RochellenTiggs
Member Since 2017
The sugars are only 8.9 this am and AMP due 7 am (30 mins) please advice
Yes we can do this so I should feed now and shot because it's 7 amHi Rochelle,
This is a 160 and is high enough for you to give 0.75 u again. It's pretty much a repeat of yesterday. I know you had a hard time taking it all in, getting the testing done, etc. yesterday. Would this work for you?
I know this is more testing than JB might want but it's a case of trying to figure him out better before you have to go to school on Monday.
- feed JB his breakfast
- give 0.75 u
- give a small LC snack at +1
- test again at +2 then give a small snack - post you test result here and on your SS
- give a small snack at +3
- test again at +5 and post the result here and on your SS
Yes. Do that. I hope it's a calmer day today for you.Yes we can do this so I should feed now and shot because it's 7 am![]()
I am home all day and we got sleep last night I am able and functioning today.... yesterday I was just bleh now it's ok and Jellys ears look great from the polysporinYes. Do that. I hope it's a calmer day today for you.
Good news! This thing can take a lot out of you, especially at the start, and you're also busy with your family and school coming up. I'm glad the Polysporin is helping his ears.I am home all day and we got sleep last night I am able and functioning today.... yesterday I was just bleh now it's ok and Jellys ears look great from the polysporin
Hi Rochelle,
This is a 160 and is high enough for you to give 0.75 u again. It's pretty much a repeat of yesterday. I know you had a hard time taking it all in, getting the testing done, etc. yesterday. Would this work for you?
I know this is more testing than JB might want but it's a case of trying to figure him out better before you have to go to school on Monday.
- feed JB his breakfast
- give 0.75 u
- give a small LC snack at +1
- test again at +2 then give a small snack - post your test result here and on your SS
- give a small snack at +3
- test again at +5 and post the result here and on your SS
- feed JB his breakfast DONE
- give 0.75 u DONE
- give a small LC snack at +1
- test again at +2 then give a small snack - post your test result here and on your SS
- give a small snack at +3
- test again at +5 and post the result here and on your SS
I didn't do a AmPs it was only the +12 @6 am should I do one now ? He ate tho and insulinPlease put this AMPS and dose on your SS ASAP. We'll keep nagging you about this because we need to see what's happening any time you have a new question.![]()
Not to worry - same thing as yesterday. Leave the 160 where it is as AMPS. Put a note in the right hand section of your SS saying that it was taken 1 hour before the insulin shot.I didn't do a AmPs it was only the +12 @6 am should I do one now ? He ate tho and insulin
the test at 6am/ (one hour before amps) would go in the +11 column like you have it, but I would delete it from the amps boxI didn't do a AmPs it was only the +12 @6 am
Sorry to be pedantic, but for the sake of clarity, I'd probably leave the amps box blank for this morning, or write tested @+11 (though actually it's more like +23, since it's 23 hrs since last insulin shot, but lets not worry about thatNot to worry - same thing as yesterday. Leave the 160 where it is as AMPS. Put a note in the right hand section of your SS saying that it was taken 1 hour before the insulin shot.

done +1 +2 and hes eating a snack now ... i am still lost on the spreed sheet i thought i did it right maybe Marje will help when she checks in.
nope i was just writing it was alot and i am trying to break it down and i am struggling (learning disability) but very clear detailed schedules like you have done and point specific readings i can do but yes its difficult and that post lost me a bit im tryingThanks, Gill. I understand what you're getting at. I have a strong sense that Rochelle can get overwhelmed if we throw a lot of detail at her at once. Apologies, Rochelle - I hope I'm not offending you. I'm trying to guide her through the basics from the point she's at now in her FD knowledge and ability to cope.![]()
Take your time, Rochelle. Ask for a list any time you think it might help.nope i was just writing it was alot and i am trying to break it down and i am struggling (learning disability) but very clear detailed schedules like you have done and point specific readings i can do but yes its difficult and that post lost me a bit im trying

i am just starting to understand the cycle and havent even figured out all the different carb amounts and have been trying to collect accurate BG and have a good picture for people to help me and when in trouble post and have been getting instruction and been ok. I dont think i can say i fully understand the cycle and the dropping in points so much yet at all because i dont i get scared of 5.3 and stuff so i am not nearly educated enough to decide on carb amounts and what to give him i am better following instructions for that stuff right nowthe test at 6am/ (one hour before amps) would go in the +11 column like you have it, but I would delete it from the amps box
Sorry to be pedantic, but for the sake of clarity, I'd probably leave the amps box blank for this morning, or write tested @+11 (though actually it's more like +23, since it's 23 hrs since last insulin shot, but lets not worry about that) at the moment it looks like a test was taken at amps, why does that matter, well it's about looking at overall changes in BG, going up 100 pts in 2hours is not the same as going up 100pts in 3. Also when we look at that +2 we are going to get this morning, we really want to compare it to the result at amps, I know from my own experience that there can be a big difference in the +11 and PS tests, it's only an hour, but ...
Check out Georges ss look at the
2/4/2016 +11 145
2/5/2016 amps 104 / +1.5 82
So if on the morning of 2/5 I hadn't got an amps and recorded the 145 in the amps box, it would look like he dropped 63pts in those first 1 1/2hrs, when in fact he only dropped 22pts, that's a big difference and its important because it tells us how fast he's dropping which in turn, (and with time and experience) will govern our food choices for kitty. Using George and that specific day as an example, a 63pt drop for George into a lowish green at +1.5 would have seen me reach for some higher carb food, big guns (28% carb if I was having to leave him during the first half of the cycle/ or something in the 15% range if I was there to monitor)
However a 20pt drop, though this signaled an active cycle for him, it wasn't excessive and so I reached for his regular LC snack. Perhaps it's the Scientist in me, but it is very important that we record the data accurately, this can allow you to look back through the data, see patterns of BG and use what you learn to better/more easily manage your kitty's BG's. If you look back at data that hasn't been recorded accurately, you can see, like in the example above, you might draw a different conclusion as to what an outcome might be when you face that situation again, that's to say what you 'learn' when you, or someone else, looks back at the data might be erroneous.
This brings me to another point:
Food for thought Rochelle,
I know poor JB's ears have been sore and you both had a rough day yesterday, glad you are both rested and feeling better, it's amazing what a little sleep and a pokey break can do for CG and Kitty
Looking forward to when you start school. If you do get a +11(6am), getting a +12/pmps(7pm) can be a very useful. The number you get at PS is important, but what is more interesting is where that number is heading. I liked getting a +11, especially if I was having to head out, and then get a amps, if the number was about the same, ie he was flat at the end of the cycle, then I would often expect an active cycle. If he was on the rise, then I knew that by the time the shot onset his numbers would be significantly higher and I would probably expect a +2 that was higher than PS. That generally meant a quieter day on the BG front.
With a PS that was lower than a +11, I would be more watchful, when shooting a falling PS I'd make sure I got early tests in, and I would be a little more aggressive with my food choices, especially if I was having to pop out. Because things often got exciting when we shot a falling PS, but knowing it was falling, gave me the ability to stay ahead of the insulin by using food to steer and keep him safe. When you start school, getting both a +11 and an amps (if you are able to) may well prove a useful tool.
Also by getting a +11 and posting it gave me a chance to seek advice and still stay on schedule. But if you feel that you are unable to get both, then getting the amps (ie at 7am) is the important one.
Some further reading that might help.
In this thread Libby talks about shooting a falling number and discusses shooting a dropping number, post #6, but the whole thread is very interesting and informative.
I would also encourage you to read this sticky on doing TR on a fulltime job, you'll find some of the tips, concepts in this post very helpful when you go to school regardless of which dosing method you decide to follow.
Here's an example of an active lantus cycle taken from the New to the Group Sticky
Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is thesame/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
Take your time, Rochelle. Ask for a list any time you think it might help.![]()
That +5 would be good info. Save the "devil snacks"Whats the rest of today look like? I believe i updated spreed sheet right and I have done +2 and light snack
anymore after this or are you wanting to see at +5 what hes doing and if we need to intervene with high carb devil snacks lol
- test again at +2 then give a small snack - post your test result here and on your SS
- give a small snack at +3
- test again at +5 and post the result here and on your SS
You'll relax more over time as your experience level grows. This is a big thing to learn for everyone!i am just starting to understand the cycle and havent even figured out all the different carb amounts and have been trying to collect accurate BG and have a good picture for people to help me and when in trouble post and have been getting instruction and been ok. I dont think i can say i fully understand the cycle and the dropping in points so much yet at all because i dont i get scared of 5.3 and stuff so i am not nearly educated enough to decide on carb amounts and what to give him i am better following instructions for that stuff right now
It's there for you to take in at your own speed.done +1 +2 and hes eating a snack now ... i am still lost on the spreed sheet i thought i did it right maybe Marje will help when she checks in.
what else now and Gill& George I am reading through information i have a very hard time learning and that was a lot all at once ill have to re read it a few times to make sense of it please be patient with me


Please ask if there's anything you don't understand.I wouldn't expect you, or anyone, to understand it all at this stage. The above post was more intended for you to read around the subject, when you have time, and are able to, as opposed to trying to absorb it all in the middle of a BG crisis. I found it helpful to do that in uiet periods, because when the BG is dropping and you are testing/posting/feeding like a maniac to keep your kitty safe, let's face it not much goes ini am just starting to understand the cycle and havent even figured out all the different carb amounts and have been trying to collect accurate BG and have a good picture for people to help me and when in trouble post and have been getting instruction and been ok. I dont think i can say i fully understand the cycle and the dropping in points so much yet at all because i dont i get scared of 5.3 and stuff so i am not nearly educated enough to decide on carb amounts and what to give him i am better following instructions for that stuff right now
I think, that because that +2 is probably lower than what his number was at amps (7am), I would test at +4 instead of +5.Whats the rest of today look like? I believe i updated spreed sheet right and I have done +2 and light snack
anymore after this or are you wanting to see at +5 what hes doing and if we need to intervene with high carb devil snacks lol
- test again at +2 then give a small snack - post your test result here and on your SS
- give a small snack at +3
- test again at +5 and post the result here and on your SS
Ok so it's + 3 do I have to poke him again if I am doing it at +4 ?I think, that because that +2 is probably lower than what his number was at amps (7am), I would test at +4 instead of +5.
The reason for this is that we have seen him prone to fast drops, and it's better to catch them sooner in the cycle rather than later.
LOL I would hold of the devils food for now.
I think I did it ?? LolHere's some spreadsheet help:
- delete those two BGs from the "US" version of the SS where they show up as lime green right now - click on the boxes until they get a blue outline around them and hit "delete" on your keyboard
- enter those two BGs on the "world" version of the SS - the one where the dose columns are turquoise coloured
- if you go look at the US SS again you'll see that the BGs were automatically converted to US units (the ones in the hundreds) and will be properly colour-coded.
No, give his ears a break until +4.Ok so it's + 3 do I have to poke him again if I am doing it at +4 ?
No you don't need to poke him now, just give him his snack and check at +4.Ok so it's + 3 do I have to poke him again if I am doing it at +4 ?
Transfer is perfect! Now, to make sure I understand:I think I did it ?? Lol
You have all ready received lots of great information and we will continue to help you along the way. 


yesNo you don't need to poke him now, just give him his snack and check at +4.
Does that fit in with you?
trying now hold upOopsie on the SS! The BGs didn't transfer to the US sheet properly. Here's how to do it by hand:
- 8.4 will be a 151 on the US SS. Put that in the +1 box (for now) there.
- Go to the tool bar at the top of the SS and find the little paint can icon just to the right of the middle and click on it
- choose the blue colour from the "custom" row at the bottom of that menu and click on it.
- 8.2 will be 148 on the US SS. Put it in the +2 box there.
- put in the colour code the same way as you did for the 8.9.
Yes, it's fine now.is it done correctly ? i believe marje may have fixed it if it is
Our resident SS Pixie.i believe marje may have fixed it if it is
updated spreed sheetYes, it's fine now.
Thanks, Sienne, this is wonderful!Rochelle:
There are a couple of basics that may help you find some structure with all of the madness of managing Jelly's FD.
Most importantly, be kind to yourself.There is a HUGE learning curve when it comes to managing your cat's diabetes. I know it seems like there are some of us who know "all" the answers. We don't. We've just walked a good distance in your shoes and we read a lot of spreadsheets. If you're ever not sure what to do, please ask for help. We don't always agree but we will do our best to explain our rationale for the suggestions we're making so you understand the principles and can make the best decision for Jelly.
- Always get a test at your AMPS and PMPS time.
- There may be cycles when you test late in the cycle because numbers have been low, Jelly is giving your a "signal" that something is a bit off, etc., but you really shouldn't skip the pre-shot test.
- Try to get a feel for what the pattern of Jelly's cycles are. What this means is that you want to know when Lantus onset begins and when the nadir typically falls. This gives you some degree of predictability.
- That said, nadirs can and do change. Gabby had an early nadir -- except during those cycles when she didn't. You may want to page through her spreadsheet. (Sorry -- I have 6.5yrs of data and I tested a lot.) Looking at other kitty's spreadsheet can also help you get a feel for how Jelly is similar or different than other kitties.
- Unless numbers are running low, do not feed within 2 hours before shot time. You don't want food to influence your pre-shot number.
- Don't get fixated on carbs. I fed Gabby the same food (4 - 5% carb) from the time she was diagnosed. She was sensitive to the gluten in high carb food so I used either Karo syrup or honey to bring up her numbers when necessary. I gauged the amount of syrup based on where her numbers were.
- Learning this isn't automatic. It takes experience. There are any number of factors which influence when and how much HC you give. For example, how fast are numbers dropping, when in the cycle is the drop occurring, how does Jelly respond to carbs (some cats are extremely sensitive and others, not so much)?
Lovely blue surf going on now, Rochelle. Surfing means the BG is staying around the same level over time. When the numbers are blue or dark green, surfing is a great thing.updated spreed sheet
Thanks so Much I appreciate the feedback and help so muchThanks, Sienne, this is wonderful!![]()
So what now Kris ? Schedule me until next shot pleaseLovely blue surf going on now, Rochelle. Surfing means the BG is staying around the same level over time. When the numbers are blue or dark green, surfing is a great thing.
It's what we do ... maybe too much occasionally!Thanks so Much I appreciate the feedback and help so much
Yes I am great thank youI have to go out for a bit, Rochelle. Do you feel things are clear enough for the next hour or so?
he is a 95 currently does this schedule still apply/How about this?
Let's see what the other advisors think of this plan.
- test again at +6 because I see that he was down to a green 77 a few days ago - we want to see if he'll do a drop later
- if +6 is another blue similar to these recent tests, you can wait until +9 or +10 (you can choose) to test again
- if +9 or +10 is still around the same level of blue as now, leave his ears alone until the preshot test
- no food for the two hours before his preshot test
- do the preshot test at +12 ( at 7 PM) right before you give him his supper and insulin. Don't test, wait an hour then feed. Test/feed/shoot has to happen in the shortest time you can manage - 20 minutes?
I won't be home now until +9 we are out with my kids enjoying weather he was fine and stable when left will do a +10 and advise then?Maybe another test at +7 since that was when he gave you the 77. Good job testing !
Sounds good! I'm sure he'll be fine as his cycle has been a nice surf.I won't be home now until +9 we are out with my kids enjoying weather he was fine and stable when left will do a +10 and advise then?