06/02 Cheekyface AMPS 419,+9.5~396, PMPS~295,+2~232,+4~131

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 06/02 Cheekyface AMPS 419

if she got lower mid-day yesterday, before she had the 193 at +9, this might be a bounce. that means that she got lower than her body is used to, so her liver produced counter-regulatory hormones to "keep her safe" - i'm just looking at steadily increasing numbers after that 193 that make me wonder if that's what happened. if it is, it can take 72 hours for that to clear - which is one reason why we hold a dose for several days to let them settle.

i'm definitely not experienced at "seeing" bounces, so maybe someone with more experience can comment. i'm still learning.
 
Re: 06/02 Cheekyface AMPS 419

HI Julie,

You know more than me, so any ideas are helpful. I need to do some more reading about bounces. The fact that none of the daytime food was touched could mean you're right and she did get quite low.

Damn it's hard not using dry food...I wish some genius would invent a no-carb one :roll:
 
Re: 06/02 Cheekyface AMPS 419

Julie's right -- this is a bounce. Cats will bounce if they go into low numbers that their bodies aren't yet comfortable with or if their numbers drop quickly. If you look at Cheeky's numbers from 5/28, there was a string of blues and he rose to the reds. Chances are he was in the blues for more time than the one test you got and he's steadily risen to his AMPS test.

All a bounce involves is a protective mechanism of the liver. The liver "panics" and releases both a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones that can quickly cause numbers to rise. As Julie noted, a bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear.
 
Re: 06/02 Cheekyface AMPS 419

Thanks Sienne, that's reassuring. I'll keep monitoring and do some extra checks over the weekend. We'll get the hang of this.

BTW Cheeky is a girrrrrrrl :lol:

Julie: timed feeders won't work for me because my old boy is early CRF and I can't let him get to her m/d. Catsickles are the only thing I can control so they both eat safely if I'm not there to do the up-down bowl shuffle.

But half the turkey/giblets freezie was gone this morning (as well as the meat) so that was acceptable -- but the FF Seafood Delight-with-pureed chicken obviously was not ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 06/02 Cheekyface AMPS 419,+9.5~396, PMPS~295,+2~232,+4~1

Bouncy bouncy...not panicking, gave snack, will test again at +6. It seems to be the day for it, reading other condos...

We're off to the vet in the morning for a quick checkup, just hope she comes up so I can get a few hours sleep. Roll on the weekend.
 
Re: 06/02 Cheekyface AMPS 419,+9.5~396, PMPS~295,+2~232,+4~1

Hi guys .. good luck at the vets in the morning .. and yes, make sure you get your sleep in too!
 
Re: 06/02 Cheekyface AMPS 419,+9.5~396, PMPS~295,+2~232,+4~1

Cheeky's numbers look really good! She broke that bounce in record time!!! Awesome job! :-D
 
Re: 06/02 Cheekyface AMPS 419,+9.5~396, PMPS~295,+2~232,+4~1

Thanks Patty, you don't know how glad I am to see your comment. I thought that was what was happening but I wasn't sure :-D

Just as well my usual bedtime isn't far off her +6. I'm off to grab a shower in between then it'll be straight to bed.

xo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top