Malia
Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-24-teja-amps-400-4-400.290382/#post-3181902
Hello Everyone, I am in need of help. I met with Teja's internal med vet on 05/30 and we discussed Teja in detail. At the time that we met, Teja had just gone up to 3.5 units. Teja's internist and I looked at her charts in the app and she said Teja could handle 4 units. So yesterday, we went up to 4 units, from 3.5 units. It is a big jump, but Teja went into blues consistently yesterday for the first time. And in the evening, even with her steroid, she remained in blues.
However, today, Teja just really isn't interested in eating as much. In fact, she is eating about 1/4 what she would normally eat. The internist said that this could be because her cells have enough insulin to use the food she is taking in. But Teja typically eats a little bit throughout the day. Today, that is not the case. In fact, she didn't eat that much before her insulin shot. So I don't think she is getting enough glucose for the amount of insulin that she is getting. She is trending lower.
Her internist stated I should let her drive and when she wants to eat, let her eat. And if she gets to 50, then we will reduce her dose. That scared the crap out of me.
So, should I let her just not eat throughout the day like she used to? Just let her eat when she wants to? And let her glucose just drop? And if it reaches 50, then reduce her dose to fit the amount of food that she is eating? Or should I push foods throughout the day, at every 2 to 4 hours like we used to so she can have enough glucose in her system to use the insulin?
I don't know what to do as this is the first time Teja has been this low (in the 100s). She is sleeping comfortably for the first time in a long time, but is completely irritated at me for trying to get her to eat food. This is such new territory for us, as we have been in the higher numbers for most of our time since we are struggling to get managed.
Are there any stickies on this behavior? Is this sleepy/non-hungry behavior normal or is this indicative of something being wrong?
Help!
Hello Everyone, I am in need of help. I met with Teja's internal med vet on 05/30 and we discussed Teja in detail. At the time that we met, Teja had just gone up to 3.5 units. Teja's internist and I looked at her charts in the app and she said Teja could handle 4 units. So yesterday, we went up to 4 units, from 3.5 units. It is a big jump, but Teja went into blues consistently yesterday for the first time. And in the evening, even with her steroid, she remained in blues.
However, today, Teja just really isn't interested in eating as much. In fact, she is eating about 1/4 what she would normally eat. The internist said that this could be because her cells have enough insulin to use the food she is taking in. But Teja typically eats a little bit throughout the day. Today, that is not the case. In fact, she didn't eat that much before her insulin shot. So I don't think she is getting enough glucose for the amount of insulin that she is getting. She is trending lower.
Her internist stated I should let her drive and when she wants to eat, let her eat. And if she gets to 50, then we will reduce her dose. That scared the crap out of me.
So, should I let her just not eat throughout the day like she used to? Just let her eat when she wants to? And let her glucose just drop? And if it reaches 50, then reduce her dose to fit the amount of food that she is eating? Or should I push foods throughout the day, at every 2 to 4 hours like we used to so she can have enough glucose in her system to use the insulin?
I don't know what to do as this is the first time Teja has been this low (in the 100s). She is sleeping comfortably for the first time in a long time, but is completely irritated at me for trying to get her to eat food. This is such new territory for us, as we have been in the higher numbers for most of our time since we are struggling to get managed.
Are there any stickies on this behavior? Is this sleepy/non-hungry behavior normal or is this indicative of something being wrong?
Help!