitty, a small helping of LC food might keep him surfing along in green without putting a screeching stop on his duration.
    • In the third cycle, this is a pretty flat cycle so even though the kitty is 70 early in the cycle, a small amount of LC food might just keep him surfing along in those nice green numbers until he nadirs and slowly starts back up.
    • In the fourth cycle, the CG would just feed regular LC meals at whatever schedule the kitty normally gets them but would not need to feed after +5 at the latest. Kitty has a nice nadir at +6.5 and then starts back up. Lovely.
Do you see the difference in these cycles and how a number like 70 can either require alot of management (e.g. food) and attention (e.g. testing sooner rather than later) by the CG, some management, or even no management. This is why we can’t tell you a specific number that you have to worry about except, in most cases, a kitty below 50 needs attention (food and regular testing). A very, very experienced CG with a very flat and tightly regulated kitty might not worry about a 50 but for most, a 50 means you must manage the curve with food and testing right then. And anything below that definitely requires immediate attention.

What I’d like to see as a goal for you and see you doing starting tonight, is making your own schedule and proposing to us when you should test. It’s not possible to make a schedule for all day or even all cycle because we don’t always know which way it will go. But you can make your schedule for at least half a cycle at a time based on the numbers you have. I think it would be an excellent learning tool.

BTW, if Jelly was my kitty and had dropped 60 mg/dL in two hours to 95, I’d be testing a lot sooner than +9 or +10. Just sayin. He might be just fine but you don’t have enough data yet to know that. There might be a time when you do, but, personally, I don’t think it’s now.

Two other quick things:

  • again, it is really, really important that you keep the subject line updated; I explained it in yesterday’s condo so please reread my post #69.
  • although Kris had you delete the numbers on the US SS, if you delete them there, you will lose the formatting and they will not auto populate when you then put the numbers in the World SS. It's important to enter your numbers on the World SS and let them auto convert.
Have a great day and please let me know if you have questions. Again...I know it’s a lot of info but I wanted to try and answer your question with examples.
ok this is very helpful and i need to re read it a few times but i am starting to understand its just with the low numbers starting at like 147 pre shot is what hes been doing lately and i get unsure

Today I tried to update spreed sheet think I broke it again. It's not auto updating the miners to us mols. He was very stubborn with my sister last night so He had no test or insulin. He hasn't been that with me ever but he was mean to her and wouldn't let her near him. Today he is fine with me but was only 8.2 or 147 and I thought about it and heres what I thought I should do ...

1 AMPS is 147 fed and shot .5 unit DONE
2. test at +2 +3 and feed curve as he is lower
3. test at +5 make sure hes staying lower but not to low and then monitor based on that
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top